Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot German Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot German Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    129 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 129

    Sort by:

    • on September 04, 2007

      I can't truthfully say this is the best German Potato Salad (GPS) I have ever had, for this is so unlike traditional GPS it is almost like comparing apples and oranges. No matter what category you wish to place it I believe it is better than any GPS I have ever eaten! ! I did not miss the over-vinegared taste of most GPS at all. One reviewer stated she was constantly tasting it as she assembled it. Just the opposite, I was almost revulsed at the thought of tasting it, since it was so unlike any GPS or any other dish I had eaten before, and actually I took my first bite when my plate was served at the table! That was my mistake! ! A great big, humongous mistake! ! I didn't realize what I had been missing. I had no problem with the dish becoming "watery." To prevent that problem I did the following: after blending all the ingredients other than the potatoes and the bacon, I poured them into a warm skillet containing the bacon and, stirring constantly, raised the heat until the mixture simmered for a few minutes and thickened. This absorbed the liquid and cooked the eggs. The only change to the recipe was that I added about a heaping teaspoonful of caraway seeds. This will become my potato salad of choice in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      Very easy and VERY good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      Great combination of flavors. Rated 5 stars by my hubby as it is "just like my Aunt used to make". Guess we'll keep this recipe and I will definitely be making more of this in the future! Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      EXCELLENT ~ everybody enjoyed this recipe thorougly, "what did I do to these potatoes?" "they are absolutely the BEST!" I sucked it up, loved the compliments and beamed! ~ they will become a household regular dish! Thanks Lali!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      This was fantastic, better than the kind I use to buy in a can. I threw mine in the oven in a casserole dish and left it on low for an hour. This is great warm or cold, and it's even better the next day, I can't quit picking at the left overs in the refridgerator.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      Outstanding! My dad- who is Austrian really liked these. They did turn out a little dry- so I doubled the sauce the second time and they were perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

    • on October 29, 2006

      Easy to make recipe. I cut everything in half. I used red skin gold potatoes, rice vinegar and regular black pepper as that's all I had on hand. I diced and boiled the potatoes (skin on) in the afternoon and completed the preparation for dinner. I included a sliced sweet onion. Great taste. Definitely a do-over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      This is a very tasty and different way to enjoy potato salad. Its also great cold the next day. I was worried about the amount of vinegar, but I needn't have because it was perfect. Keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      Best german potato salad I've ever made. This recipe is a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

    • on June 03, 2006

      I thought I had rated this already...but I didn't, so here it goes. I have made this at least 6 times in the last couple of months. Everyone always asks me to bring this to a picnic or party. There is never a drop left....it is just OUTSTANDING!!!!! Thanks for posting it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      Family and friends rated this high. Different flavor and I especially liked it because it didn't have any mayo or salad dressing in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      Excellent!!! Excellent!! Made this for Easter. Very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2005

      THE BEST! This was totally awesome. My dh HATES potato salad but loved this. I made it with turkey bacon since I dont do pork and I used green onion and a little onion powder instead of sliced onion. Really really good! Thanks so much! This will become a staple here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2005

      This turned out great for me, really tasty. It was great the next day too for leftovers. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2004

      This is a treasure of a recipe. I made it twice in a week! I used whole grain mustard and red wine vinegar, and added some caraway and celery seed. The sauce thickens up fast and smoothly. It is so creamy and tangy! It will be my only german potato salad from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2004

      This was really good, both hot and cold! I cut back on the sugar - to about 3/4 cup. I boiled the potatos with the skin on, then peeled them (this makes them much more flavorful). I also cooked the onion with the bacon because I prefer them soft. Took leftovers to a party and everyone loved it. Even the 12 year old who never eats potato salad, his mother was amazed that he ate every bite. It doesn't have the pale look of other German potato salads because of the egg and mustard. People who turn up their noses at the German variety think it is the regular kind and are pleasantly surprised.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2004

      This was the best potato salad I have every eaten! I cut back the sugar to 3/4 cup and forgot to add onions. After eating it without onions (we are big onion fans) I think I will add cooked onions next time. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2003

      I wish I could give this more than 5 stars. It's outstanding. I had pretty lean bacon, and chopped and fried the onions with the bacon. The egg mixture thickened up beautifully, like a nice sweet/sour bacon gravy. I used red potatoes, and boiled them in the skin, then sliced thin and layered in a 13X9 pan. I poured the "gravy" over the potatoes and stirred, then baked for 30 minutes in a very low oven. Perfect! Thanks for posting Lali.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot German Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (369 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 347.6
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    10%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 35.5 mg
    11%
    Sodium 284.9 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.5 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 19.0 g
    76%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes