Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Pepper Garlic Jelly Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Pepper Garlic Jelly

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2005

      Fabulous flavor - the perfect balance of sweet & hot/spicy - and the directions were perfect for a first-time canner/jelly-maker! I used a red bell pepper, the full 1/2 cup of garlic, & a mix of jalapenos, 1 poblano, 1 habanero. I left the seeds on 2 jalapenos & de-seeded the rest. Chopped thru the food processor quickly. I used 1 packet of Certo, & it gelled perfectly. I plan to add these to Christmas gifts this year :) Thanks, Riff!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      Deseeded the jalapenos otherwise this would be the mother of all fire stations. Makes for perfect hostess gifts.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Great recipe. Made it twice now. The 2nd time, I omitted the bell peppers and added more hot peppers instead. The hot peppers were minced in a "Magic Bullet". Made for a much spicier jelly. Great for basting chicken and as I found out last night, great with brie cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      Oh, my goodness! This is awesome! I've made jelly before but never hot pepper jelly. This is what I will make from now on. I used Hungarian peppers with a few sweet peppers, a bell pepper and several Jalapeno peppers. I ended up with 4 cups of grated peppers which made 25 jars of jelly (1/2 pints). The color is beautiful--golden with flakes of red and green, garlic and seeds suspended throughout the jelly. I brought some to work and took some to a family dinner last night--everyone went crazy over it. I serve it poured over cream cheese with Ritz crackers. One friend at work said, "This tastes just like my Bubba (grandmother) used to make." What better review than that!! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!! Now, if I can just get my jelly glasses returned!! Carol

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      We love pepper jelly. Not only do we eat it as an appetizer, we also put it on ham steak while they are cooking. It makes such a nice glaze. Sweet heat. This is the first time I've put garlic in mine pepper jelly and we are excited to try it on the ham. thank youfor sharing withus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      While this recipe is written in an old-fashioned way, it is perfectly safe if processed using modern processing methods. If you are unfamiliar with these techniques, please go to http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/how/can_home.html for the current information on safely processing jams, jellies, and other preserves, or visit the Canning forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      Just made this recipe last evening using Jalapeno peppers (the only hot peppers I could find in the rural setting in which I live) and orange/red/green sweet peppers. Also used about 1/3 cup of garlic....but, I'm sorry I did, as all we could tase was garlic....which was unfortunate. Even DH didn't like the pepper jelly, and subsequently we discarded the whole bunch. However, that being said, I think I should have tried the recipe without the garlic and then decided whether or not we would prefer to add the garlic - live and learn :-( However, one liquid Certo jelled everything beautifully and the peppers were scattered throughout the jelly - it was beautiful and would have made excellent hostess gifts. So......I'll try it without the garlic - I think it will be wonderful!
      I'm not going to rate the recipe, as that would be unfair....this is reviewed, in case others might prefer to try the jelly without the garlic and then decide if they want that additional flavouring in their jelly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      I love hot pepper jellies, but this is my first time making it from scratch. I used a variety of peppers from my garden, fresh garlic, and added a tsp of red food coloring. I also heated it in a hot water bath for 5 minutes. Beautiful jelly! I'll come back to rate it for taste later. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      Excellent pepper jelly. I loved the flavor that had pepper bits in it. I think next time I will follow Debfarm's suggestion to blend the vinegar and peppers. I do believe it would be dispersed more evenly. I got six pints plus a little left over. I did use one packet Certo and I thought it was perfect. Loved the extra I had leftover on cream cheese with crackers. I'm sure I will find many more uses for this great jelly.
      9/11
      This time I put 1/2 c. vinegar with the peppers, garlic (3/4 head) in food processor to blend added remainder of vinegar and sugar to pot to continue. I cut off the stems but used peppers, seeds and all. Was perfect. Used it last night for Bunco over cream cheese and crackers. Everyone loved it.
      Going to make egg rolls tonight and serve with it. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      I made this today. I used 3 cherry bomb peppers, 2 yellow cayennes, 1 yellow scotch bonnet, and 1 peach habanero for the hot peppers. For the sweet pepper, I used an orange bell pepper. I used 1/2 cup of really good fresh garlic I bought at a farmer's market. I also added 1/2 ts jalapeno powder, and 1/4 ts of Vitamin C crystals to preserve the color. I used 1 envelope of the liquid pectin. It's setting up now, and it looks pretty. I haven't tasted it yet!

      Update: It didn't set up so I reprocessed it with another envelope of pectin. It's still liquidy. The flavor is good - like a hot sweet and sour sauce, but jam it is not.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      OMG! I bought something similar at the town fair and my son loved it - decided I could make it and probably better ... and BOY, did I ever!
      Thank you SOOO much!
      I made some, using habenaros only, red pepper and LOTS of garlic, to take up to my son and he and his 3 room mates just scarfed it down loaded up on Wheat Thins! I also used 1 1/2 of the liquid Certo
      So much flavor and a great kick - a real hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      This is so good. This was my first attempt to make Hot Pepper Jelly, I love it and use it often but always had to buy it at the farmers market. Every time I bought it I felt something was missing, it was warm sometimes hot, sweet but a bit bland. This was awesome!!!! I made tons of it this weekend and of course had to test it out. My husband doesn't eat hot so it was all mine!! I couldn't stop eating it. I love that you can add more peppers and make it as hot as you want, and garlic is the key to flavor. It is awesome. Thank you for the recipe, my sister will thank you also when she sees her birthday present, jars of hot jelly. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      Great recipe! I used a blend of red, green and yellow bell peppers with jalapenos. I used 2 packages of certo and wished I had only used one. I also canned mine in a hot water bath. I couldn't believe the flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Great recipe. I used a mix of jalapenos, hungarian hot wax peppers, and thai green and red peppers. It was easy to make and made 4 12 oz. jars and a little extra leftover (I just put this in a plastic freezer jam jar). The 12 oz. jars are still sitting (I made this yesterday) and seem to be having a difficult time setting up, but I tried the "extras" with some cream cheese and it is pretty amazing on some crusty bread. Great reviews. Will make again, maybe with 1.5 packets of Certo this time instead of 1.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      This stuff is AMAZING!!! I am eating some right now on a piece of honey wheat bread with some cream cheese. It has great flavor and mine isnt spicy at all. I used just jalapenos though and cut the recipe in half. I think next time I will experiment with some different peppers, I like some heat. Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      WOW loved this recipe. I used a mixture of the small red, yellow and orange sweet peppers and 3/4 C pre chopped garlic. Mine turned out pretty hot, used 3 big jalapenos, 8 or 9 habenaros, 5 green thai chili's. I was going for hot though, that's what we like. Used one envelope Certo and it was just right. Rotated the jars as it cooled to get peppers distributed evenly in jars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      Great stuff! Used poblano, jalepeno and a few small habanero and it not too hot. Used 1.5 pkg Certo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      This was my first attempt at pepper jelly. I used jalapenos from the garden without seeds and one packet of Certo. It turned out very pretty in the jar. Next time will use hotter peppers with seeds. I have made a list of recipes from this site to use up this batch so I can make more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      For Christmas this year I had to make 40+ jars of jam, and since you can't double a recipe, I made 7 different recipes. This was hands down EVERYONE's favorite. Everyone helping me in the kitchen wanted a jar (I only ended up with 2 to give away!) I used 3/4 c. poblano peppers (not so hot) and 1/4 c. Serrano peppers (VERY hot, use gloves, but beautiful colors.) I also used 3/4 c. of garlic. And I think 2 packets of the pectin was overboard- I wish I had only used 1.5- still it was pretty stinkin amazin! We've used it on sandwiches ever since. THANK you for this recipe. It was the cheapest to make of all 7 of my jelly recipes and the yummiest! By the way... My garlic dispersed beautifully, but all the peppers floated to the top- was that because I had too much pectin? Any solutions out there?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      This was my first ever attempt at making jelly and it turned out great. I used orange habeneros, green jalepenos and our farmer's market had purple bell's. The jelly is beautiful with all the different colors! It also tastes great. Next time I will use more garlic (I only used 1/4 cup the first time). It wasn't too spicy but had good pepper flavor. I've tried store bought pepper jelly without the garlic but I think it really makes this special. I've used it on chicken too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Pepper Garlic Jelly

    Serving Size: 1 (1911 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 773.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    74%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 23.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 197.0 g
    65%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 186.4 g
    745%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites