Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Pepper Butter (Mustard) for Canning Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Pepper Butter (Mustard) for Canning

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on September 16, 2010

      Just finished making a batch - made 8 full pints perfectly (5 pints & 6 1/2 pints). Used 4 cups of sugar & mixed end-of-garden peppers - red jalapeno, serrano, cayenne, red bananas & fish peppers picked today before our first frost.
      Whooowee - tangy, sweet & spicy all at once! Beautiful too with the red flecks in the yellow base. Thank you so much for posting this delicious recipe. DF had come down with about 2 T of a mustard based sauce with flecks of green jalapeno init - similar taste & texture - I was stumped about the thickener until I found your recipe. She couldn't get the recipe from the fellow who was selling his wife's version. Was a little concerned about the flour but with all the sugar & vinegar (& 30 reviewers who all seemed to do well) I decided to go for it. Will be putting this in Christmas baskets for those who have been nice... mighty nice. Thanks for the keeper CrazyCyndi! ****update - on my third batch since initial review 12/12/09! Crack mustard for sure & very flexible - this batch has 1/2 purchased jalapenos & the rest of my fish, cayenne, giant marconi & a few small carefully deseeded/depithed red Congo Trinidads. The green jalapenos makes the mustard yellow a bit less bright but not unattractive - especially after it is tasted. Thanks again, CrazyCyndi!****

      Addendum - I use the peppers & seeds - 4 cups finely chopped peppers. I also start with the sugar, salt, vinegar & peppers which I bring to a simmer for 5 minutes. Then I add the mustard & the water/flour premixed slurry with an additional 1/2 cup of water. Cook until thickened & then can in sterilized hot jars as direcred. This stuff is MARVELLOUS! I am making CASES of pints because of the begging (folks actually bring their jars back to be able to get more of this stuff LOL!)! Crack mustard is right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      Can we say Yum? I used a combo of hot banana and about 10 jalapenos w/o seeds and also used 1 cup of honey in place of one cup of sugar. Turned out deelish. Now I'm going to make a half batch with all jalapenos and use the seeds too for hubby, he likes it hot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      Oh em Gee, this mustard is to die for!!! I'm always looking for spicy mustard recipes because my son in law is a mustard geek, and to be able to can it is just an added bonus. I have a garden full of hot peppers, so I'll definitely be making more. I think next time I won't boil the full 5 minutes because this batch came out a bit thick, almost jelly-like, but it didn't affect the flavor at all. Stirring it before serving seems to fix the problem. Thanks so much for this delicious recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      very good base recipe! you will put your own twist on this, but it will work out great as long as you stick to the basic recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      Oh MY! What can I say about this wonderful recipie that hasn't already been said? I took other's advice and mixed my flour with water in the mustard jar and shook it up so there were no lumps. I also added a heaping spoonfull of finely diced garlic for a little extra kick. I am NOT a fan of hot foods (I'm Norweigan) but this is a keeper. It's a nice mixture of sweet and spicy. I did reduce the sugar to 4 cups and it was just right. I look forward to putting this on burgers and it was great as a dip for pretzels. Thanks for posting. I think I've found a new favorite and will be giving some of this for gifts.
      Updated to say....this is the best recipe! I just made it again along with zucchini relish. I mix the two together with mayo for a fantastic tarter sauce!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2011

      This is a awesome recipe! I used half hot hungarian peppers and half jalapeno's with using a few seeds. Other than the peppers I use the recipe like showed. It was the Bomb,,,,everyone loves it! I will definitely use it again. I used the advise of Buster's friend,,,,and the process was a breeze! Be sure to try it,,,,you won't be disappointed!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      A co-worker gave me a recipe that was almost identical to this one. I halved the recipe and ended up with exactly 8 half pint jars. This stuff is amazing. I love the sweet, tangy, spicy flavors all melded together. I halved, seeded (all but two peppers) and cut the peppers into 1 inch sections and put them in my food processor along with one cup of the cider vinegar. I then put the processed peppers, remaining vinegar, mustard, salt and sugar in a large pot and let it boil for 5 minutes. I then made a flour/water slurry and poured it into the boiling pepper mixture. I let it cook for an additional 5 minutes before putting it into canning jars. I am making more tonight to give for Christmas gifts. This stuff is great on hotdogs, hamburgers, bologna sandwiches, and so much more. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2010

      My Oh My! This is a keeper! I used every yellow pepper we had in the garden and some light green. I seeded them, then put them through the Vita Mix. I had to add some of the water for this to work. I followed the recipe exactly and it is sooooo good! I bottled 8 pints. I am making it again in 1/4 pint jars for Christmas presents! Thank you so much! I was so stressed about what to do with all the peppers in our garden. They went crazy this year!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2010

      My Husband is going to make himself sick eating this Sweet-Hot Mustard!
      I used 7 red habaneros and oh, 7 or 8 of the banana peppers. I did not de-seed as we like hot stuff! OMG is this mustard good! I know for a fact this first batch will not be near enough to get the Mr. through the winter-and if he takes a jar into work he is very much on his own-LOL.
      This is one OUTSTANDING recipe-5 stars simply is not enough!
      Thank you for posting (I think)
      Di ;-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      love this recipe! after making a batch and comparing other recipes I ended up using 1 quart of chopped (in a food processer) peppers. Used a variety of heat in the peppers, tried to balance the really hot with a couple of bells...each batch I've made turns out great. I prefer a pressure cooker to a water bath, so my process time was 10 minutes at 10 pounds. Thanks so much for sharing this (my friends that I've shared cans of mustard with thank you too!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      One of my favorite recipes. I only use 5 cups of sugar. I also prefer spicy brown mustard in this recipe. Can be made with white sugar or brown sugar. The brown sugar will darken the final product and it will taste similar to a holiday ham glaze. I make both varieties. You can also add hot sauce for and extra kick. I strongly recommend mixing the flour & water in a bottle first (as others have stated). This produces a smoother texture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      Easy, tasty recipe. Jars of this are going in my Christmas gift baskets. I used a mix of three peppers that were ripe in my garden the day I made this: bananna, salsa and green bell. I included the seeds of several of the salsa peppers to be sure it had some heat. It's a little hotter once it sets up. Sweet, tangy mustard followed by a tiny pepper burn. This thickened up nicely with the flour quantity listed in the recipe. This will be a summer tradition. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      We canned this mustard a couple weeks ago and thought the process for making it was straightforward. We got extremely large banana peppers from the farmers market, so only used like 25 of them. I was worried while making it because it was extremely liquidy (not thick at all) so I added a few large tablespoons of flour (mixed with a tiny bit of water) at the end. I finally opened and tried one of the jars today and it's pretty good. The consistency turned out fine as well. It has kind of an initial sweet mustard taste followed by a kick of pepper at the end. Tasty. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      I have made this same recipe so I can tell others that the heat of the peppers varey from year to year, sometimes even plant to plant! I usually touch the cut pepper to my tounge to see just how hot it is then if it isn't hot enough I use other hot peppers along with the banana peppers. This year I used aniham and banana to get the heat. Great on burgers, chicken, pretzels or pork and turkey.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      This is basically the same recipe that my mother gave me 30 years ago. I've been making it almost every year since then. My husband loves it, and has been quite generous with giving it to his friends, until he finally helped me make it this summer, and found out that it does take some work. When I next harvested hot peppers, he and three of his buddies got together and made their own, while I supervised. I never knew how easy it could be!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      Doubled this recipe and used red and green jalapenos. Got it in the canner right now. Tried some hot,right out of the kettle and boy is it good!! Dh will be so excited. He has been wanting me to find a recipe for hot pepper mustard ever since he bought a jar from a church group.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      We made this using 11 sweet banana peppers, 11 hot hungarian wax peppers, and 25 jalapenos. We also only used 5 cups of sugar. The recipe made just a bit more than 8 pints, and my husband reports that it has "plenty of bite, but not too hot". Our pepper plants are still producing, so I think we'll be making more of this! Great recipe, and easy to do.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      We jokingly call this mustard "crack" in our house as it is so wonderfuly addictive. We've had it on sandwiches, brats, homemade pretzels and just dipped leftover turkey in it. Wear gloves and don't touch your face.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      This recipe is crazy good! Everyone that tries it asks me for the recipe! I add a few more peppers and be sure to shake the water and flour together before adding to the mix to avoid lumps.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      CrazyCyndi, thanks so much for sharing this recipe with us. I took one look at it and it brought many ideas my mind. Because of you I know have a very special Pepper Mustard that I can use as a spread or add cream to it and use it it as a sauce over chicken, pork or veal--or accompany a Lentil Loaf that I make. I think it is wonderful when a recipe can open a window of creativity. My final recipe is different than yours and has onions, red peppers, habanero peppers, orange juice, apricot nectar and scented with coriander and garam masala. I will post the recipe soon and I will give you all the praise you deserve for giving me ideas

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Pepper Butter (Mustard) for Canning

    Serving Size: 1 (6370 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 851.2
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    83%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1756.8 mg
    73%
    Total Carbohydrate 190.6 g
    63%
    Dietary Fiber 16.1 g
    64%
    Sugars 157.8 g
    631%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes