9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am a HUGE fan of Houlihans Baked Potato soup so I was really excited to make this recipe. For the beginners out there 1quart=4cups & 1/4 lb. butter = 1 stick. For the bullion I dissolved 2 cubes in 1 3/4c H2O, then subtracted that from the 4cups (1qt) called for. I also only used 1/2 the onion called for and it turned out just perfect for my taste. We added crumbled bacon & chedder cheese to the top. YUMMY!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeathersArk March 19, 2009

I haven't eaten Houlihan's soup to compare the two, but I can tell you that this soup is FABULOUS! At first, I thought it seemed like way too much liquid, but after simmering it really thickens up to a perfect texture. I sprinkled cheese and chives on top before serving. Yummy! I'll be making this again. Thanx for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* February 27, 2006

Terrific hearty soup. <br/>Omitted basil. <br/>Subbed in skim milk and FF Half & Half.<br/>Used 1 onion and more potatoes.<br/>Fried bacon for topping, and drained most of the fat. I then took a can of corn and fried it in the remaining bacon grease, which I then added to the soup. <br/>Topped ours with the bacon crumbles, Colby Jack Cheese and sour cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe September 29, 2014

My grand daughter and I love Houlihans potato soup" ..She gets the tortilla chips to scoop the soup. Hint hint. I used half and half and the chicken broth for the rest of the liquid. Its real good. I dont use tabasco. Just used extra pepper to taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coraki_12371516 September 18, 2014

Tastes exactly like the Houlihan's version! My husband and I were in soup zen after eating this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JelliCelli January 03, 2012

I never had Houlihan's soup, but I thought this recipe was excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iyannaflower July 20, 2008

I haven't tried this recipe yet. I was checking it out, reading the ingredients and more importantly the reviews and noticed someone said that "1lb butter= 1 stick". Just a heads up: 1 stick = 1/4lb or 1/2c or 8 tablespoons. This recipe calls for a whole stick of butter not 1/4th of a stick. This is important because it's used to make a roux and if you cut the butter down that much you might just end up with a burned flour cement type mess at the bottom of your pan if you don't use enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dione in RI May 15, 2008

My 12 year old daughter and I made this soup last night...WOW from both of us!!! We cut back a bit on the onions and added corn and topped with bacon and cheese. We will definitely make this one again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksplain2u August 28, 2007

This soup was really good. I was afraid it was too runny at first but after simmering a while on the stove it thickened to a nice consistency. We put crumbled bacon on top. I didn't have any cheese but that would also be good as a topping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazz Lover March 09, 2006
Houlihan's Baked Potato Soup Copycat