129 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Tastes better than Grandma's! I did add celery seed and cooked the onions with the bacon.But I think I'm going to dice up some scallion greens to add before serving. I also used half cider vinegar and half white vinegar to take the edge off the sharp of the vinegar. I made a double batch and suspect it will not last long at all. Good thing it was a double batch cause I've already had 2 servings myself just tasting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Callinectes Sapidus June 17, 2010

Agree with Nurse Janey on the sugar. But really good if you can get past eating A LOT of bacon grease. I added some onion and chopped up hard boiled egg. It's a keeper for my family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktmesh June 11, 2010

It was nice that this made up quickly. That step #3, about adding raw eggs to bacon grease -- gives one pause. I kept stirring on low heat, trying to "cook" the egg, but finally closed my eyes and added it to the boiled fingerlings . It actually worked out fine -- though I used less than 1/2 cup sugar, and will cut back more when I do again. Thanks for posting, lali

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney April 15, 2010

This potato salad has the best flavor. The only reason I give it less than 5 stars is because the process of mixing in the eggs is quite delicate and easy to mess up. But, we always get great feedback when we take this to a meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M&M99 March 15, 2010

Ive made this twice and used less sugar the 2nd time. Waaayy better in my humble opinion. Also used spicy german mustard and doubled the amount. Fabulous. Perfect with grilled brats.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer jay March 09, 2010

I decided to try this low carb, and used cauliflower florets instead of potatoes, simmered in salted boiling water till tender, sliced; the rest of the recipe stayed the same (like some other posters, I used slightly less sugar) It worked great, the sauce was very authentic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ORTNmom February 07, 2010

I'm giving this 5 stars, even though I think it is too sweet, because it might be my fault - because I used red onion and fried it. I served it for a winter Texas BBQ with smoked brisket, and cooked cabbage, for my brother's birthday. I live in Canadian cold climate, with lots of snow. Thanks for sharing this recipe - every one for the winter BBQ really loved this potato salad - because we usually only have the summer potato salad with mayonnaise. I had to give out 4 print-outs of the recipe - that speaks volumes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2B's February 01, 2010

A Great Recipe with a good balance of flavors. We made this for a German lunch I planned for a culinary class, and I thought it was a good balance of tart and sweet (we added a little less sugar as well). Even some who did not think they cared for hot potato salad enjoyed this one, so thank you so much for sharing this :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickleLover December 19, 2009

Terrific Recipe!! Very Flavorful. We really enjoyed it. I'll be using this recipe again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joyd November 08, 2009

Thank you so much. This recipe is as close as I have come yet to the GErman Potato Salad I grew up with. I used small red potatoes and they stayed so tender and absorbed the wonderful flavors. Thank you again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Psyche October 25, 2009
Hot German Potato Salad