74 Reviews

Dearest Jellyqueen.....thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!! This is the best Hot Pepper Jelly I have ever made. I made a double batch today , had to cheat and taste it. It really is just wonderful! I did had more hot peppers, as I like a good bite. So easy too. I will make this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ldyzcookin August 18, 2012

I've tried a lot of Hot Pepper Jelly recipes. This is my keeper recipe! It is so good. I made it last year and I will make it every year from no on out! Thank you so much! I like that I can control the heat with the different peppers I use. Hapenero for my hubby and banana peppers for me! Awesome! It has been a great go to gift all year long also!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hobbgal June 21, 2012

I made two batches at the same time (one with habaneros and one with jalapenos). I followed the recipe to a T (using 2 packets of certo per batch) and I found that it was extremely liquidy (it hardly thickened at all). It is the next day and I will try to reboil and add more pectin, then rejar. I haven't tasted it yet, but so far I've had issues with the amount of pectin needed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah_Goertzen November 30, 2011

I must give it five stars, even tho I am disapointed, because I know it is my fault. It isn't hot at all. I used eight jalapenos, seeds in all but one, and one bell pepper. The store didn't have any habaneros. I used two foil packages of the pectin, and it is two thick. It really taste good, but not hot. I will try again to get it hotter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sissy sue November 26, 2011

On August 10th 2009, I posted a review about how awesome this Pepper Jelly is, and two years later, I have to say that I now make it every year,... I constantly get requests to "Paalease make more", and I couldn't have found a better recipe to go by. For those who I know like it very hot, I use Habanero's and Jalapeno's, and for those who like it more mild, I use jalapeno's and a bell pepper (any color), but always the peppers are from my garden, and now I grow more each year, to keep up with the demand of this awesome Jelly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allyzona August 03, 2011

I knew my husband would probably like this - so I made a batch - he took some to work with him - he works with a bunch of men that compete to see who can bring in the hottest foods and consume them without breaking into a sweat :) Now - 4 batches later - when they need something to snack on he takes this jelly along with cream cheese and some crackers and they all love it. I'll be making it again next summer when the jalapenos are back in season.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicken Queen January 18, 2011

After all the rave reviews, I have to say that I'm disappointed in the results. I followed the recipe exactly with 1 exception - I used Ball liquid pectin and took the suggestion of one of the reviewers and only used 6 oz because I like jelly a little looser and spreadable. I used at least 7 jalepenos without seeds, but then I got nervous when I read a review that said that they had left the seeds in for more heat, so I added 2 more with seeds. I used a red bell pepper. The jelly is VERY sweet, not so hot - more like it makes your lips tingle after you eat it, but not that nice balance of sweet/hot that I expect with a good hot pepper jelly. It's also VERY firm - even with only 6 oz of the pectin. Maybe Ball is stronger? I know that pepper heat can vary, but it seems like no matter how much I could put in, it would still be too sweet for my tastes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkingMom2three September 12, 2010

I love this recipe! Thanks for posting. I used 4 jalapeno peppers and it was perfect. I used some of this pepper jelly in a vinaigrette for salad tonight and it was fabulous. Can't wait to try it with chicken and other stuff too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soapy QtrNote June 14, 2010

I made this for the dip with this jelly and cream cheese for our super bowl party. I got six 1/2 pint jars and a little left over for the cook....lol. We like to glaze this on ham steak also. We all love the flavor and the kids like eating "green ham". Thank you for this really easy to make jelly that is so good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 08, 2010

I made your pepper jelly for Christmas gifts and ended up doing 3 extra batches for us. DH loves it. We are trying to diet but he expects 2 crackers with cream cheese and pepper jelly after meals as a desert. It is terrific. Gloria

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gloria 15x January 03, 2010
Hot Pepper Jelly