Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / How to Clean Hood Filters Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    How to Clean Hood Filters

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 10, 2012

      This is awesome! I knew that my filters were dirty, but had no idea until I tried this. lol. They look great and I don't get sticky fingers touching them anymore. Thanks gailanng for sharing this wonderful keeper. Made for PRMR tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2012

      It really works!! Thank you for sharing. It was very easy. Chef #220151

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

      I tried this yesterday and it worked like a breeze. Not all of us have dishwashers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      Perfect!!! They look like new. Made for Please Review My Recipe ~ ~ ~ from February 14th ~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2012

      WOW is this a great idea! Works like a charm!! The house was remodelled in the 1970's and I am sure the filters have been here since then, and no amount of scrubbing or oven cleaner would ever get them presentable--even the dishwasher was not equal to the task. I used the Dutch oven to boil them, had to turn them over since they didn't lie flat, but it worked just peachy. They look like new now!! Thanks a million gailanng!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2012

      Easy, cheap and it really works! All the gunk just melted off and floated to the top in all the foam! A quick scrub with a toothbrush and a rinse under fresh water and they look like new! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2012

      Wow this works awesome! It took closer to thirty minutes, but that was due to not having a big enough baking sheet so I had to flip it around and do both ends. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      Works great! I used my dish brush to gently remove any remaining grease. The filter looks shiny and new.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2013

      This is amazing! I spent all day trying to clean mine with a degreaser. Was a big hot mess! I was just about to give up when I remembered seeing this on here. I tried to do the simmer thing but ended up bringing it too a rolling boiling and the grease melted away. Thanks!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2014

      I have a range hood filter that is not connected to a microwave. Our house was built about a year and half ago and the our vent hood is too fancy that I can't find the replacement filter anywhere locally, everything has to be ordered online. We cook a lot so theres lots of grease built in it. So I came home and decided to look up how to degrease this thing and I found your website. THANK YOU A MILLION!! It worked like a charm!! This saved me $50-$70+ for a replacement filter. It was pretty nasty watching it float to the top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2014

      Let me start by saying that landed on this 'recipe' while searching on the web for degreasers and solvents to clean my kitchen. Out of desperation, I was seriously considering industrial degreasers at $50 a gallon, and hadn't selected one yet because I just didn't know which one would be best. Then I landed on this page. I read through the instructions, thinking, well, that isn't going to work. Then getting mad at the glowing comments thinking, rubbish. So I just marched myself into my kitchen, (with the mission to prove you wrong) took down my hood filter (20 years of grime encrusted on it. I had resigned myself to purchasing a new hood.) and followed the instructions. If my life were a musical play, I would be singing about miracles right now. Simply put, it worked. Flawlessly. <br/><br/>I was so impressed that I degreased my stainless steel frying pan, by patting it down with a baking soda and water paste, putting it on cookie sheet and placing it in the oven for 15 minutes on 350 degrees Fahrenheit. It took two treatments to get all the burned on grease off, but it worked. WOW, it looks brand new. <br/><br/>Thank you from one skeptical woman.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2014

      I have a concealed range hood with only one wide filter. I tried the dishwasher and it did a fair job at best. Not having anything wide enough to take it all, even on a cookie sheet, I decided to use the cookie sheet with sides anyway, over two cooking rings. After 5 mins or so, I turned it around, then over, and both ends. In about 15 mins I took it out, rinsed under hot water, and to my surprise the entire length was clean. :) The middle was not quite as shiny as the ends, but CLOSE and it was super clean. My filter is very fragile in texture, so it cannot be scrubbed or anything like that. I am over the moon with the results, as it has been worrying me for far to long. Thank you for such an amazing and simple recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2012

      I put mine in the dishwasher and they come out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2014

      I put my filter in top rack of dishwasher. It gets super clean and easier than boiling it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for How to Clean Hood Filters

    Serving Size: 1 (112 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 30658.5 mg
    1277%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes