19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This truly was a yummy sauce, I divided it in half, only my hubby and me, but it was still perfect!!! He loved it....

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana Shrome September 02, 2002

Very easy to make although the prep was longer than 5 minutes more like 20min. I had to simmer it longer also. But the finished product was excellent. I have been trying to clone a sauce from an area hot dog shop for years and this is better so it is a KEEPER. Thanks for sharing! CandleLady9ah

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
candlelady9ah June 26, 2002

Until I saw your recipe I had never thought of having a sauce ready to use for hot dogs...this was really great. I'm just getting around to posting some reviews so I wanted to be sure and tell you that this made the family happy when we decided to have hot dogs for dinner. Thanks for posting!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rise` July 10, 2002

This recipe definately improved your average hot dog. I cut the recipe in half and there is still alot leftover. May find another use for it being that we are not big fans of hot dogs and don't eat them often. I did make one change by adding in a litle cumin. Thank you for posting this recipe. It will be prepared in the future...but for a crowd.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nisea916 April 26, 2010

Excellent recipe. this is very close to our dairy queen chili dog sauce. although i had to simmer for closer to 2 hours, definitely worth it. I froze the leftovers in 3 individual bags for later use. thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melsmom September 12, 2003

This is actually better than our 'locally famous' hot dog shop's sauce! It is just delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Duncan May 24, 2003

This sauce was good. I used it over pretzel dogs, and everybody loved them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ProudMommy5509 May 10, 2010

This made a ton!! We even had enough to freeze a whole seperate supper for this family of supper! Great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom.2.Three May 01, 2008

I did really enjoy this hot dog sauce, but I had to double the spices and add cumin and coriander so that the heat wasn't all at the same part of the mouth. This recipe is for a good mild sauce. If you like a zingier sauce, tweak with it and see.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarahGartland February 25, 2008

This was very good and easy. I left out the brown sugar and added a pinch or two of cayenne just because we don't like things to sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steveandsheila1 January 30, 2008
Hot Dog Sauce