Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Pepper Jelly Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Pepper Jelly

    Average Rating:

    74 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 74

    Sort by:

    • on June 17, 2003

      This is great stuff! i used 4 Habaneros, with the seeds and membrane taken out. it's the perfect balance of heat and sweet. i didn't strain it cause i like the bits of pepper in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2003

      This jelly is why she's known as "Jellyqueen"!!! It is DEE-LISH! I confess, I'm not very good at making jelly or canning anything and JQ was kind enough to make two jars of this for DD's wedding reception. One jar was a green pepper jelly and the other, as she stated above, a gorgeous purple color. It was a huge hit served with cream cheese and crackers...the guests couldn't get enough of it. Fortunately, a relative got some for me before it was all gone! If you love jellies and peppers, you've gotta try this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      I have the jars boiling in the canner right now, but I already know this jelly is fantastic! There was enough left over for one more jar, but I was out, so I put it into a bowl and tasted it. Soooo good! I doubled the recipe for Christmas baskets. I used one red bell pepper and one orange bell pepper, about 3 1/2 cups of vinegar (I ran out), 12 cups of sugar, and 3 packets of Certo. I used about 8 jalepeno peppers and 6 serrano. Probably about 1/2 of those peppers, I took the seeds and membranes out. I also added about a tablespoon of margarine to reduce foaming. I didn't sieve it, or use food coloring, it is so pretty as is! Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2003

      This is one that deserves more than 5 stars. Here's how I made it. I used about 5 habaneros, with the membranes and seeds making the rest of the 2/3 cup up with Thai chilis, yes it is hot. I also added 3 Tablespoons of chopped garlic. I did not strain because it was so pretty I left it alone. WONDERFUL HEAT, dumped some over a round of brie, WOW. I am going to try it with just one package of CERTO next time to see if I can get a "looser" jelly for my brie dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2003

      After having success at making Rita L's Habenaro Jelly, I thought I'd give the Jelly Queen's recipe a try ;) I used 7 Jalapeno Peppers and removing the seeds in all but 2 of them. I added 1 green pepper and added about 4 drops of green food coloring to give it a great color. I actually ended up using apple cider vinegar as I was out of white vinegar and it tasted delicious! I only used 1 pkg of certo and I was very happy with the consistancy. Thanks so much for taking away the need to buy Hot Pepper Jelly ever again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      I just made two batches. Each time I had some mild and some hotter peppers but I did increase the amount of total hot peppers to 3/4 cup and subtracted the amount from the total bell peppers. I added a half clove of minced garlic to each and to one batch I added about a tablespoon of freshly grated ginger. Both batches turned out great. I really like the ginger flavor as a change of pace.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      I can't believe I have never written a review of this wonderful recipe. I have used it over and over and get great results every time. I don't bother seeding the jalapeno peppers, just cut off the tops and throw then in the food processer. I also throw in cayane peppers (4-5). They give great color to the jelly. I don't strain it or use food coloring. It tastes great and is just hot enough. Everyone loves it. Thanks! I will never use any other recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      Made 2 batches today. First batch I chopped the peppers too fine, but it didn't effect the flavor. Second batch I left them a little chunkier. Certo comes in 3oz pkgs now, so I just used 2 of them as some people said it was too stiff with the whole 8 oz. Used a red bell pepper, 5 lg jalapenos (2 whole), 3 seranos (all whole) and got a nice, zingy jelly. Didn't strain or use food coloring, they are beautiful as they are. Each batch produced 6 half pints with enough left over for a small bowl of each to taste test. Thanks Jellyqueen for the recipe. I DID process in a water bath for 5 mins. to insure food safety.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2003

      This was my 1st experience making jelly and it was so much fun! I used 7 jalapenos and 1 green pepper but amazingly it Isn't spicy at all, and those peppers were hot! It just has a yummy, sweet pepper flavor without the heat. I think the next time I make it I'll leave the seeds in and maybe add a habanero or two to give it a little kick. Thanks Jellyqueen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2003

      Wow! This recipe was easy and delicious. It was my first attempt at pepper jelly too. I used 5 jalapenos and left the seeds and membrane of 2, and I didn't strain it. I found this was hot enough for a novice. I went with red food colouring so it turned out a nice rosy pink. This jelly even took first place at our local fair! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      This is one of the best and easiest pepper jeely recipes ever! I like it a little warmer and use Nakano flavored vinegar instead of white vinegar. I like my jelly quite warm and use one green pepper, six red serranos six jalapenos, two anaheims, six super chilis, five habanero paper lanterns and five of the yellow-orange habs you see in the supermarket. Although it takes a day or two to set, I prefer a single 6 oz package of Certo or the jelly turns to rubber. I love this on toast with eggs in the morning, guaranteed to wake you up!! Wayno

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Really great recipe! I've used this two years in a row and everyone loves it. We like it really spicy, so we use ring of fire chilli peppers instead of jalapenos and use 1 cup per batch. Doubles or quadruples nicely too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2003

      Great recipe. I left the seeds in some of my pepper so the jelly has a kick. It's great on a cracker with cream cheese and will be making the brie kisses one of these days. I will certainly be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2013

      Great recipe. This recipe shows how to use pectin and sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      I cut the recipe in half and used one pouch of certo. I left the seeds in a couple of the jalapeno peppers to give some kick. I also pureed the peppers in my Nutri Bullet and I did not strain them. The jelly turned out a little on the thick side but other then that it was nice. Pretty too. I added a little green food coloring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2013

      Oh My! This is my first time making Pepper Jam. It was amazing. I used the same ratio as one other reviewer which was 1 Habanero, 5 Jalapeno(2 seeded) and 3 whole Serranos. The heat was right on. I used one entire pack of Certo as it is 6oz and a small amount of a second package(about 2 oz) for a total of 8oz. It was a little like jelly but a soft jelly. Perfect. Even my Pastry Chef daughter said she liked it. My husband of 30 years says that's the stuff that football games are made for....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2013

      WOW, I had not made jam or jelly in 40 years, but this recipe has inspired me to make all kinds of jellies and jams. The recipe is perfect and the set is just right. I followed the direction of chopping the peppers in the blender with the vinegar, but did not bother with removing the tiny flecks of the pepper that remained. The sweet, hot pepper flavor is great on toast, and has elevated the PBJ experience to gourmet food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2013

      Outstanding!!! So glad that I chose this recipe....it is a real winner. Came out with a fair amount of heat as I used 4 jalapenos (2 with seeds) and 2 Thai peppers and 1 green pepper. I didn't add any food colouring nor did I strain this. I like the light green colour and a few added bits in the jelly. Also used only 1 package of the certo liquid as I like a looser jelly. I made 3 very large jars and can't wait to try this on roast beef or hamburger. YUM !! I will be making this again soon as I like to give away jars at Christmas. Thanks so much, Jellyqueen, for a real keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2012

      This is the first jelly I have made and it was great! I used Hungarian peppers only. I used about 21 peppers and left the seeds in about half of them. Very spicy. I only used one 3 oz pack of Ball liquid pectin and it was plenty! My batch did not make 6 half pints (only about 5) . I also did not strain mine. I let it boil for 5 minutes, put it in jars and processed for 5 minutes. Without food coloring it is a pretty blush color because the peppers were half red and half yellow green.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      LOVE it!!! Made this for the first time because my sister said I should make a %u201Cpepper jelly%u201D. Made a half batch with 3 Jalapenos 1 seeded & 1 seeded Habanero plus about ? cup raspberries. Did not strain it per the other reviews. The heat is good but will add another Habanero next batch. Thank you Jellyqueen ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Pepper Jelly

    Serving Size: 1 (1778 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 797.1
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    90%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 203.0 g
    67%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 201.1 g
    804%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    liquid Certo

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites