Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Dog Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Dog Sauce

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2002

      This truly was a yummy sauce, I divided it in half, only my hubby and me, but it was still perfect!!! He loved it....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2002

      Very easy to make although the prep was longer than 5 minutes more like 20min. I had to simmer it longer also. But the finished product was excellent. I have been trying to clone a sauce from an area hot dog shop for years and this is better so it is a KEEPER. Thanks for sharing! CandleLady9ah

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2002

      Until I saw your recipe I had never thought of having a sauce ready to use for hot dogs...this was really great. I'm just getting around to posting some reviews so I wanted to be sure and tell you that this made the family happy when we decided to have hot dogs for dinner. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      This recipe definately improved your average hot dog. I cut the recipe in half and there is still alot leftover. May find another use for it being that we are not big fans of hot dogs and don't eat them often. I did make one change by adding in a litle cumin. Thank you for posting this recipe. It will be prepared in the future...but for a crowd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2003

      Excellent recipe. this is very close to our dairy queen chili dog sauce. although i had to simmer for closer to 2 hours, definitely worth it. I froze the leftovers in 3 individual bags for later use. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2003

      This is actually better than our 'locally famous' hot dog shop's sauce! It is just delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      This sauce was good. I used it over pretzel dogs, and everybody loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      This made a ton!! We even had enough to freeze a whole seperate supper for this family of supper! Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      I did really enjoy this hot dog sauce, but I had to double the spices and add cumin and coriander so that the heat wasn't all at the same part of the mouth. This recipe is for a good mild sauce. If you like a zingier sauce, tweak with it and see.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      This was very good and easy. I left out the brown sugar and added a pinch or two of cayenne just because we don't like things to sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      Great Recipe. didn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      Excellent!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      I had a recipe for Hot Dog Sauce that I have used for 20 years…yep you guessed it I lost it…did not know it until I started the sauce last night…I am really bad on remembering the right amounts to use…but it turned out OK…I was looking at recipes today to see if I could find something close to the one I lost…I can tell you now that you have a very good recipe even without trying it…I used Cheyenne Pepper instead of the Pepper flakes and tomato sauce instead of paste but I didn’t need the water…however I do use beer to brown the beef in a covered pot…Thanks for posting your recipe you have saved my next cookout…

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      Thank you so much! I finally found a great recipe for hot dog sauce. I had a good one, but lost it. I made this for supper tonite, but couldn't help sampling it! I love this. I tweaked it a little with some of the seasonings, and I kicked it up another notch by adding some Jack Daniels to it. yummy, yummy, yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2005

      Good stuff! I made half a recipe since it is just DH and I. I added some beef bouillon cubes for a meater flavor and a little bit of sugar. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2004

      I made this for my little girl's birthday party, it is a winner! Everyone loved it and my cousin even got the recipe off the web for her son's party! The taste is just truly wonderful....thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      Wow, this really does make tons! This was so good. My DH loves sauce dogs. I froze about 5 containers of this. I just pull out a container whenever we have hot dogs. Makes it so easy. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2003

      I had never tried a hot dog sauce before this and Im glad I tried it, because this is very good! I froze the leftovers in portions so next time we have hot dogs I'll be sure to pull some out. Thanks Teresa M....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2003

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Dog Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (262 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 173.0
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    27%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 36.8 mg
    12%
    Sodium 533.6 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 13.5 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites