Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Oil Hair Treatment Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Oil Hair Treatment

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2004

      My hair felt very silky, but it had a real greasy look to it and I washed it twice. I have very fine hair so perhaps if you have thick hair it will work better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      I left out the essential oil and halved the recipe for my medium-length hair -- still had an awful lot! I have fine, oily hair that nevertheless has dry and frizzy ends. I shampooed twice to get the honey out, then had to seriously condition because the excessive shampooing made my hair feel like straw. So, my hair is soft and sorta shiny, but I feel like I owe that more to the conditioner. :/ I'd try this again without the honey, and use another oil like Jojoba or vitamin E.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      I came back from our summer beach holidays with my hair feeling like straw. This was the perfect antidote to soften and nourish my brittle, fine hair. The amount given was a lot and I only used half with quite a few drops of eucalyptus essential oil as I like the smell. I wrapped my hair in a towel and sat in the sun for 20 minutes. I only needed to shampoo twice to clean my hair. I happily recommend it to anyone who wants some pampering in the comfort of their own home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      this recipe has been a life saver for me and i cant thank u much for this i didn use any essential oils but the result was great. Hair felt kinda stiff with the oil n honey mixture but it definitely has improved the texture of my hair smoothing the split ends n taming the frizziness which by all means is a mystery to me bcoz even the best of anti frizz serums cudn do it that well but sumhow i used the recipe as it is twice, i didn use a zip lock just warmed the oil in microwave for afew seconds and added the honey in hot oil until mixed well i then added abt 1/4 cup of yogurt to this n it did even better to the texture of my hair.it was easy to apply n all hair strands seemed to be soaked in the mix it even helped starighten my hair with just minimal blow drying MY hair feels lovely ,soft ,shiny and very well behaved ... :D Thank you so much !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      This was a very nice treat...the original Vo5 is pricey! i have shoulder length hair and i cut the recipe in half and it worked great.i didnt use any scent as i had none. The honey scent was good anyway. I will definetly use again! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      This is a really good recipe, The 4 stars is just because my hair is naturally shinny so it didn't do much. It is really soft and shiny though. I do have lots of hair but I cut the recipe in half anywase and still had some left over. Great stuff though, deffinatly try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      I have used this before...but since I have short hair, I do cut the recipe in half. In the winter time, my scalp gets really dry, so this works really well for me. I would highly recommend this treatment

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2004

      This is an excellent homemade beauty recipe. I didn't add any essential oils- but I thought that the honey made this smell great anyway. I think that next time I will make a half recipe and apply it mostly to the ends of my hair and try and avoid near the scalp. The ends of my hair turned out great- soft, shiney and silky (and I have very dry hair that is a little damaged from not being cut in a while), but the scalp is still a bit oily-looking. It feels nice, but looks a little off. I found that this made more than enough and I have fairly thick mid-back length hair, which, again is very dry, so it sucks up any moisture like a sponge. Next time I will cover my head in a shower cap (or swim cap!) and wrap it in a hot towel, so the heat is more direct and I don't have to spend 20 minutes in the shower, using up the hot water before I even wash my hair. Anyhow, great recipe- will do it again next week, focusing more on the ends. Maybe I'll try the essential oils soon too. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2004

      after using this recipe my hair felt so much softer,shinier and less frizzier. I did have to wash my hair twice but it was worth it. I will definitely keep using it. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2004

      My hair is very soft! I only used about a tablespoon since my hair is fine, but added turbinado sugar to the rest of the oil mixture and used it on my skin. Works great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2004

      i used it on my children\'s hair and the result is fantastic. i also steamed their hair for 20 mins with the honey/olive mix still on their hair and the result is even better. thanks, matt

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2004

      The first time i did this treatment i actually used olive oil, water and a bit of lemon juice and then left it on my hair for about 15 minutes. I then washed my hair with this totally AWESOME new shampoo and conditioner from The Body Shop, it is called "honey"(and obviously made with it too). My hair was soo silky soft and shiny. It was great, i definitely recommend this treatment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2004

      I sat with my hair covered with honey and olive oil, thinking of whether or not to use vinegar as part of the rinse when suddenly I felt like a salad. Heehee. Well, my hair felt softer and silkier after the treatment. Did have to shampoo three times. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2004

      After coming to the US, I accidentally once bought 4 tubes of VO5 from Walgreens and Eckerd, and used them. They were wonderful but very expensive to use on a regular basis{once a week}. I was so glad to find this recipe because it is cheaper! I did not have olive oil on hand, so I used Pure Wesson Canola Oil as a substitute and it worked well. I used lavender oil as my essential oil for this treatment. I had to shampoo my hair twice to get the oil all out{using a Garnier Fructis Shampoo plus conditioner - 2 in 1}. It made my hair feel soft, silky and shiny and really beautiful! One very important thing I'd like to mention is that I could not wait for 20 minutes patiently after applying this to my hair and washed it out in exactly 10 minutes after application. Still it's fine:)Thank you very much for posting! I'll be using this regularly now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2004

      Goodbye salon hot oil treatments and VO5! Thanks so much for this recipe. Wow!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2004

      This is very good, I didn't use an essential oil but it worked well .. I had to wash my hair three times but it was softer and shinier afterwards. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2004

      This worked VERY well! I did this a while back and totally forgot to review it. I used just a bit more as I felt I didnt have enough for my head of hair hehe. I washed my hair thoroughly two times and this was enough to get it cleaned out. My hair felt wonderful! Silky, sleek, shiny and soft! Thanks so much for this recipe! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2004

      A great way to give your hair a beauty treatment with ingredients to be found in most homes. I had to shampoo 3 times instead of the usual 2 (the first time, I couldn't even work up a lather), but my hair was definitely clean of the oil the 3rd time round - just keep that in mind. My just-past-shoulder-length hair was very soft and manageable and it smelled great (I used lavendar essential oil). Nice to know I needn't rely on expensive store-bought masks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2004

      This worked so good! My hair is so soft and shiny after doing this treatment last night. I have to admit that I didn't use any essential oils, just the honey and olive oil, but it worked great like that! Next time, I will probably double the batch because I have pretty long thick hair and it didn't seem to go quite far enough to cover it all. Thanks for a great recipe, Claire!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Oil Hair Treatment

    Serving Size: 1 (96 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 605.0
     
    Calories from Fat 486
    80%
    Total Fat 54.0 g
    83%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.6 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 34.4 g
    137%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    essential oils

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes