43 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a really good receipe! I doubled it for a huge party that I had. My suggestion for doubling would be to add some heavy whipping cream, maybe 1/4 cup. This will thin it out a little. It's very, very thick when doubled.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HollyMoon April 10, 2003

I have looked for this recipe for ages and finally found it. It is so delicious and always brings raves when I serve it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sally Battle March 28, 2003

I totally modified the recipe to get it closer to Houston's version:<br/>Doubled the marinated artichoke hearts and only put half in the food processor (the other half was chopped and folded into the rest of the processed ingredients) - this makes it more chunky with artichoke<br/>Used a 4-cheese packaged shredded cheese blend instead of mozzarella - almost double the amount and both folded it in and sprinkled atop<br/>Used half the amount of spinach - the recipe calls for way too much spinach - it should be mostly artichoke<br/>Used two cloves of garlic instead of one<br/>Added canned diced green chiles for a little tangy zip<br/>Omitted the eggs

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vancheska May 31, 2014

Hi Mom! I made this dip the other day and since my guests "hoovered" it in about 20 seconds, I'd say it was a huge success! My artichoke hearts weren't marinated, so I added a dollop of extra-virgin olive oil, cracked pepper and green Tabasco . Two thumbs up!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aimee67 December 30, 2003

I was very disappointed. I prepared as written, with the exception of using regular cream cheese, softened, as that's what I had on hand. Required 30 minutes in my oven to get hot throughout. This was nothing like a dip, more like a side dish, overwhelmed by spinach. Very thick, not very flavorful. I'll not make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kosher Kook #2 October 08, 2013

Made it exactly according to the recipe. It was too thick and the artichoke flavor was completely overwhelmed by the cheese. Next time I'll eliminate the eggs and add an extra jar of artichoke hearts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christina P. July 29, 2013

I created an account just to write a review for this recipe. Readers, if you're looking for a Hillstone copy-cat recipe, look elsewhere, this one isn't it. It doesn't even come close. Using a photo of the actual Hillstone spinach artichoke dip was very misleading.

I have no idea how it even got 4 stars. Sadly, this recipe was a waste of my ingredients and I should have known when it called for using the food processor which completely changed the consistency of the dip.

Needless to say, I won't be trying this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jclu December 21, 2012

This is not even close to Houston's Spinach Artichoke Dip. This is way too thick and doesn't melt, Houston's is smooth and creamy. Family couldn't even eat it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KAS in MN February 07, 2011

The recipe tasted fine, but it is definitely not anywhere close to the Houston's spinach dip. It is way too thick as well, so it wasn't easy to dip tortilla chips. It tasted fine, but I think it could use one less egg so it isn't as thick. Just don't expect Houston's dip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amt99dance January 10, 2010

This recipe was DELICIOUS! For serving, we cut slices of a baguette, brushed them with olive oil, and baked them for about 10 minutes while we were preparing the dip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Lynne October 24, 2009
Houston's Spinach and Artichoke Dip