Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Houston's Restaurant Copycat Veggie Burgers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Houston's Restaurant Copycat Veggie Burgers

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on May 25, 2011

      Made this last night with a few modifications and nailed it. I would blind taste test this against Houston's any day.

      First make your own bbq sauce, 2 tablespoons each of soy, molasses, honey and Hoisin. Stir and put to the side.

      In another large bowl dice beans as recipe calls for then add half of the bbq sauce, save rest for when cooking patties.

      Cook 1 and half cups of brown rice (I used brown jasmine) and roast two beets (go online to see how, really easy, olive oil and salt sealed in aluminum foil at 375 till soft to the touch. Half of a white onion, sautéed, when each is done add to beans (dice beets and add any juice from foil)

      Add 1 teaspoon each of chili powder and salt.
      1/4 teaspoon each of ground cumin, smoked paprika and ground black pepper.
      1 diced fresh jalapeno
      4 diced garlic cloves.
      2 teaspoons of olive oil
      2 each of dried prunes, plums and figs - diced
      1 egg or egg substitute

      Take your time, should be about 50 minutes and everything around room temp. They stayed together perfectly.

      To cook, get a cast iron skillet smoking, add a coat of olive oil, place patties and drip bbq sauce on top, flip after 2 minutes and repeat with sauce. Add monterey jack slices and cover for two minutes. Get good buns and broil with olive oil.

      They need nothing else, meat eaters loved and veggie%u2019s said it was better than houstons. Worth the work, one hour total. I made 6 patties with leftovers.
      Good luck and enjoy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      I used to work at Houston's in Miami and I prepped these veggie burgers. The recipe has chopped FIGS in it and tons of garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      Pretty good. I've never put beets in veggie burgers (or anything for that matter :D) and they add a really nice background flavor! I baked the patties then lightly fried them before serving. They help together ok, but that is an aspect that would need tweaking (I used 1 whole egg). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2005

      Houston's lied to you, Chef#226412---They do use chopped beets. I used to make the veggie burgers when I worked prep there. Brown rice, oat cereal, chopped black beans, salt, pepper, fresh garlic, jalapenos, white onion. The glaze is honey, soy, hoisin, and molasses. it gets dipped before grilling and held in the marinade before cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      Recipe is great. Just needed a couple modifications (which I'm going to still work on) 1 cup (instead of 1/2 cup breadcrumbs) 2 eggs (instead of 1) Adding 1 tbsp. honey did wonders for the flavor Also, I would recommend roasting the onions and the beets before adding. This helped maintain consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      I loved this recipe but changed some things to make sure that the patties won't fall apart. I used a whole egg instead of the egg white, intead of the oat bran I used 3 tbsp oats ( we dont get oat bran here). I also cooked the onion so that they won't release more water into the pattie and make it fall apart. The other thing I changed was using short grain rice because that is all I happened to have at home. The patties cooked beautifuly and my DH didn't notice that he was eating a veggie burger until I told him. I think they were superb and hope this information will help you perfect it. THANKS CLAIRE

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      You did an excellent job! We are so excited. We have been trying to duplicate this recipe for years. I will let you in on a little secret. I became friendly with a waiter at Housten's. He told me there were plums in the recipe. I assumed he meant prunes. So, I chopped up some prunes and added them to the recipe. That is all I changed. Excellent job. Congrats again on finding he secret ingredients. Well done!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      My husband and I eat at Huston's mainly for this housemade veggie burger....I was kind of hesitant to try this because of the work involved BUT it was sooooooooo worth it! I added more of the oatbran to my burger mix only because it was very sticky and wasn't holding together well. Once I added the extra oatbran I formed them into patties and stuck them in the fridge for about an hour to firm up. They were very very close to the taste of Houston's veggie burger. Has anyone tried freezing them? They are quite time consuming but very much work the effort.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      I took the advice of 1/4 Cup Oat Bran, 1 egg and saute chopped onion before adding to mixture.
      Baking using olive oil non stick spray was fine and the burgers didn't fall apart. I had honey so I used that instead of molasses. I also added figs and a teaspoon of crushed garlic. Mashing the black beans was labor intense. Any helpful hints?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2010

      These are excellent. I made some minor substitutions to adjust for what I hand on hand. I used honey not molasses, honey garlic BBQ sauce not hickory, a fresh jalapeno not pickled, and 1 small pickled beet not canned. I also reduced the cumin and salt and left out the egg as it did not need it. I put all the ingredients in the food processor and it was done in no time. These were full of flavour and a hit with my vegetarian daughter. Thanks for the easy recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Brilliant! I increased the oat bran to 1/4 cup, added 1/4 teaspoon smoked paprika, and instead of an egg I used 1/2 teaspoon cornstarch. Houston's has my favorite veggie burger ever and this is an almost exact replica! Scrumptious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2014

      Thank you for putting this recipe on the web. I moved from FL to VT 3 years ago - no Houston's in sight. This is even better because I don't even have to leave home to get the fine taste that I have been missing! Outstanding!!! Nicely done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2014

      We don't have a Houston's around here but we sure liked these. Have been trying many lately and these are the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2014

      So happy to find this recipe. I live in Canada and there are no good veggie burgers. I remember eating at Houston's all the time off Westheimer and asking for the recipe. The waiter would tell me one ingredient at a time and I for sure remember him mentioning mushrooms and oats. For those wanting to eliminate the egg I would think 1 tbsp of flax powder would hold and bind the recipe. I am going to try this recipe and add the flax and mushrooms and you let you know how it turns out, I 'll include a photo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2013

      A good veggie burger, but no where near the same taste as Houston's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      I have to say this is definitely very close to the Houston's veggie burger! It was very delicious and quite easy to make. I did read the other reviews and made slight modifications. I sauteed the onion and garlic first. I also used my food processor and processed the beans first. Then I put all the other ingredients in. I added 2 diced prunes and 3Tbs of bread crumbs. I also added 1 more TBS of oat bran. I also used the Ener-G egg replacer. I processed everything together and I don't know if it was because I used the food processor but I did not have a problem with it falling apart at all. I used a lid to a tupperware that I had and I used some press and seal wrap. I put the lid under the wrap and formed the patties then once I wrapped them all I put them in the fridge to chill. They were in there for about an hour, maybe an hour and a half, then I heated in the skillet. They never fell apart even when I flipped them. I will definitely be making more of these. I am the only vegan in the family and my daughter who definitely loves meat loved this burger and I wound up having to heat one up for her after she ate her whole dinner. I used to live fairly close to a Houston's and it was definitely a restaurant we went to often, but then I moved and the closest one is over an hour away so I never get to eat there anymore. I have definitely missed eating there but now I don't have to miss it anymore! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2012

      Incorporated many of foodforjoe's suggestions. Served it last night to a 'restauranteur' who gave it a thumbs up. I made it with figs and they worked great. Also used 2 cans beans and 4 cups cooked varied brown rice.

      My main modification. Having been fiddling with this recipe multiple times, this time I used a food processor first fully processed the beans (drained and rinsed) and then added the rice to the make a thoroughly pasty mixture. After that I added all the remaining ingredients including about a third a cup of panko and one egg while I formed the patties and the refrigerated them for about a half hour before cooking. They stayed together like glue and looked amazingly meat like and gorgeous! (as well as very tasty).

      My one other 'beef'. With all the discussion of the burgers I've heard from only one person about the sauce Hillstone uses. Not having eaten there in a while I didn't have much of a recollection of it other than to recall it as being part of a sublime experience. Someone mentioned it as being a combination of mayonnaise and dijon mustard which I tried. It was an excellent addition. Serving it with Trader Joe's ciabatta (?) type rolls which I did NOT first butter before grilling (a little mayonnaise served as my concession to taste over health) and sliced tomatoes, red onions and sweet pepper relish rounded out a thoroughly delicious burger. Did I mention that the restauranteur has a BBQ restaurant as his main venture?

      Made it basically double size (as above) in order to have lots of left overs which we did. It made about 12 delicious burgers.

      Any other suggestions re the sauce would be welcome

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2012

      excellent black bean burger! I read all the reviews, substituted 1 whole egg for the egg whites, rolled oats for the oat bran, added a little more roasted beets and 2 TBL chopped garlic, and 4-5 TBL bread crumbs to help hold them together. I refrigerated them for two hours, then cooked them in a nonstick skillet. They held together and were a major hit with my husband and son.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2011

      i worked for the restaurant and can tell you that it is definitely brushed with sweet soy sauce during cooking! hope this helps :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2011

      perfecto! will never spend $14 again (smile)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Houston's Restaurant Copycat Veggie Burgers

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 281.4
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    12%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 631.2 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.5 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 9.2 g
    36%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    28%
    Protein 10.4 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beet juice


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites