Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / "How I got my family to eat spinach" Spinach Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    "How I got my family to eat spinach" Spinach Casserole

    Average Rating:

    117 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 117

    Sort by:

    • on April 23, 2010

      This recipe was excellent the first time we prepared it as written, However; In a hurry? Substitute 1-1/2 pounds raw spinach (no need to thaw or chop) and mix it in (no need to cook). I used crumbled Ritz crackers for the topping. If you have to wash the spinach, shake it well. Otherwise use it right out of the bag. The same results are achieved in half the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2002

      Great way to make spinach that doesn't taste too much like spinach. I needed to make it non dairy, so I had to use "cream" of mushroom soup and skip the cheese, so it was not as creamy as it should have been. However, the non-spinach fans ate it and the spinach fans thought it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2002

      I dont know Sueies familys problem but mine all have loved it for years!!! Even got my inlaws and friends making it for their get togethers , often served, Bonnie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      Wow -- is this ever good! I made it to take to Easter dinner at my brother's house and it was gone before anything else on the buffet. Everyone raved about it & wanted the recipe. I did omit the onion (bro' can't eat them), and the salt (per another reviewer) -- added some chopped garlic and diced water chestnuts for some crunch. Wish I had made a double batch, 'cuz I didn't get to bring any home Now that I'm reviewing the recipe, I realize that I inadvertently left out the egg!! :O Didn't seem to matter though, as it still turned out delicious, and I am planning to make it again this weekend. Thanks for posting! -M =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      It thrilled me to see this recipe on your site. I used it 25 yrs. ago and lost it during my move. This is a delicious recipe! It was ironic, I took this to a festive gathering when I was in cosmetology school and recently I run into one of the classmates at a business, and he remembered me for this Spinach recipe, after 25 yrs! He said he NEVER eat spinach till he ate this. Thank you for renewing my memory on the GRAND SPINACH CASSEROLE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      the recipe name was perfect for us! My Dad's a veggie and my husband and mother don't like "rabbit food" so it's hard to make everyone happy, but this casserole had everyone saying "mmmmmm!" I added portobello mushrooms and artichoke hearts, just made some oven potatoes with rosemary and sea salt to compliment it and served with some slices fresh tomatoes. It was a great meal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      Excellent! I used mustard greens out of the garden instead of spinach and everyone loved it. I also didn't have cream of mushroom on hand so I made a thick white sauce and put some mushrooms in it. The casserole turned out delicious. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      I would give this 10 stars if i could... spinach is a nutrient goldmine... and most recipes limit spinach because a little goes a long way for flavor... Not the case here-- this is mainly spinach and the flavor is WONDERFUL! Thank you for the GREAT recipe!!! This is surely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2004

      Okay.... maybe I made this wrong, but I ended up with mushy spinach with hard crusty crouton on top. The texture left lots to be desired and the taste was mediocre. Were the croutons supposed to absorb some of the juices? I will not be trying this one again... and I normally love spinach.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      My family doesn't like spinach, but this was gone in a day. I used a stronger cheese and it worked great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2002

      It was alright, but won't be rushing out to make it again, family didn't like the texture. Maybe if I tinker with it a bit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2013

      Great recipe, I made this recently and we loved it, I used french fried onions on top instead of croutons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2013

      I made the recipe exactly by recipe the 1st time and thought it had good flavor. The second time I made it, I sauted the onions before adding to the casserole mixture and thought it was delicious. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2013

      Only giving four stars because I hate spinach, and although this was awesome, the texture of the spinach was still very annoying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2013

      My family thought this was just "ok". We were surprised to see it promoted as a recipe to get spinach into non-spinach-lovers, because it tasted very spinachy to us. I made it as written except that I sauteed the onions, and used seasoned breadcrumbs rather than croutons on the top. Maybe the croutons would have "cut" the spinachy flavor a bit more. At the same time I made a second casserole using (fresh steamed) broccoli and cream of broccoli soup, and my family enjoyed that one more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      I great, quick-to-make spinach recipe. It was a bit too salty for me, but otherwise it tasted quite good. I used saltines instead of croutons and it worked well for me. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

    • on April 30, 2012

      My family took one bite and didn't touch it :( Quote: frozen spinach tastes like cardboard, the croutons on top were dry, and the onions were half raw. My husband actually said "Gillian, I'm sorry but you have been chopped" (from the TV show).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

    • on January 13, 2012

      I'm sorry, but my family really didn't like this. My husband didn't even want to try it, which is very unusual. It was too creamy for me, the texture was awful. I was surprised because I really like Spinach dip. All of the reviews were so good, I wanted to like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for "How I got my family to eat spinach" Spinach Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 166.0
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    56%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 45.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 776.1 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites