28 Reviews

Rich and moist! I reduced sugar by half in both batter and topping. Wish I had not reduced the sugar in the topping. I used half applesauce and half oil. Next time I would make bread day before so the apple taste would intensify. Used gala apples. Mine took 50 minutes to bake. TY for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal April 29, 2012

I subbed applesauce for all of the oil and we all really enjoyed this loaf. It is easy to make and tastes great. Thanks for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada November 25, 2009

I have made this twice now in a few days...everyone LOVES it! The shredded apples really make all the difference inthe texture. We like a Gala/MacIntosh apple combo. DELICIOUS! Thanks for a fabulous recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Backwoods Foodie November 23, 2009

Holy Hot Sin! I had half a bag of gala apples wasting away in the fridge and it was a cool fall day, so I thought- what the heck! First of all, I tried half of the recipe baked as muffins and would recommend that if you do that, only fill the cups halfway and don't add the bottom streusel. I made the other half of the recipe as a loaf and did need a few extra minutes to fully cook. Will definitely make this all year round...but will try to substitute applesauce for all or part of the oil (it could only make the flavor more intense!). Thanks so much for this winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsKnox2016 October 11, 2009

I wish I had never laid eyes on this recipe. I am not kidding. I have been slicing off slivers of it since it cooled enough to cut, because tiny slivers won't ruin my diet...until they add up to the entire loaf! This is INCREDIBLE! As other reviews mentioned, 5 stars is really not enough. I did add about 2 teaspoons of cinnamon to the batter, but that was all I did differently. I didn't grate the apples, I peeled and cored them, then tossed them into my mini chopper. If you are making this for the first time, do NOT BE ALARMED when the batter appears thick before adding the apples, it is perfect after the addition of the apples. This is going to be a new go-to recipe for sure. My family and I thank you for sharing this recipe, even if my diet does not.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PetesNina September 29, 2009

Can I rate this any higher than 5 Stars? So delicious, easy, and it smelled so good while baking, I wanted to rip it out of the oven and eat it half cooked! Hands down, a serious winner! I made 4 mini loaves. Thank you for sharing! Made for PAC Spring '09.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen April 12, 2009

This bread is delicious! So nice and moist. I cut the amount of sugar used in half and substituted pasteurized egg whites for the whole eggs but otherwise made the recipe as written. A wonderful way to use up an overabundance of apples. For sure, I'll be making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irmgard January 17, 2009

I have to go to church this Sunday to repent for this "Hot Sin" Apple Bread! It is sinful and decadent. I will never make banana bread again. This a keeper for sure. Way more than 5 stars--one zillion stars!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamela t. January 03, 2009

I'm not a baker, and I'm not a sweet eater. Something about this recipe made me want to try it, and I am so glad I did. The perfect amount of sweetness, and the crumble mixture on the base and top of the bread really put it over the top. I used cortland apples, but I'm sure any apple would be just as good. The amazing smell of the house is just another bonus.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loves design November 20, 2014

I don't know how I've never reviewed this recipe until today! I've made it so many times and it's always delicious! I love that it's so full of apples. Here are the changes that I've made - I use only 1 cup sugar and it's still plenty sweet; I use 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce and it doesn't negatively affect the texture; I add 1 tsp. cinnamon to the batter; and instead of grating the apples, I finely dice them. I set my timer for 40 minutes and check on the bread then and usually find they're done baking at about 45 minutes. These freeze really well too. Thanks for posting such a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 September 10, 2013
Hot Sin Apple Bread