Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Houdini Burgers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Houdini Burgers

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2007

      I just made these for ZWT3- I chose this recipe because I lived in Missouri for 8 years and I adore coleslaw on pulled pork and figured it would be great on a burger. I used Kansas City Cowtown BBQ sauce my sister brought me, and I used Weber Sweet and Spicy BBQ seasoning. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      This was more different than I thought this was going to be. Not sure if I chose the right claw slaw for this, will try a different one the next time which I think also makes it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      The last year or two I have been reading different magazines and watch Food Network about cabbage slaw on hamburgers. I aways turned my nose up to that thought. Slaw on a hamburger, what have they been drinking?! I have to confess this was GREAT! Our kids even like the recipe. So I will be fixing this burger on the 4th of July at the get together here at our house. I left my slaw sit in the refrig for 5 hours to bring the flavors together more. Made for ZWT III 2007 - United States Region - Build A Burger

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      I loved this burger and thought it was a brilliant use of ingredients. If this burger was on a menu I would pay 10 bucks for it. I loved the cole slaw. What a nice and different ingredient. Bacon and BBQ sauce and cheddar didn't hurt either! Outstanding job. We are always looking for a better/different burger and we LOVED this. This is my favorite recipe of the tour so far. Congratulations to the creators and congratulations to me for having the good sense to take a chance. Outstanding burger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      Yummyummyummy!!! I didn't follow your directions to a T, but I think I was close. I happened to have Abita beer and Stubbs barbecue sauce on hand, so I used those. The slaw was a bit of a surprise for me, since I usually make the Deep South creamy tangy kind, but it's so good, I might use this dressing more often! Of course, it's a burger with bacon, cheese, BBQ, and beer. This cannot go wrong. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      Very good burger.Hubby had a question mark about the coleslaw but then he said it was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      Your description was accurate...these just disappeared! I've never eaten a burger where all of the components worked together like they did in this recipe....perfect - amazing! I especially liked the hint of beer in the barbecue sauce and the way the slaw and barbecue sauce tasted together!! Great job Hot Plate Houdinis!!! acerast - an Exotic Epicurean

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      Very good burger. We had a little problem with the barbecue sauce - I got Kraft's (not much choice here) and I was the only one who liked it. The rest of the family found it 'mediciney' - probably a Greek thing. The kids also didn't want a lot of 'salad' on their burgers but both DH and I thought that the tangy/sweet coleslaw really made this burger speical. I'll definitely make these again, but with ordinary ketchup or a tomato chutney.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      Delicious!! I loved the combination of the coleslaw and the barbeque sauce. I make a pulled pork sandwich with the same combination. I didn't use Budweiser (I can't stand the stuff), but instead used some of my homemade beer. It tasted superb!! I had friends over for dinner and they raved about these burgers. Hot Plate Houdinis, you created a keeper of a burger. Great job!! I will definitely be making these again. Thanks for sharing!! Made for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      Great flavor. We used prepared coleslaw mix and made the dressing as indicated and it was delicious! We served French Fries on the side with the end result being a "better than a restaurant meal."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      O.K..this was so yummy! I was a little leery of putting coleslaw on my burger and adding a little b.b.q sauce to it, but it was really good! The tang of the slaw and b.b.q sauce went really well together. I used bag o' pre-made tri-color coleslaw and Kraft's Hicory Smoked B.B.Q sauce. I also had to use celery salt instead of the celery seed only because I forgot to get celery seed when I was at the store. Thanks for posting a great burger recipe for Zaar 3 Team Houdini!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      I did this burger for the ZWT. Delicious and different. I was the only one who actually ate it as is though. DH and DS both left off the coleslaw and bbq sauce. DH had his with ranch and DS with ketchup and mayo. I used bud lite (stolen from a friend as we don't usually drink midwestern beer and 2 tsp bbq seasoning. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      I did this burger for the ZWT 3. No regret at all :P It was delicious and different from other burgers I've done previously. I already had Creamy Dill Cabbage Coleslaw : Coleslaw-Creamy Dill Cabbage Salad

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      We loved this burger! Everything really went together well and it used beer!!! Although I used Corona rather then Midwest beer it was still outstanding. We used KC Sauce. I misread the recipe and ended up adding some sauce to the beef before I realized it said barbecue "seasoning" but it seems I always have to mess up somewhere! So I added a dash of Montreal Steak seasoning and carried on. Excellent burger submission. Good luck Hot Plate Houdinis!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      Excellent burger. The different tastes just meld together for a great tasting burger. This is something I will make again! Thanks meganbrycesmom bor posting this great burger!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      A 5* sandwich! This burger pleases your tastebuds with the saltiness of the bacon, the gentle bite of the red onion, the tangy crunch of the coleslaw, all brought together by the sweetness of the barbecue sauce. It was amazing! I made a small amount of coleslaw just for this sandwich, but I'm thinking you could actually use any you might have on hand. I also don't think that the beer is a necessity if you don't drink it, or have it on hand. Make this burger...your family and friends will thank you, just as I am thanking Megnbrycesmom for this awsome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Houdini Burgers

    Serving Size: 1 (289 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 537.6
     
    Calories from Fat 241
    44%
    Total Fat 26.8 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 91.3 mg
    30%
    Sodium 994.7 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 15.3 g
    61%
    Protein 33.2 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes