Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Szechuan-Style Green Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Szechuan-Style Green Beans

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on April 18, 2013

      We weren't fussy over the flavour the rice wine vinegar gave the dish. We prefer a less sour taste and a touch of sesame seed oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      Very good. Second time I made it I cut back the sugar to 1/2 tsp. which was about perfect. The sugar called for in the original recipe was a little too much for my taste. Didn't have the ginger so used 5 spice instead which worked well. Also added about 4 oz. of ground pork because I had it on hand. Altogether excellent and very flexible recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      great recipe thanks alot for posting didnt use the sugar sub used brown sugar 2 teaspoons

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      Hi Barb! Everyone was correct..these are FANTASTIC!! A little too hot, but will cut back on the chili flakes next time. I like things hot, but WOW! Will definately be making these again. Thanks for a great recipe. DH loved them!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      This is the one I've been hungry for - just like I used to get at the ChungKing in Vancouver. Made for Chinese New Year Dimsum for my Red Hat group and everyone loved them. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

    • on October 10, 2008

      We cut the ginger & garlic amounts in half- and it was still very flavorful. Good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      This was super super good. Everyone in the entire family enjoyed it. Next time I will double it, because it did not feed a family of four - I have a very hungry teenage boy! Served it as a side dish to "Spicy Crispy Beef" Spicy Crispy Beef. My children thought this was better than eating chinese out! Will try chinese long beans next time, but perfect as is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      Barb these are really yummy and easy to make especially since you steam the beans in the same dish! I served as part of an asian vegetarian meal. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2005

      I added thin strips of leftover pork chops which I'd put into the sauce in step 3 for a moment before warming with green beans. Great main course - nothing left!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2005

      Loved, loved, loved these beans. I followed the recipe as posted and used the high side of the range for the hot chili flakes. Great flavor with this recipe and very healthy in its preparation. Definite keeper. Thank you Barb for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2004

      Great dish! Pretty easy to make, very healthy, looked delicious and was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2004

      These were very very good. Only change I will make next time is a bit less sugar - kind of sweet for our taste. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2004

      These are excellent Barb! We all love hot and spicy food and this did the trick! I took a picture and will attempt to post it, however, it's my first ever photo so I may have some trouble. No trouble scarfing these babies down though! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2004

      This is not the first recipe that I have tried for Szchewan green beans but it is the first one that I will be using again. They were excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2004

      I used a bit too much chili flakes for my taste but Dh LOVED this. Great method with almost a grilled taste when done. Mine also took longer to cook than the recipe instructs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2004

      These beans were very good! I cooked them a little longer than called for and used olive oil. Yummy taste and easy too! Thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Szechuan-Style Green Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (68 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 44.3
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    38%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 255.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hot chili flakes

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes