Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Milk Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Milk Cake

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on April 19, 2007

      I halved the recipe to make a dozen cupcakes for Easter (which was plenty of batter - actually filled one small heart pan too) and these were great! very easy due to the mixing method and the cupcakes had a great texture - I had the one that was left over from Easter dinner, on Tuesday evening and it was still perfectly moist and yummy. Next time I will reduce the sugar just a little; I did keep the vanilla the same and enjoyed the flavor. I will definitely make this again, and I think the thin batter will work well in really detailed pans so I am looking forward to trying that. Edit: I've just realised I read teaspoons of butter as Tablespoons! I'll have to try the real version now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2003

      A very simple recipe, and a great tasting cake. I made one variation to the recipe in that I added about a half cup of shredded coconut to the mix and so I had a cocunut milk cake which was very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2003

      Made this cake today, loved it. Texture was wonderful. Will cut down the sugar though next time. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2003

      Made this many times using 10 TABLESPOONS butter ...NOT teaspoons. Can also vary flavor by adding 1/2 tsp. lemon extract. Since it soon will be strawberry season, consider using this cake with your berries and whipped topping. You will love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2002

      This tastes and looks like its come straight from the best bakery in town! It is SO GOOD!! Such a simple & easy cake and so wonderful. I substituted the butter with 10 tsps. of margarine(melted). This is WONDERFUL...Thank U SO MUCH for this FANTASTIC recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      I thought this cake was pretty good and very easy to make. However, it lacked something. I think it needs either some cinnamon, or coconut added to the recipe, or should be served with honey on top. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2006

      This was really great.I also added 3tbs of sweetened coconut.Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2005

      I made this and sent it to work with DH. They seemed to enjoy it. I also made homemade carmel sauce to put on top of it. Then heated the cake a little. It was good. I think next time I will put something to spice it up a little bit, like butterscotch chips or coconut in the batter. I think it would also taste great with fruit and whipped cream on it. or ice cream

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      3/21 - I made this cake last Friday in a crunch because I just found out it was a friend's birthday and I didn't have any fancy ingredients on hand. It took so little time to put together and turned out spongy and delicious. My trouble was that the cake didn't slide out easily and the bottom part ended up sticking to the pan. I greased the pan well and baked at 350F for 35 minutes. Next time I will try lining the pan with wax paper and the addition of coconut flakes like two of the reviewers suggested. I also forgot to take a picture this time, will post one the next time I make this. Thanks for a wonderful recipe, MizzNezz! UPDATE 3/28 - I made this cake again today in mini bundt pans. I cut the recipe to 1/4th, added 3 tbsp sweetened coconut flakes, some toasted pecan pieces, and reduced the sugar to 3/4th of the amount called for (3/8 cup). This time I greased and floured the pans to prevent the cake from sticking. Baked it at 330F for 30 minutes and it turned out great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2005

      This was really good, especially warm out of the oven! Next time I make it, and there will be a next time, I might try Candace28's coconut additon. Or, as my Mom suggested after trying it, topping it with a broiled coconut-nut frosting like that used for oatmeal cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2005

      Thanks, MizzNezz, This is a recipe I had years ago from my MIL and I'd lost my notebook. Too embarassed to ask for it again. It's a great recipe. So easy and simple and just right.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2005

      Great cake. Easy to make. Lovely texture. Not as heavy as a pound cake and not very light. Kid pleaser! Thanks MizzNezz

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2002

      No rating yet but I can't wait to try it! My mother used to make a cake like this in the 40's and I am hoping this is the same.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      I made this with coconut milk instead of regular, hoping for a coconut-y cake. Sadly, it didn't turn out very coconut flavored, but it's still delicious. And the texture is just gorgeous! It's a wee bit on the sweet side, though, so next time I'm going to try reducing the sugar a bit. Or making a berry sauce to go on top to cut the sweet a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2012

      This is a moist, firm textured cake that is delicious. My Aulnt used to make it before there was any cake mix from the store. I am so glad that I found the recipe. It is going to be my standard from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2003

    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Milk Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 408.8
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    32%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 109.2 mg
    36%
    Sodium 227.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.3 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 40.1 g
    160%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes