16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow! Fantastic hot fudge - rich, creamy and tasty! I scaled it down to 7/8 (.875) cup because it was just me and the kids eating and it came out fantastic. I used skim milk because it was what I had available - worked fine. Tasted great over ice cream and bananas. The kids ended up eating a second round of fudge and bananas. On the ice cream and fudge, I could have thrown some almonds and whipped cream on it for a great sundae. Excellent recipe - will make again (and again, and again...). The kids and I were very happy with the consistency (even with skim milk), but for those who want "thicker" fudge - try substituting a 14oz can of evaporated milk, or heavy cream instead of milk.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Remy #186273 March 16, 2010

This is a very good recipe for fudge sauce. I love that it uses all ingredients that we have in our pantry. I feel the recipe should say that you need to bring the sauce to a boil in order to thickin the sauce properly. I did and the sauce was very thick and consistent.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth F. September 16, 2009

This is a very nice fudge. Ingredients that you normally have on hand. It is thick and creamy. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn August 04, 2008

FanTAStic!!! I found it SUPER fudgy.I, too, halved the milk to make it really thick. I poured it between layers of chocolate and vanilla icecream in my springform pan to make an icecream cake.Threw some crushed fudgeo cookies over the sauce before adding the 2nd layer of icecream. The family went crazy! I wish I could rate this more than 5 stars! Thanks Mimi!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie G June 14, 2008

This was GREAT!!! So thick and rich, exactly what i was looking for. I will never buy store bought again...thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DreamBaker August 13, 2007

OMG this was the best hot fudge sauce recipe I have tried. I loved it. Very creamy, nice flavor, very easy to make, everything that goes into it I always have on hand, and reheats up very nice in microwave. Will be making it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mspecangirl April 28, 2005

This is a wonderful recipe. The thickness was perfect. I didn't have to strain out any flour lumps, though I sifted my flour beforehand. I added 1/2 tsp. salt to enhance the chocolate flavor. Thank you for a lovely recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tednjoc March 30, 2015

In the last year I've used this one 8 or more times. It always comes out perfect for us and I always have the ingredients ready to go. Next time we are going to use the special dark cocoa powder :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kris10powell September 21, 2014

I found the ingredients of this recipe to be a nice balance, and it did make a great sauce. I didn't need to sieve it, because I heated the milk and butter first, and then added the dry ingredients gradually, once all the butter was melted. Just keep whisking....it's smooth and delicious. Thank you for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aimee88 August 30, 2012

I have made this sauce at least 10 times in the past few years and it is so good! Plenty thick enough for us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChewieJacuBeau September 22, 2011
Hot Fudge Sauce--Out of This World!