9 Reviews

Update: My friend has liked this a lot and uses it frequently. 5 stars all the way! :)
I cannot put stars on this recipe yet, since I have made it as a gift for a friend, so that I cant rate its taste yet. It sounds like a really nice combinations of flavours, though and smells heavenly! I cant wait to hear how my friend likes the combination of sweet and spicy. I will update and put stars on the recipe then also. Thanks for sharing this lovely recipe with us, tigerduck!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula December 09, 2010

What a great rub!! Like everybody has already said,it has great flavour and the contrast between heat and sweet is wonderful.We have only used it on chicken so far,but looking forward to testing it on other meats too.We loved it,thanks Tigerduck. Made for Comfort Cafe Jan '09.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo January 16, 2009

This is going in the gift baskets again this year. It has a great flavor and the cocoa and muscovado sugar add just the right amount of "mystery" flavor to the seasoning. Everyone I gave this to last year loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThreeGoodCooks December 23, 2008

Delicious! I was very generous with the chili flakes so it was spicy, which I love. I used this on grilled chicken and it was a great combo of heat and sweet. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakerBeth May 21, 2007

A great rub indeed! Used on chicken breasts and enjoyed thoroughly! Love the fact that there is enough salt there too to provide a base for all the spices. I added 3 pinches of red pepper flakes and ended up with just the right amount of heat. Yumm. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee June 27, 2006

A nice combination of spicy sweet. Used light brown sugar instead of muscovado. Used on venison tenderloin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelBel April 22, 2006

Made for gifts. Smells amazing! The cocoa is just the right touch to make it authentic Mex! Great recipe! Cant wait to try it on ribs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) December 27, 2005

hot is right! my mouth was burning, but underneath the pain the flavours were delectable!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melting pot October 14, 2005

This rub offers a delightful combination of savory and sweet. I used more than a pinch of pepper so there was a nice bit of heat as well. Rather than mixing the seasonings together, I blended mine in a spice grinder - adding whole peppercorns and rock salt. Reduced the salt to 1/2 teaspoon as we try and keep the sodium intake low. My other substitution was turbinado sugar instead of muscovado (think they are similar in flavor). The result was a generous amount of rub that filled a small spice jar. Tonight we used it on corn on the cob - in lieu of the traditional chili powder as well as seasoning on grilled chicken breasts. Both were delicious. Thanks tigerduck!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni August 14, 2005
Hot Mexican Rub