26 Reviews

Awesome, and easy! I used fat free evaporated milk because that was what I had on hand, and threw in a handful of mini marshmallows, as someone else suggested to thicken it up a little, although I don't know that I would have needed that. It thickened fine as it cooled.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Huskerandi December 26, 2009

Chose this recipe because I needed something fast and I had all the ingredients. Yummy. I also added a pinch of salt. It seemed a little bitter - probably due to my chocolate chips - so I stirred in a few mini-marshmellows before I added the butter & vanilla. It added a little sweetness and helped thicken the sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jjbiowa July 28, 2009

very tasty, easy sauce. I used 1/3 c. sugar, and 18% cream. After tasting the sauce, I thought something might be missing, and strange as it may sound, I added 1/4 tsp. salt. To me, that made it perfect! Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KHoog November 20, 2008

This is a great sauce. Very easy to make and keeps very well. For a thicker sauce (after reading the reviews) I opted for using Half 'n Half and cutting it back to 10 ounces. Made all the difference! Nice and thick and very rich. I will make this again and can't wait to make to serve with my Our Ice Cream!! Thanks Truebrit for a really nice recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ June 07, 2008

This is the second time I made this. Apparently I never reviewed it. This is a very simple recipe. The first time I made it with the evaporated milk. The second time I made it with half and half (because that's all I had)and it was as good if not a tad better. It seemed a little bit thicker with the half and half. When my kids want hot fudge...I take out a couple of spoonfuls and microwave it in a small cup for about 7-10 seconds and just pour it over ice cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Shelby May 30, 2007

Excellent, I too added a pinch of salt. This made a nice thick and velvety sauce. My husband loves chocolate, and this was a big hit with him served with chocolate cake, and chocolate ice cream for his birthday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tammi420 March 29, 2016

This is delicious! Took about 10 minutes. I took one of the girls' advice and put 1/2 teas. of expression powder, then I added 1/4 teas. of sea salt. Perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Cissy October 31, 2015

Just what I was craving. After reading some of the other reviews I used a little less milk. I also added some peanut butter chips that I had leftover from another recipe.. Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview October 15, 2015

Not as thick as a true fudge sauce; I added 6oz. more (unsweetened) chocolate chips & a tsp espresso powder in order to thicken up the sauce and cut the sweetness level.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1170 September 01, 2015

Loved it!! Quick and easy and that is what I needed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ycooks2 December 30, 2012
Hot Fudge Sauce