43 Reviews

Fabulous flavor - the perfect balance of sweet & hot/spicy - and the directions were perfect for a first-time canner/jelly-maker! I used a red bell pepper, the full 1/2 cup of garlic, & a mix of jalapenos, 1 poblano, 1 habanero. I left the seeds on 2 jalapenos & de-seeded the rest. Chopped thru the food processor quickly. I used 1 packet of Certo, & it gelled perfectly. I plan to add these to Christmas gifts this year :) Thanks, Riff!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newspapergal November 17, 2005

Deseeded the jalapenos otherwise this would be the mother of all fire stations. Makes for perfect hostess gifts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng June 27, 2011

Great recipe. Made it twice now. The 2nd time, I omitted the bell peppers and added more hot peppers instead. The hot peppers were minced in a "Magic Bullet". Made for a much spicier jelly. Great for basting chicken and as I found out last night, great with brie cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Capsaicin Guy February 07, 2010

Oh, my goodness! This is awesome! I've made jelly before but never hot pepper jelly. This is what I will make from now on. I used Hungarian peppers with a few sweet peppers, a bell pepper and several Jalapeno peppers. I ended up with 4 cups of grated peppers which made 25 jars of jelly (1/2 pints). The color is beautiful--golden with flakes of red and green, garlic and seeds suspended throughout the jelly. I brought some to work and took some to a family dinner last night--everyone went crazy over it. I serve it poured over cream cheese with Ritz crackers. One friend at work said, "This tastes just like my Bubba (grandmother) used to make." What better review than that!! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!! Now, if I can just get my jelly glasses returned!! Carol

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol Ryan September 17, 2007

Sounds wonderful and I plan to try it. But ALL canned product should be water bathed for food safety. Most are 10~15 minutes plus altitude adjustments. Call your county extension agent for more information pamphlets and workshops, please!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debybearn June 21, 2015

We love pepper jelly. Not only do we eat it as an appetizer, we also put it on ham steak while they are cooking. It makes such a nice glaze. Sweet heat. This is the first time I've put garlic in mine pepper jelly and we are excited to try it on the ham. thank youfor sharing withus.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 18, 2013

While this recipe is written in an old-fashioned way, it is perfectly safe if processed using modern processing methods. If you are unfamiliar with these techniques, please go to http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/how/can_home.html for the current information on safely processing jams, jellies, and other preserves, or visit the Canning forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zeldaz51 January 28, 2013

Just made this recipe last evening using Jalapeno peppers (the only hot peppers I could find in the rural setting in which I live) and orange/red/green sweet peppers. Also used about 1/3 cup of garlic....but, I'm sorry I did, as all we could tase was garlic....which was unfortunate. Even DH didn't like the pepper jelly, and subsequently we discarded the whole bunch. However, that being said, I think I should have tried the recipe without the garlic and then decided whether or not we would prefer to add the garlic - live and learn :-( However, one liquid Certo jelled everything beautifully and the peppers were scattered throughout the jelly - it was beautiful and would have made excellent hostess gifts. So......I'll try it without the garlic - I think it will be wonderful!
I'm not going to rate the recipe, as that would be unfair....this is reviewed, in case others might prefer to try the jelly without the garlic and then decide if they want that additional flavouring in their jelly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvadacook November 22, 2012

I love hot pepper jellies, but this is my first time making it from scratch. I used a variety of peppers from my garden, fresh garlic, and added a tsp of red food coloring. I also heated it in a hot water bath for 5 minutes. Beautiful jelly! I'll come back to rate it for taste later. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover August 13, 2012

Excellent pepper jelly. I loved the flavor that had pepper bits in it. I think next time I will follow Debfarm's suggestion to blend the vinegar and peppers. I do believe it would be dispersed more evenly. I got six pints plus a little left over. I did use one packet Certo and I thought it was perfect. Loved the extra I had leftover on cream cheese with crackers. I'm sure I will find many more uses for this great jelly.
This time I put 1/2 c. vinegar with the peppers, garlic (3/4 head) in food processor to blend added remainder of vinegar and sugar to pot to continue. I cut off the stems but used peppers, seeds and all. Was perfect. Used it last night for Bunco over cream cheese and crackers. Everyone loved it.
Going to make egg rolls tonight and serve with it. Love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound October 01, 2011
Hot Pepper Garlic Jelly