Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / How to Freeze Fresh Corn Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    How to Freeze Fresh Corn

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2008

      I put up 20 dozen ears of silver queen white corn last month and followed the directions exactly (without the salt) and let me tell you!! Its fantastic!! I just pull a zipock freezer bag out of the freezer, break it up into a bowl and microwave for a couple of minutes. The corn is just as good as the day i froze it. Crisp and super sweet. I am thinking i might need to go and get about 10 or so more dozen because this wont last in our house. My dad keeps sneaking up here and getting a quart size bag every week. I will NEVER do corn any other way EVER!! As far as i am concerned there is no other way but this way. I cant thank you enough for this recipe especially when it gets to be winter and i can pull a little but of summer out of the freezer. This is the best recipe i have ever used from Zaar!! UPDATE: Its now December and i still have corn and its still just as crisp and flavorful as it was the day i froze it. Not soggy at all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2012

      I do, and have done A LOT of canning, freezing, and dehydrating of any and all fruits and veggies I can get a hold of, and I must say that this is by far the easiest and the best technique I have ever used! Just a suggestion; while allowing the corn to cool and dry, place a hand towel into a bowl, then place a colander on top of the hand towel inside the bowl... then put the cooked corn in standing on end to allow the water to run down and thru the colander slots. The cobs seemed to dry and cool much faster that way. Other than that, this is fantastic! I used this same method last year and the frozen corn we had tonight tasted the same as that in the bowl that I was currently working on! Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2013

      Received a load of fresh garden sweet corn from a generous neighbor and needed to figure out a way to save it. Went looking and found this recipe. Thank you sooooo much it worked like a charm and with your wonderful hint of using the angel food pan was a lot easier shaving off the kernels than I thought it would be. From 14 ears of corn I got 7 bags, not bad. I also used whipnspur29's hint with the dish towel and colander and that worked well too. The finished product has that lovely sweet, buttered corn flavor. When I was done with all those corn cobs I made Corn Cob Jelly and it's wonderful too. Then fed the remaining cobs to the wild deer that visit our yard daily. All in all a successful harvest of corn this year. Thanks so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2013

      This is the BEST recipe ever. First time I have ever tried freezing corn. I blanched it in the dishwasher (don't have a big pot); loved didn't have to put in ice water just let cool on towel. Then followed this recipe. This corn is to die for. It tasted like it had just come off the cob even a year later. So very, very good and this novice had no problems with it. Couldn't believe how quick I did over 36 ears.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2013

      This was so easy and delicious. Will do again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      So many smart tips in one recipe - thanks! Loved using the angel food pan and adding a little butter like this is a great idea. We just put up a few dozen ears today - can't wait to try them in December-January!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      The ONLY way I will ever freeze corn again!!! I think the little bit of butter, really does seal the corn. A year later our corn still taste like we just picked it!! Yummy!! Highly recommend!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      I've done 3 batches of corn already and I just know that it will not be enough to last the winter....this is a winner recipe....just wish that I had bought more corn ! Thanks for sharing....I'll start earlier next year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      Loved this, I had a large amount of corn and figured I'd give this a try....will never do corn any other way, I just opened our first bag, everyone at dinner thought it was fresh corn and wondered why I had cut it off the cob LOL.I personally found it slower to cut the corn on the pan like that, the angle was wrong, but the idea was great, if it works for you, great. Thanks for sharing such an easy and wonderful recipe.This will be the only way I freeze corn now, thanks .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      GREAT! I sure put up a lot of corn today :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Just ate the last bag of this corn recipe tonight thinking that next year I will have to put up more. I asked author if using margarine would work and I am happy to report that it does. My in-laws even "gushed" over it at T'giving and begged to have it at Christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Both my DH and I agreed...the corn was over cooked and I had only initially cooked it for 2-1/2 minutes. Bonus points on using the angel food cake tin for easy cutting of the corn kernels. Costco has some decent fresh corn on the cob during the winter months, so I probably won't do this one again. Also, there was not a huge saving in costs. Sorry, I couldn't be more posititive!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

    • on August 21, 2008

      This is only a partial rating for now. I put the corn up yesterday, and it was very easy. I blanced the cobs using the 'dishwasher' method as mentioned by Nana Chickens. I've only ever frozen corn on the cob, so this was new for me. I had 19 cobs of 'Valley Super Sweet' and ended up with 8 bags containing 2 cups each. I'll come back later when we actually eat it. Thanks Dawnab.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      Thank you so much for posting this technique. We are having a very good year for the corn and method produced wonderful corn. The only change is that when I measure out I put the corn into containers and freeze, then pop out and use the vacuum food saver. LOL, I just read a method of using the dishwasher for blanching and I'm going to try that, mix with your butter ratio and there you go, fast, easy, not much clean up and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      Wow! I just tried this, great! Now I will pop in the freezer and be able to taste the flavor and hopefully the crunch. There is also no mess with these instructions, cleanup is minimal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for How to Freeze Fresh Corn

    Serving Size: 1 (6168 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 503.1
     
    Calories from Fat 164
    32%
    Total Fat 18.2 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 10.1 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 40.6 mg
    13%
    Sodium 560.3 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 88.1 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 10.5 g
    42%
    Sugars 14.1 g
    56%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites