Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Kimchi Pickle - Quick Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Kimchi Pickle - Quick

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2007

      Phenomenal flavor and simplicity. I haven't read all of the reviews and perhaps someone else mentioned this. I recommend making this right before you plan to eat it. I made a double batch and had a little left over. When I tried it this afternoon, it had gotten quite soggy and lost that excellent crispiness it had last night. This is an exquisite recipe and I'm so glad I found it! Thanks so much, Derf. YUM! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      I liked this quick and easy Kimchi.I also used fresh zucchini when I ran out of cucumber.GOOD.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2004

      These are delicious! Since discovering this little gem of a recipe, I have had to make them every day for DH (who, ahem, does not like Kimchi Pickle!) Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2003

      You said it Derf - so easy and ever so good. Be sure to let the cucumber sit in the salt for the full 15 minutes before draining - it is amazing how much fluid comes out.. The sesame oil gives a rich strong flavor along with the peppy chili, cayenne and garlic. I made them in the AM using an English cuke with the peel left on. By dinner time the flavor was already right into the cucumber and they were so crisp. I tried a slice this morning still very tasty but not quite as crisp. I think these would be excellent on a hamburger. I served them to a friend as a side dish with broiled tofu, steamed cauliflower, carrots mashed with turnip and a boiled potatoe. I had them along side Mexican Penne - No complaints from either party Thanks Derf another winner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      I've been desperate to duplicate a spicy cucumber side dish served at my favorite hibachi grill/Korean restaurant. This was it! I am so pleased... this is soooooooo good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      This was delicious! a little on the sweet side for my liking so I think next time I will put a little less sugar - also I used hot red pepper sauce (Rooster brand) to give it the heat instead of the flakes and pepper

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2009

      DD and I loved these little gems. DH(who can't get away from the same vinegar and water recipe) didn't care for them so much. Too bad , his loss. More for DD and I.....yummmy. I had our first cucumbers from our garden and chose this recipe to try. I am really glad I did, as I said we loved it. I will just make sure I make while DH is out of town. I love the garlic and sesame in this. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      Loved this! I enjoy trying varieties of cucumber salads and this one will be on my keeper list for sure! The flavors are so sensational.... sweet, spicy, tangy, and nutty from the sesame oil. I doubled the sugar (but used splenda). This would be a terrific item for a summer BBQ or a potluck. Something different, but should still appeal to many. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      Yes -- as the stars say: LOVED it! I hate to confess (but it will make me feel better) that I changed the recipe a little after reading a few reviews ... I so hate it when people do this sort of thing ... . I added a tiny bit of finely chopped fresh ginger, omitted the cayenne but used 1 full teaspoon hot pepper flakes. And I added 1 tablespoon sugar to balance out the vinegar -- because my DH is not fond of anything too sour. What we got was a VERY pleasant sweet-sour, slightly burning taste. I also added a full tablespoon of sesame oil because I love it. The flavour of the cucumber (the long English one) was not obscured but enhanced. Such a simple recipe, and sooo good!!! ON 27 FEB 2009: Made it again and upped the stars to 5! Also added photos! Thanks, this was printed and in my recipe file in the kitchen. Cukes are cheap and plentiful now, and such recipes are welcome!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2004

      Delish!!!!Tastes just like the wonderful Korean restaurants!!! A definite keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2004

    • on February 21, 2004

      These were fabulous!!I am not a cucumber eater but made them for DD who is. Well, she was lucky to get one slice! Great taste! I am now a Cuke convert! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2003

      That's really delicious. I've placed the stuff into jar and chilled for 24 h. Especially good remedy to fight a hangover :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2014

      Perfect amount of spice and tang, and literally takes less than 5 minutes to put together. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2013

      Love this recipe, it's a keeper! Wish I'd found it at the beginning of cucumber season instead of at the end:( I think it would be great with thinly sliced onions in it as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      Adding some finely diced green onion (both white and some green parts) enhances the flavor, and to have a traditional Korean meal, serve them with Korean Hamburgers on this site, and rice.

      Thank you for sharing this delightful and easy Kimchi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2012

    • on January 08, 2012

      Delicious salty, crunchy snack! I used half rice vinegar and half regular white vinegar. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

    • on August 12, 2009

      Yum!..it was so quick to make..and I love kimchi...my hubby just got back from Korea and he really liked it too. EDIT: used rice vinager and omitted the sugar..HEAVEN!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Kimchi Pickle - Quick

    Serving Size: 1 (83 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 28.8
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    38%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 292.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites