Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Sausage and Mozzarella Roll Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Sausage and Mozzarella Roll

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2009

      This is a very good recipe. I used refrigerated pizza dough and cut the recipe in half. I used hot italian turkey sausage and added some minced garlic and bell peppers to the filling. When assembling the roll I layered marinara sauce, italian cheese and the meat mixture. I then served it with a side of marinara. I have also made this using a beef and onion mixture and cheddar cheese, which I served with ketchup and mustard. Either way it is delicious. Very easy to change to suit your taste. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      BIG smooches to you for posting this recipe, Saturn, and a big, ol' hug to your mama for creating it! This was fabulous! It could be tweaked a hundred different ways and all of them would be great. I used Whole Wheat Pizza Crust for Bread Machine for the dough, spread on some bruschetta before adding the turkey sausage and cheese, and also sauteed onions, mushrooms and garlic for an extra layer. I made only one loaf since just 3 of us would devour it. We were looking for more! Just awesome. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      My husband especially liked this recipe. I would say the serving size is right on. I served with a green salad. Next time I'm going to switch it up and make it like a cheeseburger- use ground beef and cheddar. Thanks for a keeper, Saturn!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Made this last night for dinner. We used refridgerated pizza dough (which was too thin to roll I thought..or maybe it was not cold enough when I went to roll it) and ground sweet italian sausage. It didn't look pretty coming out of the oven, but there were no leftovers (between 5 of us) and both kids and DH said they would eat it again, so it's a keeper in our book! Maybe next time I'll try fresh dough. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

    • on December 14, 2008

      I had a little trouble rolling out the dough, but after the fight it turned out great. I wonder if using refrigerator pizza dough would work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      Wonderful recipe - used canned refrigerated pizza dough & ground mild sausage, as well as caraway seeds in place of sesame...and oh so good! We will definitely be making this very often as it was so quick, easy, and tasty! (Oh and we forgot the parmesan cheese and it was still wonderful!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      yum, yum, yum!! The house smelled so good that my DH told me he loved me before he even knew what it was! I used Rhodes frozen Rolls and added green peppers and mushrooms (just a personal preference) followed instructions exactly. We ate with a lovely whole grain mustard and we LOVED 'em! Lou - tell your mom we love her!! Cheri

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      I love this recipe. I added more veggies and less parsley. But this recipe is so easy to do. I brushed the dough with butter instead of egg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      I substituted the mozzarella with garlic Havarti. Used Kelbasa and bacon. Turned out great! I used the dough from the "Quick and easy Pizza Dough Recipe" found on this site.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      My husband and I really enjoyed these for dinner last night. It was a cold day, so we had a cup of soup as well. Comfort food to the core. Mine didn't look as pretty as the picture, but they certainly tasted great. I also made some for the kids with hot dogs and no onions. Big hit! Thanks Saturn. This is one of many recipes in my cookbook of yours. Can't wait to try the rest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      this made a great lunch for us. i used refrigerated dough, spicy italian sausage, and added some provolone cheese in with the mozzarella. i didn't add the sesame seeds. very good alternative to pizza.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      We loved this recipe! Italian sausage isn't available here, so I used our butcher's own pork sausage and added some fennel seeds and chilli flakes, then glazed the roll with milk instead of egg. So good, it's hard to stop eating it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      I hate to give this recipe a low rating since everyone else loved it, but I guess it just wasn't for us. My DB and I are sausage lovers but this recipe did not do it for us. Maybe adding some sort of sauce would have helped?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2006

      I loved this recipe - it was just like my mom used to make! I used the dough recipe recommended in the directions and added sliced pepperoni into the meat mixture and a bit of marinara sauce as the base and it was perfect! Everyone raved about it and I already have requests to make it again! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2006

      I decided to make 8 individual rolls out of this recipe. I served with Marinara because it seemed to be the trend with reviewers but the next day I ate 1 with ketchup and mustard and it was delicious... to me so much better than with marinara. I think I was trying to make them "pizza pockets" which they really aren't. Next time I make them I'll just really enjoy the sausage and mozzarella taste and add more spices, and not serve with marinara. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      We loved it. Very easy and my husband said, "This is a keeper" Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      This was so good! We love sausage bread, and this is by far the best we have had yet! Thank you so much for a delicious, easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      I made this for dinner tonight and it went over VERY well! For pizza dough, I used "Easy Pizza Dough for Bread Machine" Easy Pizza Dough for Bread Machine. I cooked one pound of Italian Sausage with 2 tablespoons of dehydrated onions. While that was cooking, I spread shredded cheddar cheese on the rolled out dough. Then spooned the sausage mix over that and sprinkled grated mozz and parm cheese over that. I didn't brush the loaves with butter or use sesame seeds or parsley. I also served with marinara sauce for dipping as suggested by other reviewers. A garden salad and applesauce rounded out the meal nicely. The family scarfed this up quickly, smacking their lips and "mmmm-ing" the whole time. They made me promise to make it again. This seems to be a very forgiving recipe where one can make all sorts of adjustments and still end up with a tasty dinner. THANK YOU SATURN!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

      the dough i tried to home-bake was a flop, and so i decided to turn the recipe into a pizza. All the recipe ingredients were added on top along with mushrooms, red bell pepper, and gralic. It is still baking and I hope it turns out fine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Sausage and Mozzarella Roll

    Serving Size: 1 (99 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.2
     
    Calories from Fat 224
    68%
    Total Fat 24.9 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 80.0 mg
    26%
    Sodium 1010.7 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 19.8 g
    39%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pizza dough

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites