Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / How to Bake a Cake (With Small Children Around!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    How to Bake a Cake (With Small Children Around!)

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2011

      FYI - in case anyone was wondering the source of this "recipe" it comes from the "Feed Me I"m Yours" cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2012

      hahahahahaha!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2013

      Ah yes, I remember it well! (My daughter had this same recipe)<br/><br/>Does anyone have any other humorus or clever 'recipes' to share? Here's one I like<br/><br/>PRESERVING YOUR CHILDREN<br/>1 large grassy field Pinch of brook and some<br/>1/2 dozen children pebbles<br/>2 or 3 small dogs<br/><br/>Mix children and dogs well together. Put them in the field, stirring constantly. Pour the pebbles over the book. Sprinkle the field with flowers. Spread over all a deep blue sky and bake in the sun. When thoroughly brown, remove and set away to cool in the bathtub.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      You could also borrow my three and half dd. She never does all these stuff (knock on wood and I don't want to make bad eyes) but the way she looks in the end is another story. I can barely find a clean spot on her face. She puts her little head in the bowl and licks the leftovers. And than I lick her too, well just a little... a sweet cake mix and a sweet little face:that's the best combination anyone can get. But I'm always staying away from her hands, I can only imagine the places theyre exploring!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      LOL, so true...it's almost identical to what I go through. Except for the part where I get to lie down at the end. Thanks for posting and giving me such a good laugh!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      So true & funny! I just posted this to my Facebook for all my mommy friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      LOOLLL!! Followed recipe to a tee!! Except for skipping Step no. 9, baked the cake with toys and the crayons... Now, Got the instructions for Icing a Cake (with small children)????? Hilarious!! Would love to see some Pictures Posted for this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      Perfect! Absolutely Perfect!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      I've been making this recipe for over 35 years! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      LOL! Oh how I remember those days! Do take heart, though. After a few years of "kiddie cooking", last year my 2 DD's (now 22 and 20 yrs. old) made the entire Thanksgiving dinner for my DH and I while I was recovering from surgery. It was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Perfect recipe! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Brings back memories. I had 3babies in 2years and 9mos. so it was a struggle to cook anything.Now that they are 10,9,and8 it is a little easier,and I do actually miss those days somewhat. Thanks for the smiles this brought to my face!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      Hilarious... and so true! I baked this cake twice this week already!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      I did this recipe the last two days but I happened to be baking cookies. I especially like step 10 "Go look for quiet children." Also may I suggest when using it to bake pizza you give your kids a piece of dough and a play rolling pin. It really does take some of their attention off of you. Not by any means does it work for a long time, but if you keep tossing tiny bits of dough at them you just may have a chance to get yours rolled. I love my babies and I know some day I will look back on these days and laugh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Ah yes I do know this recipe! I made it a zillion times when kids and neighborhood kids were small (until teen years). Now I make it the same way minus the crayons and toys, but have found my cell phone in a baked cake or 2. Oh yea and that missing bender stick landed in the bread dough as well. Definite 5 stars for truth and wisdom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      I made this tonight, but it turned into pizza crust dough. Might I suggest duct taping the children to the wall? Hee hee!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      my typical day in the kitchen....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      Not kidding you - I'm crying of laughter right now - Started reading this thinking it's serious), and then, well, I realized HOW serious this really is! Thank you so much, especially for the last step where you acknowledge that it is OK to do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      Great recipe! I've made this recipe many times, for many years. After a few years I made some alterations. we eventually were able to get one cake out of this cake mix that is meant for 2 cakes. We had to settle for each child to get 1 mixer blade to lick clean and taking turns on who gets to the spoon & Spatular and who gets the bowl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      OMG! This is hysterical! Oh sooooo very very true. My little one is just getting to this point. Can't wait for several more years of it. LOL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for How to Bake a Cake (With Small Children Around!)

    Serving Size: 1 (100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 286.4
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    11%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 124.0 mg
    41%
    Sodium 326.8 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.7 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 22.3 g
    89%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites