Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / How to Cook Spaghetti Squash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    How to Cook Spaghetti Squash

    Average Rating:

    81 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 81

    Sort by:

    • on June 18, 2010

      Thank you Johnney! I wondered if you could freeze this squash and you answered that for me! You did a great job explaining the different ways to make this squash. I will try them all. Many thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      Thanks for posting these great steps. I haven't ever had or cooked with spaghetti squash before, but my husband and I are trying to eat healthier, so I thought I might give it a shot, and this is very helpful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2013

      My first spaghetti Squash!!! And it was really good! Since my husband and I are doing the low carb diet we've really missed our pasta dishes and this helps fill the gap. I will be experimenting with herbs and additions as you suggested. Thank you for taking the mystery out of this delicious vegetable:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      I followed the instructions for microwaving & it worked perfectly :0)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      Haven't tried spaghetti squash in years. Tried it tonight and it was wonderful. However, once I scraped the strands from the rind there was much liquid (water?). Suggestions?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      never had this before and it was bangin!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      Thank you, I hadn't made spaghetti squash in a long time and forgot how to do it. I used the oven method since it is cold out. Spaghetti squash should be on the menu even for people who don't care for squash (like myself) since it is so mild; it would go with almost ANY sauce a cook could come up with. Thanks again for a real "go-to" tutorial.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      It was great in the oven! 1.5 hours with some stab wounds to the side made it come out perfectly. The 'noodles' were nice and fluffy, not damp like when I microwave it. Veggie hating husband applauded!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      We have lived in a time warp and have never tried spaghetti squash prior to this! I used the oven method since it was cold outside, and it cooked up perfectly and shredded like a dream! I tossed it with butter and an Italian herb blend. It was scrumptious! My daughter added shredded Parmesan to hers, and made yummy noises while eating it. I might mention she is a veggie hater! Looks like spaghetti squash is on the menu again...especially when I mentioned alot of people use spaghetti sauce on it. I also cannot wait to try other herb blends with it. Thanks for sharing these techniques with us all, there's one for everyone, so no more excuses NOT to try spaghetti squash!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2014

      Perfect spaghetti squash with this go-to recipe! I've used it several times. It's perfect with my part-Italian fiancé's special tomato sauce recipe! I don't need to cook it as long but I tend to use smaller squash. Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2014

      Thank you for your very helpful directions. I used the microwave method this time because I was running short on time. I can't wait to try it roasted. I love roasted vegetables. I imagine roasting the squash would make it even more flavorful. We were skeptical about trying this in place of pasta but my daughter and I both liked it even more than spaghetti! I served it with Paul Newman's marinara sauce with cooked ground beef in it. UPDATED: I tried roasting it according to Properly Prepared Spaghetti Squash and didn't think it was worth the time or hour of having the oven going when using the microwaves works just as well. We didn't notice it being any different in taste or texture. I've since served Angel Hair Pasta With Tomato-Scallop Sauce and Alfredo Sauce over the spaghetti squash cooked this way and everyone has LOVED it. I have even substituted it for rice when serving a Shrimp Teriyaki Stir-fry recipe from WW. Another huge hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      How nice of you to post these instructions. I've been vowing to try spaghetti squash for decades and finally bought one the other day. I've never even tasted one before, yet alone cooked it. I'm anxious to add it to our low-carb life style. Baking it is the way to go for us. Thanks so much for helping us get started.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2013

      I appreciate you posting multiple ways to prepare this squash. I preferred the baked method and created a couple of dinners thanks to your storage instructions! I featured this recipe on my blog - http://danasfoodblog.com/?p=2307.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      Very helpful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      What a helpful recipe! Thank you so much! I like the boiling method but may try the others as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

    • on August 02, 2012

    • on August 10, 2011

      DD and her BF used the microwave method to prepare a squash. It turned out perfect and was very quick and easy. Thanks for sharing these methods. We'll be cooking spaghetti squash often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      This is exactly what I was looking for... I just cooked one based on someone else's information. And I know I under cooked it. I'd never made it before so I had no idea what to expect. Freezing and storing was a great addition as well. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      I used the microwave method and it was so easy! I could only do half at a time bc my squash was so big, and I also didn't cover based on another review. Next time, I will definitely cover however because the edges of the squash got dried out. After combing out the squash, I served with doctored up canned spaghetti sauce and it was great! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for How to Cook Spaghetti Squash

    Serving Size: 1 (302 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 140.7
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    16%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 77.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    your favorite sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites