86 Reviews

I made this last night for our Rosh Hashanah dessert. It was so delicious and got rave reviews from everyone. It's yummy warm with vanilla ice cream and it's also yummy straight from the fridge the next day (okay, I confess, it was morning - I had a small piece for breakfast - lol). The chocolate sauce thickened and the brownie crust got chewy and crunchy. Soooo good! I wish I could give it 10 stars. Thank you for sharing Marg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dojemi September 21, 2009

Thia is a really great recipe. It's so simple, yet so good! Very easy to throw together before dinner is ready. Be sure to wait the 15 minutes before cutting it. I cut it a little too soon & the fudge sauce ran out all over...still taste awesome though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelli08 August 09, 2009

Great recipe! I made this years ago, but the recipe I had was for a 9 x 13. This size is perfect, since there are only 2 of us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
h.glenda July 11, 2009

This is super-rich and very decadent! It was almost better the second day after being in the frig all night served chilled with lots of cool whip!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Classy Gal June 17, 2009

I scale this down to fit small round Pyrex bowls and then serve right in them. Very yummy and fast to make. Best with a scoop of ice cream on top! Using sifted cake flour gives a great texture as well. Thanks for this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rambozo May 14, 2009

We've been making this for years so I had to rate it five stars for having been a family favorite for so long. Goes great with vanilla ice cream. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeLove May 03, 2009

This was good, but I expected it to be outstanding (based on the reviews) and it wasn't. I made it for 5 people, and nobody loved it. They all said it was good, but that it was missing something. Maybe it could have been a little sweeter. I loved that it cooked in the crockpot, freeing up the oven for dinner, and I loved that it was warm and gooey, like a brownie. But unfortunately, everyone here had the same reaction. I think if we could tweak the sugar a bit, we would love it next time. Thanks for an easy, gooey dessert, we will try again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katelyn1009 March 04, 2009

mmmm, that's all I can say! Quick, easy and good. Something different other than the typical brownies! Must be served with ice cream!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef rmshill February 01, 2009

I've been making this dessert for years, and we've always loved it. With a lasagna taking up my oven space today, I followed another reviewer's suggestion to "bake" this in the crockpot. The cake was moist, the pudding was smoother and creamier than the oven version, and nobody could believe this was the same recipe. I will NEVER bake it in the oven again. (I cooked it on High for 1-1/2 hours and then turned it off for about 10 minutes before serving.) Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
serenasea January 18, 2009

this recipe is very much like a dessert my mother used to make. very good, and easy too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
minnie chef January 06, 2009
Hot Fudge Pudding Cake II