77 Reviews

This is one of the best and easiest pepper jeely recipes ever! I like it a little warmer and use Nakano flavored vinegar instead of white vinegar. I like my jelly quite warm and use one green pepper, six red serranos six jalapenos, two anaheims, six super chilis, five habanero paper lanterns and five of the yellow-orange habs you see in the supermarket. Although it takes a day or two to set, I prefer a single 6 oz package of Certo or the jelly turns to rubber. I love this on toast with eggs in the morning, guaranteed to wake you up!! Wayno

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wayne_emery September 17, 2009

Really great recipe! I've used this two years in a row and everyone loves it. We like it really spicy, so we use ring of fire chilli peppers instead of jalapenos and use 1 cup per batch. Doubles or quadruples nicely too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrandBendJen September 12, 2009

Great recipe. I left the seeds in some of my pepper so the jelly has a kick. It's great on a cracker with cream cheese and will be making the brie kisses one of these days. I will certainly be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene10 August 20, 2003

Great Classic Pepper Jelly Recipe. I grew Habaneros in my garden this year just to make this recipe. Used 5 of them. Be extra, extra, careful seeding and cutting out pulp. My nose kept running and I should not have used my handkerchief more than once. The Capsaicin, (chemical that makes pepper hot) got on my handkerchief. The inside of my nose became a 4 alarm fire. Ended up blowing bubbles in the sink to put it out. But the jelly was worth the pain. Even used the pepper pulp mixture for flavoring a roasting chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wildredbill November 09, 2015

I don't usually review things, but i thought i would post my cautionary tale for a laugh. So a friend gave me about 5 lbs of chilies of various heats from his garden and i decided i wanted to make a jam. I'm travelling for work, so i thought this could be a good project for my solitary evening in the hotel room. The hotel stovetop was not heating very well, so i covered the pot and walked away for a couple of minutes. I caught it just as the pot was boiling over, but was not in time to save the carmelized peppery boil over from burning. I opened all the windows as soon as i could, but was too late. The smoke alarm went off. The front desk called to tell me not to open the door or else the hallway alarms would go off. I listened, choking on fiery pepper seed smoke the whole time. I got a call five minutes later saying that the fire department will be at my room in a minute. Five firemen and a policeman couldn't stand the spice in the air! Needless to say, it was a spectacle - all the hotel alarms going off, me and the firemen gathered around a huge fan with 20 or so spectators in the hallways, most of whom were wearing earplugs from the screech of the alarms. Please watch your pot when you make this one! After all was said and done, nothing was burned and the jam turned out great! I made it just as the recipe says and can't wait to enjoy every bite! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura L. October 06, 2015

Great recipe. Tastes great. Altered the amount of hot pepper for our preference. The only thing I will change is adding food colouring. The natural colour is pretty. No need for the extra colour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda's Kitchen September 23, 2015

Great recipe. This recipe shows how to use pectin and sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
P.Q. Butterfat December 12, 2013

I cut the recipe in half and used one pouch of certo. I left the seeds in a couple of the jalapeno peppers to give some kick. I also pureed the peppers in my Nutri Bullet and I did not strain them. The jelly turned out a little on the thick side but other then that it was nice. Pretty too. I added a little green food coloring.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CainCandy October 02, 2013

Oh My! This is my first time making Pepper Jam. It was amazing. I used the same ratio as one other reviewer which was 1 Habanero, 5 Jalapeno(2 seeded) and 3 whole Serranos. The heat was right on. I used one entire pack of Certo as it is 6oz and a small amount of a second package(about 2 oz) for a total of 8oz. It was a little like jelly but a soft jelly. Perfect. Even my Pastry Chef daughter said she liked it. My husband of 30 years says that's the stuff that football games are made for....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fileyross_8671723 August 21, 2013

WOW, I had not made jam or jelly in 40 years, but this recipe has inspired me to make all kinds of jellies and jams. The recipe is perfect and the set is just right. I followed the direction of chopping the peppers in the blender with the vinegar, but did not bother with removing the tiny flecks of the pepper that remained. The sweet, hot pepper flavor is great on toast, and has elevated the PBJ experience to gourmet food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimpard August 09, 2013
Hot Pepper Jelly