41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Just finished making a batch - made 8 full pints perfectly (5 pints & 6 1/2 pints). Used 4 cups of sugar & mixed end-of-garden peppers - red jalapeno, serrano, cayenne, red bananas & fish peppers picked today before our first frost.
Whooowee - tangy, sweet & spicy all at once! Beautiful too with the red flecks in the yellow base. Thank you so much for posting this delicious recipe. DF had come down with about 2 T of a mustard based sauce with flecks of green jalapeno init - similar taste & texture - I was stumped about the thickener until I found your recipe. She couldn't get the recipe from the fellow who was selling his wife's version. Was a little concerned about the flour but with all the sugar & vinegar (& 30 reviewers who all seemed to do well) I decided to go for it. Will be putting this in Christmas baskets for those who have been nice... mighty nice. Thanks for the keeper CrazyCyndi! ****update - on my third batch since initial review 12/12/09! Crack mustard for sure & very flexible - this batch has 1/2 purchased jalapenos & the rest of my fish, cayenne, giant marconi & a few small carefully deseeded/depithed red Congo Trinidads. The green jalapenos makes the mustard yellow a bit less bright but not unattractive - especially after it is tasted. Thanks again, CrazyCyndi!****

Addendum - I use the peppers & seeds - 4 cups finely chopped peppers. I also start with the sugar, salt, vinegar & peppers which I bring to a simmer for 5 minutes. Then I add the mustard & the water/flour premixed slurry with an additional 1/2 cup of water. Cook until thickened & then can in sterilized hot jars as direcred. This stuff is MARVELLOUS! I am making CASES of pints because of the begging (folks actually bring their jars back to be able to get more of this stuff LOL!)! Crack mustard is right!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend September 16, 2010

Can we say Yum? I used a combo of hot banana and about 10 jalapenos w/o seeds and also used 1 cup of honey in place of one cup of sugar. Turned out deelish. Now I'm going to make a half batch with all jalapenos and use the seeds too for hubby, he likes it hot.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rjjjwb September 06, 2010

Oh em Gee, this mustard is to die for!!! I'm always looking for spicy mustard recipes because my son in law is a mustard geek, and to be able to can it is just an added bonus. I have a garden full of hot peppers, so I'll definitely be making more. I think next time I won't boil the full 5 minutes because this batch came out a bit thick, almost jelly-like, but it didn't affect the flavor at all. Stirring it before serving seems to fix the problem. Thanks so much for this delicious recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dedemiami July 18, 2012

very good base recipe! you will put your own twist on this, but it will work out great as long as you stick to the basic recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rmclark12 October 08, 2011

Oh MY! What can I say about this wonderful recipie that hasn't already been said? I took other's advice and mixed my flour with water in the mustard jar and shook it up so there were no lumps. I also added a heaping spoonfull of finely diced garlic for a little extra kick. I am NOT a fan of hot foods (I'm Norweigan) but this is a keeper. It's a nice mixture of sweet and spicy. I did reduce the sugar to 4 cups and it was just right. I look forward to putting this on burgers and it was great as a dip for pretzels. Thanks for posting. I think I've found a new favorite and will be giving some of this for gifts.
Updated to say....this is the best recipe! I just made it again along with zucchini relish. I mix the two together with mayo for a fantastic tarter sauce!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan Marie August 27, 2011

This is a awesome recipe! I used half hot hungarian peppers and half jalapeno's with using a few seeds. Other than the peppers I use the recipe like showed. It was the Bomb,,,,everyone loves it! I will definitely use it again. I used the advise of Buster's friend,,,,and the process was a breeze! Be sure to try it,,,,you won't be disappointed!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bebopgrandma July 15, 2011

A co-worker gave me a recipe that was almost identical to this one. I halved the recipe and ended up with exactly 8 half pint jars. This stuff is amazing. I love the sweet, tangy, spicy flavors all melded together. I halved, seeded (all but two peppers) and cut the peppers into 1 inch sections and put them in my food processor along with one cup of the cider vinegar. I then put the processed peppers, remaining vinegar, mustard, salt and sugar in a large pot and let it boil for 5 minutes. I then made a flour/water slurry and poured it into the boiling pepper mixture. I let it cook for an additional 5 minutes before putting it into canning jars. I am making more tonight to give for Christmas gifts. This stuff is great on hotdogs, hamburgers, bologna sandwiches, and so much more. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 May 05, 2011

My Oh My! This is a keeper! I used every yellow pepper we had in the garden and some light green. I seeded them, then put them through the Vita Mix. I had to add some of the water for this to work. I followed the recipe exactly and it is sooooo good! I bottled 8 pints. I am making it again in 1/4 pint jars for Christmas presents! Thank you so much! I was so stressed about what to do with all the peppers in our garden. They went crazy this year!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hobbgal November 13, 2010

My Husband is going to make himself sick eating this Sweet-Hot Mustard!
I used 7 red habaneros and oh, 7 or 8 of the banana peppers. I did not de-seed as we like hot stuff! OMG is this mustard good! I know for a fact this first batch will not be near enough to get the Mr. through the winter-and if he takes a jar into work he is very much on his own-LOL.
This is one OUTSTANDING recipe-5 stars simply is not enough!
Thank you for posting (I think)
Di ;-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's October 22, 2010

love this recipe! after making a batch and comparing other recipes I ended up using 1 quart of chopped (in a food processer) peppers. Used a variety of heat in the peppers, tried to balance the really hot with a couple of bells...each batch I've made turns out great. I prefer a pressure cooker to a water bath, so my process time was 10 minutes at 10 pounds. Thanks so much for sharing this (my friends that I've shared cans of mustard with thank you too!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susieavance December 17, 2009
Hot Pepper Butter (Mustard) for Canning