Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Dog Tag-Alongs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Dog Tag-Alongs

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on June 06, 2013

    • on May 03, 2010

      I did the recipe for 4 hot-dogs. I used Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce instead of chili. Another time I'd like more spaghetti sauce in it and more cheese. Next time we'll grease the aluminium foil cause the cheese stuck to it. We cooked them on the bbq at low heat for 15 minutes. 2 were burned. So we won't do them on the bbq but I'll try in the oven. Thanks 2Bleu :) Made for PRMR tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      2Bleu, you've done it again! Another great recipe. I made these with my husband in mind, but I really enjoyed them too. So easy to prepare as well. I cut the hot dogs in half the long way, then sliced off small peices. I used a full 15 oz. can of SPICY chili with beans, just because I didn't want to have any chili leftover. I'm glad I used the whole can...that's how I'll do it in the future as well. (Also stretches it to go a bit farther). Thanks for sharing this husband friendly, easy, tasty meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      I enjoyed this using veggie hot dogs! I halved the recipe and served in buns. Thanks! Made for PRMR game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      This was so-so. Edible and semi-cheap. The only modification that my husband did was to add 16oz of chili instead of 8oz. There was just something strange in the taste. All I could taste personally was the pickle relish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      Yummy! We ate 2 servings in one sitting and as your recipe said, didn't fully open the buns and pushed inside the corners the mix. I also used Grandmother Merrill's Chili Sauce adding also some ready made one we had. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Great recipe. I grilled Turkey with Cheddar Cheese sausages first and then chopped them into the mix. Also used hoagie rolls which I sprayed with Pam and broiled until slightly crisp. They really retained their shape and didn't get at all soggy even when heated in the microwave two days later. Used Hormel chili without beans. Great idea for camping. Just freeze the mix and stick it in a cooler.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      As chili dog recipes go, I thought this was unique in the prep/cooking method. I liked the idea of hollowing out the hot dog buns, though mine got squished so there wasn't much to work with, lol! I appreciated the other reviewer's tip about just pushing the hollow into the bun instead of removing actual bun material, which would affect the integrity of the bun. This was messy since I couldn't make good hollows. The time/temp were perfect and liked baking these in the aluminum foil. I accidentally added too much onion, and that was bf's only complaint. I used a package of 10 Jenny 'O Turkey Franks, a 15oz can of Wal-Mart brand chili (which had all ingreds that were friendly to my IBS diet except the beef, but I haven't found a canned turkey chili I like yet). Obviously if you use an icky canned chili, it could ruin the entire recipe. The recipe calls for a small onion, so make sure you stick to that. I ended up with just over a cup from 3/4 of what I thought was a small onion, and a handful of leftover onion and for two onion lovers, we both thought it was too much. I added shredded cheddar to my bf's hot dogs separately and made mine without (for dietary reasons). I also did not assemble all 12 (btw I only had an 8 ct package of buns), but just made 4 for bf and me. The rest of the filling will prob freeze well. This was VERY quick and fit the bill for a night when I just had no energy to cook. Followed the rest of the recipe as directed. Very good! Made for PRMR. Thanks for sharing 2bleu! :) Btw, I liked the ratio of 10 hot dogs to 15oz of chili; as the recipe states it would seem the hot dogs would overwhelm the chili too much for my preferences. ETA: Made these again tonight, bf decided to speak his mind, "Why'd you cut the hot dogs up? They're a pain in the butt to eat that way." Lol! I told him I had to for the recipe game, because it would ruin the integrity of the recipe. He was actually sincerely annoyed by this, but understood why I kept to the recipe. I'm not going to change the star rating b/c of this, although it's good to keep in mind for picky eaters and traditionalists b/c it's one of the main features that makes this recipe different than other chili dogs, this might affect the ratings for some people.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      What a great idea! I BBQed the hotdogs first to give them a smoky flavour then chopped them. This made much more than 12, but we didn't mind in the least! I'm packing the leftovers in the freezer for a quick lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      Who doesn't like a chili cheese dog. These were especially easy and best of all (at least to us) not very messy. The only changes I made was to use onion powder instead of onions, use two cans of chili.. with and without beans (only DF likes beans) and also after taking some small pinches from two of the buns I realized It was starting to break up the roll, no matter how little I took so for the rest I just used the tips of my fingers and pressed a crevasse into each side - this seemed to work perfectly. Id like to try this with homemade chili also. Thanks for a great recipe 2Bleu

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      This was a great, easy family meal! I have two teenagers and they both really liked this. Quick clean up too. :) Prepared for "Please Review My Recipe Tag 2007".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Dog Tag-Alongs

    Serving Size: 1 (110 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.7
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    47%
    Total Fat 14.9 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 29.0 mg
    9%
    Sodium 735.7 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 10.9 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites