118 Reviews

This recipe was excellent the first time we prepared it as written, However; In a hurry? Substitute 1-1/2 pounds raw spinach (no need to thaw or chop) and mix it in (no need to cook). I used crumbled Ritz crackers for the topping. If you have to wash the spinach, shake it well. Otherwise use it right out of the bag. The same results are achieved in half the time.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deacon1 April 23, 2010

Great way to make spinach that doesn't taste too much like spinach. I needed to make it non dairy, so I had to use "cream" of mushroom soup and skip the cheese, so it was not as creamy as it should have been. However, the non-spinach fans ate it and the spinach fans thought it was great.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SJG3483 December 01, 2002

I dont know Sueies familys problem but mine all have loved it for years!!! Even got my inlaws and friends making it for their get togethers , often served, Bonnie

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaceyLady June 29, 2002

the recipe name was perfect for us! My Dad's a veggie and my husband and mother don't like "rabbit food" so it's hard to make everyone happy, but this casserole had everyone saying "mmmmmm!" I added portobello mushrooms and artichoke hearts, just made some oven potatoes with rosemary and sea salt to compliment it and served with some slices fresh tomatoes. It was a great meal!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~flour*power~*~ April 11, 2011

Wow -- is this ever good! I made it to take to Easter dinner at my brother's house and it was gone before anything else on the buffet. Everyone raved about it & wanted the recipe. I did omit the onion (bro' can't eat them), and the salt (per another reviewer) -- added some chopped garlic and diced water chestnuts for some crunch. Wish I had made a double batch, 'cuz I didn't get to bring any home Now that I'm reviewing the recipe, I realize that I inadvertently left out the egg!! :O Didn't seem to matter though, as it still turned out delicious, and I am planning to make it again this weekend. Thanks for posting! -M =)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Scheffert April 07, 2010

It thrilled me to see this recipe on your site. I used it 25 yrs. ago and lost it during my move. This is a delicious recipe! It was ironic, I took this to a festive gathering when I was in cosmetology school and recently I run into one of the classmates at a business, and he remembered me for this Spinach recipe, after 25 yrs! He said he NEVER eat spinach till he ate this. Thank you for renewing my memory on the GRAND SPINACH CASSEROLE!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raine Brister November 15, 2003

My family took one bite and didn't touch it :( Quote: frozen spinach tastes like cardboard, the croutons on top were dry, and the onions were half raw. My husband actually said "Gillian, I'm sorry but you have been chopped" (from the TV show).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gillian Spence April 30, 2012

Excellent! I used mustard greens out of the garden instead of spinach and everyone loved it. I also didn't have cream of mushroom on hand so I made a thick white sauce and put some mushrooms in it. The casserole turned out delicious. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wncliz October 24, 2010

I would give this 10 stars if i could... spinach is a nutrient goldmine... and most recipes limit spinach because a little goes a long way for flavor... Not the case here-- this is mainly spinach and the flavor is WONDERFUL! Thank you for the GREAT recipe!!! This is surely a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~STARLIGHT by NIGHT ~ July 26, 2009

Okay.... maybe I made this wrong, but I ended up with mushy spinach with hard crusty crouton on top. The texture left lots to be desired and the taste was mediocre. Were the croutons supposed to absorb some of the juices? I will not be trying this one again... and I normally love spinach.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica Whittier February 12, 2004
"How I got my family to eat spinach" Spinach Casserole