11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Rita, if I had to pick a list of top recipes I have discovered since joining Zaar, this would be right up there at the top. I'd never make anything like this, and was soooo pleased. I hope it stores well in the fridge. Even though I halved the recipe it made a lot of shot glasses worth! I dissolved the sugar in the microwave and added it to boiling water on the stove. While the spices were boiling the whole house smelled wonderful! I did leave out the vanilla because I used Stoli Vanil (vanilla flavored vodka). I also plan to use this spice combination with plain boiled water for a pot pourri for the house! Everyone came to the kitchen to see what was cooking - the younger set was disappointed to learn they wouldn't get any. The drink was soooo smooth and flavorful. I served it warm. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, so I could discover it.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan January 26, 2003

I made this for the first time for our Polish Christmas Eve (Wigilia) inspired by this site. The Krupnik was very sweet, maybe a bit sweet for my taste, but the honeyed orange spicy flavor by itself was decadent enough to make me want to sip a whole mug full. Don't sip too slowly; this drink is best when it is still hot. I might play with the amount of sugar and honey in the recipe next time I make it, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the recipe as is. Many thanks for sharing it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princess.and.the.pea December 28, 2006

The recipe was a big hit in our house too. I tried it with Stoli vanil and also with regular Finlandia vodka. In my opinion the vanilla flavored vodka made the recipe taste kinda synthetic and we didn't like it as much as with regular vodka (I added a dash of Vanilla essence) I also decreased the sugar and water so the drink is potent and not too sweet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
As2085 April 02, 2004

This is a great krupnik recipe. I used good quality vanilla extract instead of vanilla bean. Great for sore throats and sinuses.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana July 26, 2009

Not too bad, but this was way to sweet for me. Only attempt this if you have a very sweet tooth. The spice mix was nice though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NovaM June 27, 2009

Rita, I love your recipe for this...so much so that I've merged your recipe with my family's by omitting the sugar, using 2 full cups of honey, lowering the water to 2 cups, adding the juice of the orange as well as the zest, and increasing the vodka to 4 cups. I also used 1/2 vanilla bean. Now I can have the best of both worlds! Took this to a Polish birthday party and everyone loved it. Not really a summer drink, but my daughter (one of the birthday people) requested it. Thanks so much. Your spice mix is dead on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vina June 23, 2009

I really enjoyed this soothing, sweet, alcoholic beverage. Its very nice in the winter. All the spices really make the house smell fantastic and it tastes as good as it smells. It's very much a sipping beverage due to the high level of sweetness. Thank you so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Atheist Cook February 03, 2008

This is very good. It does seem like a concentrate for more water or perhaps juice to be added to. It is super sweet. If you sip it though...and let it sit in your mouth a moment...you get to experience the honey, spices and orange essence. Very nice. Thanks for the fun Polish recipe Rita L!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed December 25, 2006

All five stars for a unic recipe, even though it was so sweet for our tastes (and we do like our sweet things)we had to dilute it down with hot water. But the flavor is seriously awsome. Will try again with a lot less sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare January 12, 2006

Now were talking! This was wonderful! I was tempted to use the last of my Stoli Vanilla until I read that one reviewer said it did not taste as good as using the bean..... so off to the ABC Store! We drank this warm and it was so good! My new replacement for Hot Tea! LOL! But seriously, this was soooo good! Thank you for sharing!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper October 27, 2005
Hot Vodka with Honey (Krupnik)