Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Dogs and Sauerkraut Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Dogs and Sauerkraut

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on June 02, 2010

      Made this for my DH that has been asking for hot dogs. I like the fact it is served over mashed potatoes. Topped with a nice German mustard. I did use Bavarian Sauerkraut giving the kraut a nice flavor. I always rinse the kraut before cooking to remove any sodium. Thanks. Made for ZWT 6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      I really liked it. I used hot dogs, but I may try with a different sausage another time. Very easy to do. Thanks Lauralie :) Made for the Zwizzle Chicks of ZWT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      I prepared this recipe for the To Go Walk on the Wild side challenge of ZWT6. In the spirit of the challenge, I packed 1/4 recipe as a lunch for my husband. As he would not have access to a stove at his office during his lunch break, I included microwave directions :wink: The sauerkraut was microwaved for 45 seconds, and the hot dogs were added and heated an additional 45 seconds. I also included 2 buns. My husband was very pleased with the change from the usual salad or sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      This hit the spot! I used a vegetarian hot dog and sprinkled vegetarian baco bits over the top. Tasted fantastic and was so simple to throw together. Made for ZWT6 - LOONEY SPOON PHOODIES!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      So quick and so easy! I love the way that these turned out!! I did not serve over mashed potatoes though, I served in buns...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      Good and easy to make. Followed the recipe as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Great comfort food, bar none :) Thanks. *Made for ZWT6*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      It's not for me to quibble, but who the heck ever thought to sour up cabbage? I used Homemade Sauerkraut and by all means, add Hot Dogs and Sauerkraut to your culinary 'to do' list.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      Yummy! Making this brought back lots of memories for me. I used to eat hot dogs and sauerkraut over mashed potatoes when I was still in high school. The mashed potatoes are a perfect compliment to the sour flavor of the sauerkraut. I loved this. Thanks, Lauralie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      this recipe just sent me to the kitchen! thanks for posting such a simple and delicious dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      Memories of childhood on a plate. All this time I just thought it was one of my family's crazy dishes. I do season the kraut with pepper and fry it in a tad of bacon drippings just like gramma used to do. Think I'll head to the kitchen right now to whip this little "treasure" up for lunch right now! Thanks Lauralie for the memories & for posting this old favourite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      Fast, inexpensive meal that you can have on the table in half an hour. I love krautdogs, so I new I would enjoy this dish. I added a little brown sugar and some Mrs. Dash Extra Spicy and settled down to a great dinner. I can't wait to use the leftovers tomorrow making krautdogs. Thanks for sharing, Lauralie41. Made for April, 2009 Aussie/NZ Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      Just as everyone else has said my mom used to make this when I was at home. The first time I made it for my husband he thought I was nuts! He thought it should be bratwursts! It's a great cheap dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      We loved this simple dish -- perfect for Friday night! I only used 1/2 jar of sauerkraut (which I wanted to use up) with the 8 hot dogs - a wonderful comfort food dinner! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      I don't have to try this to knw i like it! I have been eating this since i was a kid! Although, my b/f doesn't like saurkraut, i always make it for me! It is a great combination more people should know about and try!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      Comfort food through and through! I also like to mince a green bell pepper and simmer mixed with the kraut too. Thanx for a quick but filling dinner :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      I have to give you 5 stars just for posting such a great and classic combination - this was as I expected, conforting and tasty! I used Alsace sausages and some Strasbourg sausages for a quick and easy supper dish. My sauerkraut was fresh, and we also ate this with boiled potatoes & lots of mustard. Thanks! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      I don't have to try this to know how good it is, my mother made this all the time when we were growing up - only difference is she added chopped onions. I remember coming home from school and smelling sauerkraut cooking and eagerly awaiting dinner, mmmmm. Mom always made lots so she would have plenty of leftovers where she would slice the hot dogs into bite size pieces, mix them with the leftover sauerkraut and mashed potatoes and reheat them in a frying pan with melted butter. My favorite dish growing up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      Laurelie, this has become one of my favorite dishes, ESPECIALLY over mashed potatoes. I like my kraut "slightly browned" by frying it lid-off at the beginning. I have also found that the quality of the kraut makes a big difference in the end product. I used to use Vlassic (which is expensive) but now, I use Snow Floss in the plastic bag -- it's very good sauerkraut. Anyway, thanks for posting this old favorite -- definitely comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      So simple, so good. I used Ball Park Franks as well and served over seasoned mashed potatoes. This was a quick, tasty week night dinner. Thanks for sharing :) Nick's Mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Dogs and Sauerkraut

    Serving Size: 1 (298 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 336.6
     
    Calories from Fat 242
    71%
    Total Fat 26.9 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 47.7 mg
    15%
    Sodium 2405.7 mg
    100%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    20%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 12.0 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes