Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot German Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot German Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    124 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 124

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2007

      Outstanding! My dad- who is Austrian really liked these. They did turn out a little dry- so I doubled the sauce the second time and they were perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

    • on October 29, 2006

      Easy to make recipe. I cut everything in half. I used red skin gold potatoes, rice vinegar and regular black pepper as that's all I had on hand. I diced and boiled the potatoes (skin on) in the afternoon and completed the preparation for dinner. I included a sliced sweet onion. Great taste. Definitely a do-over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      This is a very tasty and different way to enjoy potato salad. Its also great cold the next day. I was worried about the amount of vinegar, but I needn't have because it was perfect. Keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      Best german potato salad I've ever made. This recipe is a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

    • on June 03, 2006

      I thought I had rated this already...but I didn't, so here it goes. I have made this at least 6 times in the last couple of months. Everyone always asks me to bring this to a picnic or party. There is never a drop left....it is just OUTSTANDING!!!!! Thanks for posting it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      Family and friends rated this high. Different flavor and I especially liked it because it didn't have any mayo or salad dressing in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      Excellent!!! Excellent!! Made this for Easter. Very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2005

      THE BEST! This was totally awesome. My dh HATES potato salad but loved this. I made it with turkey bacon since I dont do pork and I used green onion and a little onion powder instead of sliced onion. Really really good! Thanks so much! This will become a staple here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2005

      This turned out great for me, really tasty. It was great the next day too for leftovers. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2004

      This is a treasure of a recipe. I made it twice in a week! I used whole grain mustard and red wine vinegar, and added some caraway and celery seed. The sauce thickens up fast and smoothly. It is so creamy and tangy! It will be my only german potato salad from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2004

      This was really good, both hot and cold! I cut back on the sugar - to about 3/4 cup. I boiled the potatos with the skin on, then peeled them (this makes them much more flavorful). I also cooked the onion with the bacon because I prefer them soft. Took leftovers to a party and everyone loved it. Even the 12 year old who never eats potato salad, his mother was amazed that he ate every bite. It doesn't have the pale look of other German potato salads because of the egg and mustard. People who turn up their noses at the German variety think it is the regular kind and are pleasantly surprised.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2004

      This was the best potato salad I have every eaten! I cut back the sugar to 3/4 cup and forgot to add onions. After eating it without onions (we are big onion fans) I think I will add cooked onions next time. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2003

      I wish I could give this more than 5 stars. It's outstanding. I had pretty lean bacon, and chopped and fried the onions with the bacon. The egg mixture thickened up beautifully, like a nice sweet/sour bacon gravy. I used red potatoes, and boiled them in the skin, then sliced thin and layered in a 13X9 pan. I poured the "gravy" over the potatoes and stirred, then baked for 30 minutes in a very low oven. Perfect! Thanks for posting Lali.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2003

      This was a big hit in our house today! Everyone really liked the combination of flavor and we will definately make this one again! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2003

      What a Great blend of Of ingrediants, for a great taste, it was just wonderful!! atalas

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2003

      This went great with a roasted chicken. A definite keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2003

      Well, I've finally tried this 5-star potato salad. I have to say it's very different. Iam german, and I've tried many german potato salads, none tasted like this one - not really in a bad way. I've used 3/4 cup sugar and it was still way too sweet for my taste and slightly too watery. I think I'll make this again, with a few adjustments. Thanks for sharing ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2003

      Great taste. Was nervous about the egg thing but it came out great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot German Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (369 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 347.6
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    10%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 35.5 mg
    11%
    Sodium 284.9 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.5 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 19.0 g
    76%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites