Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Houston's Spinach and Artichoke Dip Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Houston's Spinach and Artichoke Dip

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2003

      This is a really good receipe! I doubled it for a huge party that I had. My suggestion for doubling would be to add some heavy whipping cream, maybe 1/4 cup. This will thin it out a little. It's very, very thick when doubled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2003

      I have looked for this recipe for ages and finally found it. It is so delicious and always brings raves when I serve it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2014

      I totally modified the recipe to get it closer to Houston's version:<br/>Doubled the marinated artichoke hearts and only put half in the food processor (the other half was chopped and folded into the rest of the processed ingredients) - this makes it more chunky with artichoke<br/>Used a 4-cheese packaged shredded cheese blend instead of mozzarella - almost double the amount and both folded it in and sprinkled atop<br/>Used half the amount of spinach - the recipe calls for way too much spinach - it should be mostly artichoke<br/>Used two cloves of garlic instead of one<br/>Added canned diced green chiles for a little tangy zip<br/>Omitted the eggs

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2003

      Hi Mom! I made this dip the other day and since my guests "hoovered" it in about 20 seconds, I'd say it was a huge success! My artichoke hearts weren't marinated, so I added a dollop of extra-virgin olive oil, cracked pepper and green Tabasco . Two thumbs up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      I was very disappointed. I prepared as written, with the exception of using regular cream cheese, softened, as that's what I had on hand. Required 30 minutes in my oven to get hot throughout. This was nothing like a dip, more like a side dish, overwhelmed by spinach. Very thick, not very flavorful. I'll not make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      Made it exactly according to the recipe. It was too thick and the artichoke flavor was completely overwhelmed by the cheese. Next time I'll eliminate the eggs and add an extra jar of artichoke hearts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      I created an account just to write a review for this recipe. Readers, if you're looking for a Hillstone copy-cat recipe, look elsewhere, this one isn't it. It doesn't even come close. Using a photo of the actual Hillstone spinach artichoke dip was very misleading.

      I have no idea how it even got 4 stars. Sadly, this recipe was a waste of my ingredients and I should have known when it called for using the food processor which completely changed the consistency of the dip.

      Needless to say, I won't be trying this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      This is not even close to Houston's Spinach Artichoke Dip. This is way too thick and doesn't melt, Houston's is smooth and creamy. Family couldn't even eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      The recipe tasted fine, but it is definitely not anywhere close to the Houston's spinach dip. It is way too thick as well, so it wasn't easy to dip tortilla chips. It tasted fine, but I think it could use one less egg so it isn't as thick. Just don't expect Houston's dip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      This recipe was DELICIOUS! For serving, we cut slices of a baguette, brushed them with olive oil, and baked them for about 10 minutes while we were preparing the dip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      It's a decent recipe but it's not even close. I've seen this same recipe posted about a dozen times on other internet sites and it's not right. I make the exact same thing they make at the resteraunt and you're missing about 6 ingredients. Cream cheese doesn't even go in this, let alone flavored. But I'm sure this recipe is very good. It looks good, and quick. But it's not the same as the Houstons. Maybe you have a different Houston's? I dont know. But like I said, this isnt the recipe. Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      The romano cheese has a very powerful smell, but this dip is delicious. It's great as a movie snack or Grill Day appetizer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      I am sorry but i didnt like this at all...i LOVE houston's spinach dip and this didnt taste anything like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      Very much appreciated at our party. We made a plate of 1/2 tortilla chips and 1/2 sourdough slices. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      Sorry, but this recipe didn't 'do it' for me. I love spinach artichoke dip, but this one (even after adding milk to thin it out) was dry and I think the spinach overpowered everything else, including the marinated artichokes. I tried to remedy that with hot sauce, garlic salt and black pepper, which helped. I also think that blending it in a food processor kind of killed it texturally. I'm sorry but I'm going to keep looking for my 'go-to' spinach artichoke dip recipe. I am giving it 4 stars however, because my husband loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      Absolutely delicious! I will be serving this tonight for about 15 guests and I really don't care if they like it or not, I love it! I find it very flavorful and mine isn't all THAT green, its spinach for Pete's sakes!!! Its supposed to be green! Anyway, I used canned spinach (time crunch) and added a big dollop of sour cream. I will serve it (when re-heated) in a Hawaiian bread loaf. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      Made this for a family event recently -- there were sure a lot of leftovers. It was very "green" and DH said it tasted like boring spinach, he couldn't taste much else. Sorry -- Won't be trying again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      This was ok, a little thicker than what I would have wanted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      Liked it, didn't love it. I didn't get many comments from my guests--not sure why.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Houston's Spinach and Artichoke Dip

    Serving Size: 1 (47 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 80.5
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    70%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 37.8 mg
    12%
    Sodium 120.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites