60 Reviews

I liked this quick and easy Kimchi.I also used fresh zucchini when I ran out of cucumber.GOOD.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Plainbil October 09, 2006

Yes -- as the stars say: LOVED it! I hate to confess (but it will make me feel better) that I changed the recipe a little after reading a few reviews ... I so hate it when people do this sort of thing ... . I added a tiny bit of finely chopped fresh ginger, omitted the cayenne but used 1 full teaspoon hot pepper flakes. And I added 1 tablespoon sugar to balance out the vinegar -- because my DH is not fond of anything too sour. What we got was a VERY pleasant sweet-sour, slightly burning taste. I also added a full tablespoon of sesame oil because I love it. The flavour of the cucumber (the long English one) was not obscured but enhanced. Such a simple recipe, and sooo good!!! ON 27 FEB 2009: Made it again and upped the stars to 5! Also added photos! Thanks, this was printed and in my recipe file in the kitchen. Cukes are cheap and plentiful now, and such recipes are welcome!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zurie February 27, 2009

Phenomenal flavor and simplicity. I haven't read all of the reviews and perhaps someone else mentioned this. I recommend making this right before you plan to eat it. I made a double batch and had a little left over. When I tried it this afternoon, it had gotten quite soggy and lost that excellent crispiness it had last night. This is an exquisite recipe and I'm so glad I found it! Thanks so much, Derf. YUM! :D

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PookeyLumLum October 08, 2007

These are delicious! Since discovering this little gem of a recipe, I have had to make them every day for DH (who, ahem, does not like Kimchi Pickle!) Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bokenpop aka Madeleine April 10, 2004

You said it Derf - so easy and ever so good. Be sure to let the cucumber sit in the salt for the full 15 minutes before draining - it is amazing how much fluid comes out.. The sesame oil gives a rich strong flavor along with the peppy chili, cayenne and garlic. I made them in the AM using an English cuke with the peel left on. By dinner time the flavor was already right into the cucumber and they were so crisp. I tried a slice this morning still very tasty but not quite as crisp. I think these would be excellent on a hamburger. I served them to a friend as a side dish with broiled tofu, steamed cauliflower, carrots mashed with turnip and a boiled potatoe. I had them along side Mexican Penne - No complaints from either party Thanks Derf another winner

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy October 23, 2003

I've been desperate to duplicate a spicy cucumber side dish served at my favorite hibachi grill/Korean restaurant. This was it! I am so pleased... this is soooooooo good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CheCheCherie May 04, 2010

This was delicious! a little on the sweet side for my liking so I think next time I will put a little less sugar - also I used hot red pepper sauce (Rooster brand) to give it the heat instead of the flakes and pepper

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lady Foodologist September 05, 2009

DD and I loved these little gems. DH(who can't get away from the same vinegar and water recipe) didn't care for them so much. Too bad , his loss. More for DD and I.....yummmy. I had our first cucumbers from our garden and chose this recipe to try. I am really glad I did, as I said we loved it. I will just make sure I make while DH is out of town. I love the garlic and sesame in this. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour July 17, 2009

Loved this! I enjoy trying varieties of cucumber salads and this one will be on my keeper list for sure! The flavors are so sensational.... sweet, spicy, tangy, and nutty from the sesame oil. I doubled the sugar (but used splenda). This would be a terrific item for a summer BBQ or a potluck. Something different, but should still appeal to many. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D March 29, 2009

Delish!!!!Tastes just like the wonderful Korean restaurants!!! A definite keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears March 06, 2004
Hot Kimchi Pickle - Quick