133 Reviews

Wonderful! All my picky eaters loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmorrow April 30, 2011

Really very good recipe. Besides decreasing the sugar by about 1/4 cup (and I personally don't even think that was necessary to decrease it) I followed it exactly as written. I loved the vinegar-y tartness of this, and the adding of the onions at the end. Very authentic! Thanks for posting your families recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glitteryfrosting January 19, 2011

My Mom makes this recipe regularly and I couldn't get a hold of her. This is a very similar recipe to the one she uses. Neither my husband or I enjoy traditional cold potato salad but we truly enjoyed this one. I followed directions exactly, but omitted onions. My husband made bratwurst and sauerkraut sandwiches and this was the perfect accompaniment. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teriw January 08, 2011

I love this recipe!! My mom could not remember how she use to make it and thankfully this tastes just like her did. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef ChiSox#1 October 05, 2010

Tastes better than Grandma's! I did add celery seed and cooked the onions with the bacon.But I think I'm going to dice up some scallion greens to add before serving. I also used half cider vinegar and half white vinegar to take the edge off the sharp of the vinegar. I made a double batch and suspect it will not last long at all. Good thing it was a double batch cause I've already had 2 servings myself just tasting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Callinectes Sapidus June 17, 2010

Agree with Nurse Janey on the sugar. But really good if you can get past eating A LOT of bacon grease. I added some onion and chopped up hard boiled egg. It's a keeper for my family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktmesh June 11, 2010

It was nice that this made up quickly. That step #3, about adding raw eggs to bacon grease -- gives one pause. I kept stirring on low heat, trying to "cook" the egg, but finally closed my eyes and added it to the boiled fingerlings . It actually worked out fine -- though I used less than 1/2 cup sugar, and will cut back more when I do again. Thanks for posting, lali

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney April 15, 2010

This potato salad has the best flavor. The only reason I give it less than 5 stars is because the process of mixing in the eggs is quite delicate and easy to mess up. But, we always get great feedback when we take this to a meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M&M99 March 15, 2010

Ive made this twice and used less sugar the 2nd time. Waaayy better in my humble opinion. Also used spicy german mustard and doubled the amount. Fabulous. Perfect with grilled brats.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer jay March 09, 2010

I decided to try this low carb, and used cauliflower florets instead of potatoes, simmered in salted boiling water till tender, sliced; the rest of the recipe stayed the same (like some other posters, I used slightly less sugar) It worked great, the sauce was very authentic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ORTNmom February 07, 2010
Hot German Potato Salad