10 Reviews

Stand up and take a bow loof...a solid five stars for this little beauty!!
We are fans of Tuna Melts ( I like mine with Branston Pickle-an English thing I think!), so I never doubted that we would like this.
I used fresh Parmesan and Black Pepper rolls from my local bakery ( delish!) and Dijon Mustard, as it didn't stipulate what sort to use.
This was fantastic...we REALLY enjoyed this. The cream cheese was a great alternative to mayo, and the jalapeno ( I used the sliced ones from a jar!) was a fabulous addition.
DH munched away with real gusto..and requested it again for lunch yesterday..this time no rolls, but made into quesadillas..which were equally scrummy!!
Thanks loof...a much enjoyed recipe,that will be making a repeat appearance again soon!!
Made for PRMR.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo January 08, 2011

I'm not usually a fan of canned tuna, but for some reason I picked up a can, and needed something to do with it. After making this sandwich, I'm going to buy some more! I loved the creaminess from the cream cheese, so much better than mayo :) I used 2.5 ounces of tuna, and made one sandwich. I also used mild canned green chiles (about 1 teaspoon) instead of fresh jalepeno, and just to add a bit more vegetable to my meal, a couple of chopped canned artichoke hearts. I absolutely loved it, and plan to make a bunch to freeze for future lunches. Thanks for posting a real winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH July 18, 2011

This made for a great lunch for my husband! He really liked the jalapeno and it was nice to take it from the fridge and pop it in the oven when he got home. Delish! Made for Zaar Stars. Thanks loof! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif October 29, 2010

This was a nice little hot tuna recipe. My husband loves tuna melts, so I thought he would like it and he did except for my stale buns (don't use leftover frozen buns, buy some new nice hearty ones). I left out the pepper but added a few drops of hot sauce instead, otherwise made like the recipe called for. I can't eat cheese, but can handle a little cream cheese so I made mine in a separate bowl with no cheddar cheese and it still was very good. I think the cream cheese makes it such a nice smooth consistency.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser June 13, 2012

I used a small 95g tin of tuna in spring water which gave me 2 1/4 ounces of tuna once drained and added to all the other ingredients as listed for 1 serve and put into a wholemeal/wholegrain bun and wrapped in alfoil and put in a 175c fan forced oven for 15 minutes and enjoyed this delicious warm sandwich and the addition of the chilli is so important, I used a small red thai chilli seeds and all, thank you loof, made for Aussie/Kiwi Recipe Swap #63 April 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat April 09, 2012

This was a really good, quick lunch. I left out the pepper, because I was fixing it for my kids too. I didn't have any "Whipped" cream cheese, so I let what I have soften and whipped it with my mixer. I turned out really good. I topped my with some fresh sliced tomato from the garden. Thanks so much for sharing. Made for PRMR-June 2010

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gertc96 June 22, 2010

This was very tasty. DD loved it and asked for the recipe. Very easy to make. Will make again, thanks for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenbeatrice June 10, 2010

I loved the use of cream cheese instead of mayo in this sandwich, nice change! Next time, I would cut the mustard in half or maybe eliminate it, it overpowered the other flavors for me. I made as stated except left out the salt and used 2 5 oz cans of tuna because it looked too saucy with just one. Being someone who used to be afraid of hot foods, I never thought I would say this, but I would double the amount of jalapeno next time :), it wasn't spicy at all for me. Thanks for a great lunch! Made for 1-2-3 Hits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway May 22, 2010

Goood nice quickie lunch. I added a little extra lemon juice, and left out the salt. The cream cheese was a nice touch. Enjoyed by all. Made for 1-2-3 hits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker November 15, 2009

This was a nice variation to a regular tuna sandwich. I liked the addition of the jalapeno -- I almost doubled the amount called for. I thought the mustard was just a tish too strong for my tastes though. I really liked the cream cheese, but my husband says he would have prefered plain old mayo. (I think he's crazy :) ) Thanks for posting! Made for Photo Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo February 14, 2009
Hot Tuna Sandwich