14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh YUM! What a great recipe! So simple yet so satisfying! I love the strong vanilla taste in this! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing another keeper, hon!
Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #56 March 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula March 06, 2013

Yum - I make something very similar but instead of sugar I use honey. Warm sweet comfort in a cup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ILefkowitz May 11, 2011

This is a great idea! Love the how easy it is to make! And its a wonderful creamy texture and delicious flavor! I might try making it with almond extract too. Thanks for sharing! Made for Veg "N Swap tag!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo May 11, 2011

I have trouble sleeping and folks always tell me a mug of hot milk will do the trick. For me plain hot milk didnt taste very good so I tried this and enjoyed it a lot. I used skim milk but did not have vanilla sugar so I mixed the vanilla and sugar together and added it to the milk. Added just a touch more vanilla and it was perfect. Think it might have helped me relax and get to sleep too! :) Made and reviewed for the Australia/NewZealand Forum's Recipe Swap #42.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 August 01, 2010

This was nice. We still would rather have hot chocolate, but this will do when we are out. My kids like this even better cold! It tastes like ice cream! It seems that when using cold milk we needed less sugar and Vanilla. Thanks for the recipe! Made for I recommend tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elaniemay April 24, 2010

I enjoyed this very much,especially that I'm not a big hot chocolate fan. I made it with skipped milk. Very nice before sleeping drink. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia April 03, 2010

This is very yummy. I used skim milk, 1 tsp of splenda cause I don't have vanilla sugar, and 1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract. I enjoyed it and my son wanted to taste it and he loved it. He asked me to do one for him tomorrow. Thanks Elmotoo :) Made for I recommend tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette March 23, 2010

Very nice sipping drink. I have to confess that I had to make an alteration to this simple recipe (actually 2). I do not have vanilla sugar, so I intended to use the higher amount of vanilla and a little granulated sugar. However; I went to my baking supplies and found no sugar. So the first time I made this, I used some sugar cinnamon blend that I put up in my spice cabinet. This meant there was very little sugar in the drink but I believe the addition of cinnamon made up for it. I made this again in the morning, and remembered that I had some sugar in container in the fridge that was infused with a small amount of raspberry juice from a recipe my daughter created. The raspberry flavor was very subtle- the vanilla still stood out. I will definitely keep this recipe handy for when I want something warm to drink at night. Thanks for posting Elmotoo. Made and Reviewed for the 38th AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate March 04, 2010

DD (toddler) and I liked this as a nice before bed drink. I made this on the stove with plain rice milk to be dairy free. I used alcohol free vanilla and white sugar. I may make this again for DD. Made for MAKE MY RECIPE~Tag Game Ed't 10.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat February 27, 2010

A simple and yet stunning recipe thanks Bethie! I made this for myself last night before I went to bed, using my own home-made vanilla sugar. I also used real vanilla extract and not essence, that is the magic ingredient. A delicious and simple recipe which results in a comforting and different night-time drink, merci ma leeetle petits pois! Made for Aus/NZ Recipe Swap #34 and very much enjoyed. FT:-) PS: No photos as it was late at night and Sharon has posted such a beautiful photo already!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart November 28, 2009
Hot Vanilla Milk