Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot German Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot German Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    129 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 129

    Sort by:

    • on July 23, 2014

      Good recipe but I don't use eggs. The bacon fat and potatoes will thicken the dressing. The secret is to toss the potatoes a lot after pouring on the dressing. The action of tossing releases the starch in the potatoes and it will thicken especially if you do this while the mixture is hot. Just keep tossing until your happy with the coating on the salad and it has thickened enough to suit you.<br/><br/>Just add the dressing a little at a time and toss and toss. Keep adding until you have the taste you like and keep tossing. Save the rest of the dressing for another time or the next day if you have potato salad left. It can lose a little tartness overnight in the fridge.<br/><br/>Oh, I cook my bacon in coconut oil on a med. lo. heat, drain on a paper towel or newspaper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2014

      true German potato salad is made with potatoes, onions, vinegar, salt and pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2014

      It does not have description. Just I see it, it makes me salivate. I will follow your recipe. I'm already hungry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2014

      Perfect blend of flavors. We used a sweet hot mustard and cooked the onion with the bacon, adding a small amount of raw onion just before serving. It's our new favorite recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2014

      Yum! Made this with red potatoes and it tasted a lot like my grandma's recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2013

      This was the BEST German Potato Salad I have ever had. I needed something for our work lunch and it was German for Octorber/November. Everyone loved it and are asking for the recipe. I would not change a thing with this recipe!! YUMMMMMYYYYY!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2013

      Excellent! Loved it! I had planned to use the spicy German style mustard, but apparently I don't have any, so I used plain ol' regular yellow mustard. I would never have thought to use egg like that in a potato salad recipe, but it was delicious!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      This recipe is perfect just as it is! It's the perfect blend of sweet, sour, salty and peppery (I did add some black pepper in addition to cayenne). I chose to add the onion which I cooked in the bacon grease after removing the bacon, then added the egg mixture to the pan with the cooked onions. Be sure to stir or whisk constantly until thickened (I took mine just to the simmer/light boil point). It's just delicious and the addition of the mustard was a welcome touch. I will be making this my favorite German potato salad recipe, replacing my mother-in-laws, which is <br/>yummy too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2013

      Great recipe - easy to make and everyone in my party of 12 loved this potato salad. I made 2x what I would normally serve and it disappeared over dinner. Germans must be big on sweetness, as I found it much too sweet on my first taste. Adjusted to 1/3 of the sugar and thought it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2013

      Excellent --Made it for the 4th of July!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      I've been craving German Potato Salad for months now, so I broke down and bought a can from the grocery and it was horrible. I made this with baby Yukon Golds with the peeling left on. The sauce starts off kind of sweet, but after the potatoes are added the flavors mellow nicely. I cooked my onions with the sauce, next time I'll add more onions. This hit the spot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      This dish was wonderful. I used a quarter teaspoon of cayenne. It was served with hot sausage links, Bavarian style sauerkraut, and warm pumpernickel slices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

    • on October 18, 2012

      Holy Yum! I feel like I should be wearing pigtail braids and singing the sound of music! This is the best German Potato Salad I've ever had. Thank you!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2012

      I made this tonight to go with some fresh made German Brats. Why oh why haven't I made this before! This was easy to make and I followed the recipe exactly as written. Upon tasting, it did need an extra little "something" so I gave another good pinch of the cayenne. DELISH and I will make this again!! Thank you for sharing your family heirloom recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      First off, I haven't tried this yet, but I am looking forward to making it! Am I missing something, someone commented about it being low fat, how can that be with the bacon grease. And did most of you use regular onions, because to me it looks like green onions in the photo (which I would prefer) also the recipe says diced potato's which would almost be cubed, but the photo shows them looking like they are sliced. I don't want to mess this up, so if someone can please answer these few questions, I would appreciate it.
      Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2012

      Thank you so much for posting. This is soooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2012

      Just fyi, the bacon used is probably German bacon not comparable to American. The bacon is smoked and actually pretty salty. So you might want to add some salt and for the pep some paprika :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      This is the first time I tried to make German Potato Salad that this was sooooo delish and simple!! I'll be making this again!! Txs for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      Served this cold with BBQ chicken & corn on the cob. Delish! I eye balled the cayenne & used green onion. Will make again & again. Oh & used a little less than 1/2 cup sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot German Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (369 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 347.6
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    10%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 35.5 mg
    11%
    Sodium 284.9 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.5 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 19.0 g
    76%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes