Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Dog Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Dog Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2012

      Yum! I've done something like this with bagels but bread works well too! This is such a great idea, especially considering you can never buy the same amount of hot dogs as buns (silly, right?). I substituted a vegetarian hot dog for the Veg Swap game. For extra condiments, I added a little ranch and avocado. Next time I think I'll use 1 and 1/2 hot dogs per sandwich to cover the whole thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      These are wonderful! So simple and tasty! A nice alternative way to serve hot dogs. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2011

      My kids like these sandwiches. I never thought of adding hot dogs to a grilled cheese sandwich before, but this went over really well with the kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2010

      Easy and so good! I used veggie hot dogs and whole wheat toast. Thanks! Made for being VIP in the Vegetarian Swap-Aug. 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      I halved this for myself, and made it on a homemade cheese roll. I left off the ketchup, but added some dill chips. Tasty sandwich!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      I had to make this twice because.... The first time I made it I used whole wheat bread because we don't eat white bread anymore and I used bratwurst instead of hot dogs and DH applied his sliced onion condiment; neither of us liked this very well, and never having had these growing up -- we might be too old! lol DH is so intrigued by the simplicity of the recipe and that we like hot dogs, he made them again tonight with these changes: he soaked the bread in egg as you do with French toast, added BBQ sauce to the ketchup, and he fried the hot dogs and the completed sandwiches in butter. These changes did it for us and this will be staple lunch fare around here! Thanks Starrynews. Made for Spring 2010 PAC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      I made this recipe on 4/6/10 for my lunch and for " Soup-Salad-Sandwich "event in the Cooking Photo Forum.I sort of made the recipe as it was written ;), Instead of toasting the bread, it was made sort of like a grilled cheese. Except for grilling and adding some onions, the recipe was made as written. It's hard to believe that something so simple could be so good. Thank you for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      My mum used to make these all the time when I was a kid. Never with the cheese though. The cheese is a wonderful addition. I can't believe how it has been since I had one of these. I enjoyed it very much. I put mine on my GF countertop grill/press to let the cheese melt a bit. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      This was the perfect lunch for a busy day! I think toasting the bread makes the sandwich. I put the cheese over the hotdogs & melted it under the broiler beforeadding the toppings (personal preference). I also added fried onions to the topping (along with some mustard & relish). So simple, but so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      And I thought my husband was the one who discovered them! But he uses 2 slices of toast and 4 hot dogs. I like mine with mustard but he likes them just like in your recipe.If I'll tell him I reviwed this he'll ask for some!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      Oh wow, I totally forgot about these! My mom used to make these for us when we were little, too. She didn't put the cheese on them (or at least I don't recall cheese...), and I wouldn't make them that way now (I prefer just mustard), but othwerwise this is a great, different way to eat hot dogs. Great post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      I made a version of this for my kids when they were young. I'd grill or fry the hot dogs, then slice them in half....sometime I'd just cut little discs. Then I'd melt a little butter in a skillet and spread it on one half of two slices of bread. Put a slice of cheese and the hotdogs between the slices of bread, and make a grilled hotdog & cheese sandwich. Then I'd mix whatever each kid liked on their hot dog...ketchup and mayo, mayo and mustard, etc in a little ramekin and they would dunk the sandwich into the sauce. Really easy kid friendly lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      I thought everyone knew about this little gem! I prefer eating my hotdogs this way, adding mustard & mayo to the bread. To make the sandwich easier to handle I cut it in half between the dogs. Reviewed for Everyday is a Holiday Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      We made this all the time at home when we ran out of hot dog buns. I prefer it without the cheese, but Mom always added cheese to hers. Thanks for the reminder of simpler times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      What a tasty, easy, different way to do a hot dog! I made as directed, and added some mustard. It's perfect for the last few hot dogs in the pack that you ran out of hot dog buns for! Thanks for posting! Made for Theirs, Yours, & Mine Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      A sandwich approved by my sure-fire, pass-fail taste tester--the 3 year old grandbaby. Made for Everyday Is A Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      How odd my rating didn't show up however, my photo did. Anyway, I loved this. All the farm loved this. This is the type of comfort sandwich that just is so.......right. And so yummy. A great treat, and so very generous on taste. I first boiled these for 5 minutes, sliced them, and put them on the grill for about 2 more minutes, along with the bread, (I used a crispy country loaf) and spread the ketchup on the bottom, added the cheese, put this on the grill a bit more (about 30 seconds) and jammed into DH's mouth. Well, he jammed in, I just handed it to him, (after he put on some minced ice cold onion too). Great nostalgic picnic treat~ Made for *Everyday is a Holiday* July 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      Love this!! So easy and simple to throw together using a very common dinner at our house (but a nice way to switch it up a little, or when out of buns!!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Dog Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (109 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 328.5
     
    Calories from Fat 165
    50%
    Total Fat 18.4 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 32.9 mg
    10%
    Sodium 905.6 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 11.6 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites