16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I agree with Lyceum, I can never remember how to hard boil eggs! I wanted to have hard boiled eggs ready for salads for lunch and so I looked up this recipe this morning and honestly, this was the best hard-boiled egg recipe ever! It was easy to follow AND the eggs came out easy to peel, yummy, and perfect. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ February 20, 2012

Thank you so much for posting this recipe! I boil eggs so infrequently, that every time I need to I have to call my mom so she can remind me how to do it lol. You saved me another embarrassing call to my mom, thanks! I simmered for 12 minutes, and had PERFECT looking eggs when done!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lyceum February 21, 2011

I hadn't boiled eggs in years and couldn't remember how to do it. This recipe worked great. I simmered for 12 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juniperwoman January 09, 2011

Thank you so much for writing this review. I am an extreme beginner when it comes to cooking, and have always been too embarrassed to ask basic questions. This recipe was very easy to follow and well-written, it describes and guides you through every step in a friendly and precise way. This was my first batch of hard boiled eggs (EVER) and I was surprised to see that they were a perfect, soft yellow at the center and firm white on the outside. Perfect recipe, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thoughtbubbles July 23, 2009

I don't know why this didn't work for me, but I ended having to throw away 6 eggs, since they didn't cook all the way through. Not going to use this method again. This is the first time I've had trouble with hard boiled eggs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saravaughn1 January 12, 2009

Once your water has come to a true boil it will only take 6 minutes for the egg yolk to be cooked completely through and be hard boiled. The longer you simmer it the more rubbery and tougher the egg will become eventually you will also get that ugly gray coating surrounding the yolk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChiefCook&BottleWasher January 10, 2009

4/4/08 I love how this method keeps the yolks perfectly yellow. They are easy to peel too. Thanks!! Update: 10/12/08 I use this method each time I hard boil eggs. I wanted to note that it also works on very small eggs too!! No gray color ring even on the smallest eggs!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef*Lee October 12, 2008

Thanks for all this info. I will refer to this when I make hard boiled eggs! They came out perfectly boiled! I didn't cover the pan though and I reduced the heat to medium for a slow boil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oolala August 03, 2008

Great suggestions for timing how to cook the eggs, but I had to knock a star off because I feel like the directions given could lead to the warping of the pan or pot you cooked with. Running cool water in a hot pan could cause it to warp (or even to shatter or break if it's ceramic, glass, or cast iron. So I would just recommend switching to a bowl or some other vessel for that portion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Piaqua August 01, 2008

I like How to Boiled Eggs 101 it go into eggs more, this good to stare with. thank for some info. #695933 GRPA!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF GRPA July 16, 2008
How to Hard Boil an Egg