Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Pepper Mustard Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Pepper Mustard

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 10, 2003

      Excellant. A wonderful balance of heat, sweetness and spice. I have never made mustard before, so I made 1/4 of the recipe. I used 1 jalapeno (we are gringos from New England with weak stomachs). After tasting the mixture, I decided to add the cooked jalapeno pieces. At first, I was surprised by shiny color and sticky texture until I remembered a gourmet mustard I had received as part of a gift basket. I am going to make this for Xmas gifts, the unique flavor and texture makes this mustard very special. (One note of caution - slowly bring the mixture to a boil then remove the pan from the heat or it will be too thick.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      Although I didn't make this myself, JQ was kind enough to send me a jar at Christmas time. I used this to go with my Bratwurst-Potato Skillet Dinner and just absolutely loved it. I can't wait to make my own batch up soon. I'll want to keep this handy. JQ thanks so much for such a wonderful gift. UPDATE: I made my own batch today getting 8 1/2 pint jars. I chouldn't find habanero peppers so used six jalapeno peppers from the garden, seeding all but 2 of them. Perfect heat element for us. Again thanks so much JQ. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      I made this a couple of weeks ago and it was a HUGE hit. I have already had to make more as my BF eats this on everything. I did use Splenda instead of sugar and cut the flour in half. I didn't strain the habaneros, just used a hand-held blender on them. I used seeds and all. Great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2003

      I was really hoping for great things from this, especially since I made a double batch. It's not bad, but for my taste, it needs some serious tweaking. I would leave the flour out altogether, as I could definitely taste "flour" in the finished product. I think it also made the mustard too thick and gloppy. I also found it not very spicy, which surprised me considering the extreme pain I was in while making this stuff! :D I would add at least one or two more habeneros to this. I'm not sure whether I would cut down on the sugar or not, but I might sub out some of it for honey or a little brown sugar. Also, a clove or two of garlic would not come amiss. It's not bad. It just needs help.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      I made half a batch of this with Nif's Homemade Grainy Mustard (Great Gift Idea!) for a gift bag. I packed it with 2 kinds of pretzels for a Christmas gift. It is tasty and I used 3 jalapeno peppers. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      I used jalepeno peppers and the mustard has a great taste but is not hot. I discarded the pepper pulp and just used the juice as directed. Next time, I may add some minced pepper. UPDATE: I took a jar of the mustard from my pantry today and pureed it with two tablespoons of pickled jalepeno slices. It has a nice bite and is going to be a hit at our summer picnics. Thank you for posting :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      Amazing and easy! I followed the directions exactly using 5 habaneros I grew in my container garden. Ended up with 8 half pints. Wonderful flavor, perfect levels of heat and sweet. My whole family loves it. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      This recipe is spot on i have made it 3 times in the last week. Great taste and very different are a couple of comments made to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      Wow! So delicious! Any mustard lover will LOVE this! I used my steam canner which, since it's a high acid product, I think is safe. I'm sure you could use a water bath, too. This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      This is a fabulously delicious and easy recipe. We make our own smoked summer sausages, this recipe is perfect with it. My friends have gone wild over it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      Love this mustard, will be making more tomorrow. I was a little afraid to put 5 habaneros in, so I used 4 with membranes removed--next time I'll go with 5. Be prepared---the smell of the habaneros simmering with the vinegar is strong--my little one kept coughing!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      This is a delicious mustard. I made 2 batches - one as written and to the other one I added 1 teaspoon of garlic powder. They are both great! Can't wait to give them in gift baskets this Christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      My BF Dugan loved this mustard and so did I! Thanks for giving him something different to dip his Chicken McNuggets in. He is such a beast. I must admit, however, it was the best McNugget I ever had. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2005

      This is sooooooooo delicious. My whole family cries for it.Gave it for gifts for Christmas and I was Queen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Pepper Mustard

    Serving Size: 1 (2603 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 809.2
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    74%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5569.0 mg
    232%
    Total Carbohydrate 193.1 g
    64%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 170.8 g
    683%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites