14 Reviews

I like the adjustments of the cumin and oregano, try using parchment paper in you pan to cook them. Added 2 tbs Worcestershire to a batch, cut the salt a bit if you do...was very tasty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momstark December 21, 2009

Can't believe that I forgot to review this one!! Love these - make them as outlined. I have found that they taste better if made earlier in the day before serving in the evening.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DancingPanda May 31, 2009

These are really good. I used a combination of cashews, pistachios, almonds and macadamia nuts, which worked very well. Following the advice of other reviewers, I added 1/8 tsp of garlic powder and backed off on the cumin a little. Good advice, although when they were baking the garlic smelled very strong and I thought I had used too much. Not to worry - while they were in the oven, a group of friends stopped by and they gave the nuts (still slightly warm) rave reviews. I stirred them after about 15 minutes, which made them pick up more of the spices from the pan. Next time I think I'll add about 1/2 tsp more sugar. Thanks for a great recipe! KK

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bkwilson January 27, 2009

Excellent recipe! I did cut back on the hot spices quite a bit (personal preference), and added a small sprinkling of garlic powder. I mixed the spices with the egg white, mixed in the nuts, then let it sit in the fridge for a while so I could bake just before our party. It was a great starter! Thanks, EdsGirlAngie, for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Giovanni-B January 05, 2009

I added a little onion powder and garlic powder and I used seasoned salt for half of the salt. I also use a variety of nuts--peanuts, mixed nuts, and cashews. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beanhead December 25, 2008

best snack ever! yes i like spicy food and i actually found these to have a little heat. the spice mix is perfect! i used a mix of cashews and peanuts and won't use anything else. (for those having trouble finding unsalted nuts, they're usually in the produce section, not the snack section)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~heidi~ February 10, 2008

I made these for Super bowl party, couldn't find unsalted cashews anywhere so used a mix of almond & peanuts. The almonds turned out somewhat chewy, don't know why but I wouldn't use almonds again. I love spicy food and found these to be slightly warm but the heat senstive people at the party found them too hot to eat. I can't wait to try them with cashews. Perfect recipe for those who like their spicy snacks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela P. February 06, 2007

My husband really enjoyed these. He requested that I have these around all of the time for him to snack on. Followed your directions exactly. Quick & easy, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue February 07, 2005

As suggested, I tried this recipe using unsalted cashews only. Really, really good! Next time, I think I'll cut back on the cumin slightly -- but that's just a matter of personal taste. The heat/spiciness was wonderful with Margaritas! Thanks for sharing such a great little appy recipe, Angie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton January 02, 2005

I prepared this using peanuts and cashews. I choose to mix the spices in with the egg white. I liked this method,even though some nuts were hotter than others. These nuts were lightly salted, so I decreased the kosher salt to 1 teaspoon. I decreased the cumin and oregano to 1/2 teaspoon, because I wanted the pepper flavor to be dominant. Be sure to grease your pan well and spread the nuts evenly, so they will come off the pan cleanly and separately. I had a few clumps because I failed to do this. DH and I really loved these! It was quick and easy to prepare! Once again, EGA, thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobtail December 26, 2004
Hot Salty Nuts