Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Mexican Rub Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Mexican Rub

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 09, 2010

      Update: My friend has liked this a lot and uses it frequently. 5 stars all the way! :)
      I cannot put stars on this recipe yet, since I have made it as a gift for a friend, so that I cant rate its taste yet. It sounds like a really nice combinations of flavours, though and smells heavenly! I cant wait to hear how my friend likes the combination of sweet and spicy. I will update and put stars on the recipe then also. Thanks for sharing this lovely recipe with us, tigerduck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      What a great rub!! Like everybody has already said,it has great flavour and the contrast between heat and sweet is wonderful.We have only used it on chicken so far,but looking forward to testing it on other meats too.We loved it,thanks Tigerduck. Made for Comfort Cafe Jan '09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      This is going in the gift baskets again this year. It has a great flavor and the cocoa and muscovado sugar add just the right amount of "mystery" flavor to the seasoning. Everyone I gave this to last year loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      Delicious! I was very generous with the chili flakes so it was spicy, which I love. I used this on grilled chicken and it was a great combo of heat and sweet. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      A great rub indeed! Used on chicken breasts and enjoyed thoroughly! Love the fact that there is enough salt there too to provide a base for all the spices. I added 3 pinches of red pepper flakes and ended up with just the right amount of heat. Yumm. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2006

      A nice combination of spicy sweet. Used light brown sugar instead of muscovado. Used on venison tenderloin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2005

      Made for gifts. Smells amazing! The cocoa is just the right touch to make it authentic Mex! Great recipe! Cant wait to try it on ribs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2005

      hot is right! my mouth was burning, but underneath the pain the flavours were delectable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2005

      This rub offers a delightful combination of savory and sweet. I used more than a pinch of pepper so there was a nice bit of heat as well. Rather than mixing the seasonings together, I blended mine in a spice grinder - adding whole peppercorns and rock salt. Reduced the salt to 1/2 teaspoon as we try and keep the sodium intake low. My other substitution was turbinado sugar instead of muscovado (think they are similar in flavor). The result was a generous amount of rub that filled a small spice jar. Tonight we used it on corn on the cob - in lieu of the traditional chili powder as well as seasoning on grilled chicken breasts. Both were delicious. Thanks tigerduck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Mexican Rub

    Serving Size: 1 (10 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 22.6
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    24%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1166.7 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes