Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / How Scallops are Supposed to Be Made Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    How Scallops are Supposed to Be Made

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on June 28, 2010

      Perfect cooking technique and timing. I sprinkled a little old bay on mine due to religious beliefs ...hahaha. For presentation I put the lemon on the side so the browned sides didn't loose their beautiful color. Yum these were so perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      I had never eaten scallops that I could remember, but people seem to love them, so I wanted to give it a shot. I followed your instructions and they were FANTASTIC! (3-4 minutes on each side for what I think would be medium-sized sea scallops.) If they weren't so darn expensive I'd be making these all the time. =] My husband was really impressed... and I couldn't believe how easy it was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      Thank you SOOO much for posting this cooking technique!!! The scallops were seared and crispy on the outside and tender and juicy inside and bursting with their natural flavor. I'm so glad I didn't go with any of the other, more complicated recipes I considered. I will never cook scallops any other way.

      I was cooking for 1, and after consultation at the fish counter bought 3 scallops, which weighed about 1/3 pound and cost me $5, but I figured I'd treat myself :-) They were big and I cooked them about 4-5 minutes per side on a hot cast iron skillet. I only used EVOO, salt and pepper; had no lemon but didn't miss it. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      Just made these & loved them. The sweetness of the scallop shines thru in this recipe. I did add a touch of butter - 1 tsp., if that, to the oil. I considered my scallops to be medium sized - wish they had been larger. Will make again w/large ones. Cooked 3 min. on each side. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      Used Bay Scallops! Just like Joes Stone Crab!! I added a bit of butter and think the lemon juice should be saved for after the scallops are plated so as to not lose the carmelization. Use high heat and a copper skillet if you have one!! Soo good!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      Finally, the perfect scallop. We have been looking for this recipe forever. The scallops turned out beautifully, soft and tender, perfectly carmalized with an amazing flavor. Thank you so much for sharing this simple, fast and easy to make recipe. I will only be making them this way from now on. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      I love scallops amd these were fantastic. And, so simple and easy. Thanks for posting! Alan

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      Absolutely fabulous and easy to make too. We loved them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      Wow, this was delicious. I enjoyed it so much. Talk about easy to make too. They looked just like the picture. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      I completely agree--perfect! Very easy and simple. You can really enjoy the flavor of the scallops. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      Perfect recipe! Exactly what I was looking for!! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      yes simple, easy and fantastic! thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      I'm so happy that I found your recipe! I've never cooked or eaten scallops before after reading a bunch of other recipes I chose this one because I loved the simplicity of your recipe. I have to say that I was a bit nervous to try cooking them because these little guys were pretty spendy and I didn't want to blow it. We were not disappointed and I don't feel the need to keep looking for a better recipe. Thanks so much for sharing this keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

      So good! Wanted to do something simple (and quick) with some sea scallops from the freezer. My husband was quite impressed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2013

      I love scallops. We used to have them a lot when I was a child. I can't make any better comment than that made by Mikey and Ev.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      I would have taken a photo, but we ate them so quickly. Great advice. I had been tasked with cooking scallops for my husband, "like Mom made". She passed last November. Thank you SO much for this seemingly simple but GREAT insight. I followed the recipe exactly, with an iron skillet, which I think would yield the best results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      Thanks for posting this. I bought some scallops on sale and wanted to enjoy their flavor as is; this did the trick nicely. Bonus in that it was easy, and the result was both eye- and palette-appealing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2013

      So simple and amazingly delicious! I cooked them 3 minutes to side and they came out perfect. Made for Healthy Choices tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2012

      Tried this and my husband and I loved it!!! Quick, easy and tasty. Will be using this recipe for a long time to come. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2012

      I love scallops, but have always been kinda terrified of making them myself. But I took the plunge, bought some really nice sea scallops today, and then found your recipe. So easy and, even better, so incredibly yummy. I really think they surpassed any scallops I've ever eaten in a restaurant. I will use this recipe again soon (maybe tomorrow? :). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for How Scallops are Supposed to Be Made

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 113.1
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    56%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 18.0 mg
    6%
    Sodium 294.2 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites