24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is wonderful! This recipe made 6-8oz jelly jars, I made 2 batches so I would have some to give as gifts. Beautiful color!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie8 August 05, 2002

Fabulous!! I have made this twice this week with fresh jalapenos from the garden. It was so good the first time that I decided to make more as gifts. I used 2 packages of pectin the second time and found that it set too fast to even get in the jars. This recipe is a keeper but I will be making it with the amount of pectin called for and a few extra jalapenos.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ebkelley3 September 07, 2011

This is great everyone loves it!!! I'm making two more batches..I did use two packets of the liquid fruit pectin, after reading the reviews, and also used 1-1/2 cups of jalapenos and left the seeds in 10 of them, it has a bite but I think I would like it a little hotter. Thank you for sharing this recipe its great:)Judy

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy #52 September 01, 2010

Have to give this a 5 just for the easy part alone. I added 2 pouches of liquid pectin like others recommended and I added extra jalapeno's. Oh and I also added a few drops red food coloring because the juice didn't quite make it red enough. I used Ocean Spray cranberry juice. It looks beautiful. I maybe only used 1 extra jalapeno over half cup so I hope it tastes great as I didn't taste test if while making it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rysharen November 27, 2009

This is a great recipe, love the color and taste. I added more peppers and some garlic after the first batch(it was a little mild for my taste). Turned out great and I am planning on sharing this recipe with a great many others!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mamafind August 15, 2006

Looks like you may have been one of the first members on Zaar, but it seems you aren't here anymore. Anyway this was something a little different from your ordinary hot pepper jelly. Love the colour using the cranberry juice- I used cran-raspberry as that was what I had. Also added a couple of cloves of garlic when I was processing the peppers, and added a couple of red chili peppers from the garden for added colour. I don't bother putting jellies in a water bath and they sealed just fine. Just remember to rotate the jars as they're cooling to distribute the solids. A lovely addition to my store of preserves- thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan in Lanark July 28, 2006

Good stuff!! We have made several batches and I gave the recipe to my parents who love it also. I didn't skim much before jarring, I wanted as many of the peppers in the jelly as possible. I turned the jars occassionally as they cooled to help distribute the peppers throughout the jar. What a wonderful sweet/hot flavor on toast! Thank you so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KathyShu January 31, 2003

This is a great recipe. Nice colour and flavour. I added extra jalepenos to give it a little more kick.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gary Burniston October 14, 2002

Awesome! Being from New Orleans, I like things SPICY! I've tried several other Pepper Jelly recipes and have always been disappointed because it's always been runny and lacking in flavor (even the Tabasco brand is a bit bland). I used 2 cups chopped jalapenos, generic cranberry juice, 2 pouches of Certo, and 3 drops red food coloring. Beautiful color, flavor that is outta this world! While it did set fast (I wish I could use 1 1/2 pouches instead of 2) it is a nice "jelly" consistency - other recipes have always been too runny. Definitely will make lots more of this while peppers are in season.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vices July 08, 2014

Easy to make and tastes great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
droloson November 10, 2013
Hot Jalapeno Pepper Jelly