15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Now just how neat is this, especially for those of us who use lemons quite a bit & sometimes have more than we can keep in good shape! I bought a bag just to see how well this works, & after 2 days, at least, they're just fine, so expect the rest to come through with flying colors as well! Thanks for a great recipe keeper! [Made & reviewed in 1-2-3 Hit Wonders tag]

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike March 03, 2010

This works very well! Lemons were on sale 10 for $1 so I stocked up! I zested all of them, then froze them whole! Froze the zest too using this recipe! Thank you for sharing this!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) October 19, 2011

Wow, I just love this idea. I can't wait to get the ones I have cut up and in the freezer! I love having fresh lemons and limes on hand at all times and this is so great! Thanks for such a wonderful idea!Update: These slices were so great in summer drinks! Helped keep the drink colder longer. I also had some blood oranges so I sliced those and put them in the freezer for sangria and they were great...LOVE this recipe/idea. Thanks so much!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milkman's Daughter August 17, 2011

I freeze Lemons & Limes whole all the time. A great way to keep them from going bad. They work fine for juice or zest.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz February 09, 2010

Zest them, then freeze them if you want. I freeze lemons and limes that sit too long and get dry. Wrap them in plastic, throw them in the freezer, take them out, zap them in the micro for 30 seconds or so, and you will have more juice from that lemon or lime than you can imagine!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MailbagMary November 10, 2014

I did this today for Photo Tag, and tonight I had two recipes that called for lemon zest and lemon juice. Instead of using a fresh lemon, I tried one of the frozen ones....worked great! Thanks for sharing this great idea!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 21, 2010

I've frozen other fruit this way, but never thought to do it with citrus. A frozen lemon slice is a great addition to a glass of iced tea! Thanks for posting this brilliant technique. Made for Newest Zaar Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl February 08, 2010

use lemon quite often while cooking and living in the northern states this will come in very handy thanks for the tip can't wait to try it on both lemon and lime

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rubher January 12, 2012

On Monday I bought 10 lemons for 1.50 $ So I tried your recipe. I quartered them. It's a great way to have lemon/lime anytime of the year. Thanks Mary :) Made for I recommend tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 13, 2010
How to Freeze Lemons or Limes