Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot German Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot German Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    129 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 129

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2001

      No Rating...yet. For all you dummies (like me) out there, Step 3 is a little ambiguous, but it's VERY IMPORTANT to pour the egg mixture INTO the bacon grease, as instructed. The egg is what thickens it up, so if it doesn't cook, you get a watery potato salad. Add a little heat if you need it I'm going to try this one again to see if I can get it right. It was good anyway, watery or not, although quite a bit sweeter then I expected! A pinch of cayenne was not enough for my taste...I cound't actually taste it at all. I'm going to push it up to 1/8 tsp next time (with halfs on everything to get 6 servings instead of 12), and maybe add some paprika just for kicks. Ate this with some grilled ribeye steaks and a cold hoppy English-style ale...Yummm! I'll post a followup to let you know how it went.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2002

      This recipe is almost identical to my mothers recipe. She was born and raised in Regensburg Germany. This can also be served at room temperature and cold. It doesn't have to be HOT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

      Lali, I wish your Great-Great-Grand Mother were here today so I could personally thank her for creating such a wonderful recipe! Instead I would like to thank you for your decision to share it with the world. This recipe is truly scrumptious and should be tried by everyone who reads this review. The blend of flavors in this potato salad is awsome. Very easy to prepare considering the wonderful dish you will obtain with the results. Thank you, Lali for sharing this with all of here on Recipezaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      I've been using this recipe for years with only minor modifications. Cook the bacon over low to med-low heat to render as much grease as possible. While bacon is cooking, clean and prepare potatoes for boiling. I cut the potatoes in halves or thirds to make them approximately the same size for even cooking. In salted water, bring potatoes to a rapid boil for 5 to 10 minutes, cover and turn off heat. Let sit, covered to finish cooking for 20 - 30 minutes. I find cooking the potatoes this way, I avoid over cooking and lessen the mush effect of an over cooked exterior. Once bacon is VERY browned and crisp, add 1 large onion - diced and 2 Cups coarsely chopped celery. Saute until onions are just starting to become transparent. Remove from heat. Mix remaining ingredients (I use about 3/4 C sugar and about 1 1/2 C vinegar [cider vinegar offers a nice flavor as well]). Once well beaten, add to bacon pan, mixing well, return to heat, constantly stirring till thickened. Combine with sliced potatoes. Flavor improves over time, so making ahead of time is worth while. Our family likes it served warm or room temp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2002

      This had plenty of flavour and was quick and easy. I cooked the onion and bacon together as I'm not that fond of raw onion. The thing I really appreciated was the fact that it was relatively low fat, but so tasty. I can imagine we will be making this many times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2002

      Thanks for sharing Lali. This turned out as good as I've EVER had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2001

      I think this recipe is going to be good. I am an American and never have eaten German food. I hanv to do a project on Germany so I decided to make this dish. It sounds great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      This recipe is one of my favorite foods, ever!! The combination of tangy, sweet & savory is fantastic! I made this up for a birthday dinner for my dad and was asked to make it again. After reading the reviews, I made a few small changes. I added the onion in to cook with the bacon (once the bacon was partially cooked) at the beginning instead of adding raw at the end of the recipe. I also cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup, and used 1/2 cup white vinegar and 1/2 cup cider vinegar, and used red potatoes. For those who were worried about using raw egg - If you whisk all of the ingredients in step 2 very well and add to the hot bacon, let it simmer for a few minutes, stirring well. It turned out great! Thank you for sharing this amazing family recipe!! The best german potato salad I've ever had!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2002

      wonderful i haved tried german potato salad once in my teens and i hated it because it was to much vinager but this was great my 1 yr old loved it to

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2002

      This was different and very tasty.I will being making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2012

      This is worthy of a bazillion stars! This was, by far, the easiest hot German Potato salad I have ever made. I halved the recipe, cut large cubes of potatoes and cooked. It took about 10 minutes for the potatoes, in the mean time, I fried up the bacon. Once the bacon was nearly done, I added diced onion and fried until near caramelized. The only change to the recipe, I grabbed the apple cider vinegar by mistake. Threw it all together and we are in hog heaven. I served with BBQ brisket sandwiches. Lali, I cannot thank you enough for sharing you gramma's recipe. You're a peach!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      I really liked this recipe as an alternative to the standard mayo-based potato salad. I only used about 1/3 cup sugar and 1/2 cup white vinegar with 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar. I'm not the biggest fan of vinegar so it was slightly too strong for me but I ate two servings anyways because it was so good and my husband couldn't stop eating it! Next time I will probably use 1/4 cup white vinegar and 1/3 cup apple cider vinegar. The egg step made me nervous as well but I took the pan off the heat and poured the whole bowl of the egg mixture in at once and stirred consistently. This worked really well, it thickened without become scrambled eggs. Will definitely hang onto this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2012

      This is delicious! I was raised by my Bavarian German mother and we had this weekly! I did cut back on the sugar and added some dill and chopped parsley. I have no idea why anyone worried about the egg in the dressing. You just whisk as you pour it over the hot bacon and onions til it gets thick. Too much vinegar in the egg to turn into scrambled eggs. I did increase add more cayenne...because I love it! Spicy brown mustard is good in this too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2014

      great dressing. I used only half the sugar called for and the sweet & sour balance seemed great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2011

      One of favorite go to recipes when I have company. Be sure the pan with the bacon isn't too hot or you might have some scrambled eggs in your potato salad =P

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      Authentic and delicious! I cut the sugar in half based on prior reviews and it was a little on the tart side - perfect for us Germans who love that sort of thing. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2002

      Great recipe. I poured off a lot of the bacon grease and used brown mustard. Turned out great! Thank u!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2014

      Truly authentic. I'm a potato salad lover, but have yet to find a German version that was authentic. Although there are variations on the German potato salad, Hubby said this is just like what he ate while stationed in Germany for a decade. I was very pleased with this recipe and will definitely share it with others, as well as make it again often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2014

      I thought one cup of sugar was way too much - I made it a second time and used half a cup of sugar - it was much better but when all is said and done, my family prefers cold potato salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2014

      This is real delicious, as all the comments attest to, BUT it lacks something my own mother added to hers, all the years I was growing up: hard-cooked eggs, chopped!<br/><br/>WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT EVERYONE SERVES AS SIDE DISHES FOR German Potato Salad............

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot German Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (369 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 347.6
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    10%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 35.5 mg
    11%
    Sodium 284.9 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.5 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 19.0 g
    76%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites