Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / How to Hard Boil an Egg Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    How to Hard Boil an Egg

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on February 20, 2012

      I agree with Lyceum, I can never remember how to hard boil eggs! I wanted to have hard boiled eggs ready for salads for lunch and so I looked up this recipe this morning and honestly, this was the best hard-boiled egg recipe ever! It was easy to follow AND the eggs came out easy to peel, yummy, and perfect. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Thank you so much for posting this recipe! I boil eggs so infrequently, that every time I need to I have to call my mom so she can remind me how to do it lol. You saved me another embarrassing call to my mom, thanks! I simmered for 12 minutes, and had PERFECT looking eggs when done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      I hadn't boiled eggs in years and couldn't remember how to do it. This recipe worked great. I simmered for 12 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      Thank you so much for writing this review. I am an extreme beginner when it comes to cooking, and have always been too embarrassed to ask basic questions. This recipe was very easy to follow and well-written, it describes and guides you through every step in a friendly and precise way. This was my first batch of hard boiled eggs (EVER) and I was surprised to see that they were a perfect, soft yellow at the center and firm white on the outside. Perfect recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      I don't know why this didn't work for me, but I ended having to throw away 6 eggs, since they didn't cook all the way through. Not going to use this method again. This is the first time I've had trouble with hard boiled eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      Once your water has come to a true boil it will only take 6 minutes for the egg yolk to be cooked completely through and be hard boiled. The longer you simmer it the more rubbery and tougher the egg will become eventually you will also get that ugly gray coating surrounding the yolk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      4/4/08 I love how this method keeps the yolks perfectly yellow. They are easy to peel too. Thanks!! Update: 10/12/08 I use this method each time I hard boil eggs. I wanted to note that it also works on very small eggs too!! No gray color ring even on the smallest eggs!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      Thanks for all this info. I will refer to this when I make hard boiled eggs! They came out perfectly boiled! I didn't cover the pan though and I reduced the heat to medium for a slow boil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2008

      Great suggestions for timing how to cook the eggs, but I had to knock a star off because I feel like the directions given could lead to the warping of the pan or pot you cooked with. Running cool water in a hot pan could cause it to warp (or even to shatter or break if it's ceramic, glass, or cast iron. So I would just recommend switching to a bowl or some other vessel for that portion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      I like How to Boiled Eggs 101 it go into eggs more, this good to stare with. thank for some info. #695933 GRPA!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      I really appreciate this being posted!! You think you know how to boil an egg but until I tried this; I didn't know how perfectly white and perfectly yellow, not to mention perfectly cooked the eggs could be!! Thanks a bunch!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      It was great to have these directions. My DD asked me how to hardboil an egg and honestly I was at a loss, not anymore. Thanks SoozieQ, I will pass this on to her right away. They came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Perfect. This was a perfect way to make a hard boiled egg. I followed the recipe as written. They were easy to peel. Will be using this method in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      This worked GREAT! I think the cracking of the egg after the cold water has run over it is what does the trick...easy to peel and a perfect yellow, no grey. Made for the 1-2-3 hit wonders tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      These eggs came out perfect. Followed the recipe and it works. A lot of the time my hard boiled eggs are so hard to peel that I just give up. So thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      This works like a charm! My dh is a HUGE fan of eggs and LOVES them boiled! When we were newlyweds 23 yrs ago he even THOUGHT he knew how to make them! lol He put them on to boil and then LEFT the apt! They must have cooked for hours until the maintenance man came in and turned them off bc SMOKE was bellowing from the apt! rofl There went my wedding present of a really nice set of Revere copper bottom cookware! :) Thanks for this fantastic recipe Sooz! I know lots of chefs will thank you for your knowledge! Made for Holiday Beverage Tag!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for How to Hard Boil an Egg

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites