Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Dog Onion Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Dog Onion Sauce

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2013

      Great recipe. A perfect splash of New York hustle on my Hebrew National! I do suggest substituting a squirt of sriracha sauce for the hot sauce and salt. Hot, sweet and a little salty... Just the way I like my women.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      I made this after reading the great reviews. It turned out great! My husband said it was delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      Great! Thank you. I usually buy the Boars Head onion sauce and I forgot to pick it up last week. I tried a different recipe first and it came out like over buttered ketchup paste. I tried yours the following day and it was wonderful. I will never buy store bought again when I can make it at home. Absolutely terrific. Comparable to Boars Head.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      This one is a keeper! We loved the flavor. Simply delicious, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      Very good. Very easy. Nice to serve hot dogs with a different blend of flavors. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      We loved this recipe. We made on a whim just to kick our hot dogs up a notch but loved it. As a matter of fact we had sausages 3 days later and made another batch to go on top of those! Very good...AAA+++

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      Never been to N Y, but had to try this. I didn't know if my hubby would like this, but we both gust loved it. Can't waite to serve this to guests. I would suggest to at least double or tripple the recipe, as it doesen't make much. You got to try it, you will like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      Delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      Easy to make with ingredients you most likely have on hand. Great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      Wow! this was outstanding! I will be making this one again and again!Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2006

      Simple sauce with an excellent blend of flavors. The cinnamon may seem odd, but is a great combo with the spice of the other seasonings. I did omit the hot sauce and instead added some red pepper flakes. This is a nice way to dress up hotdogs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2005

      Great topping for for hot dogs! I used a combonation of yellow and bermuda onions and the taste was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2005

      This is fantastic on hot dogs, but we also love to use it on hamburgers and sausage. It is easy and fast to make and no cookout should be without it :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2005

      I made this relish to go on grilled hot dogs. We haven't had a relish of this type before, but found it very enjoyable. I will probably add a touch more Tabasco sauce next time. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2005

      Whew doggies this is some good sauce! I doubled this and used 1 small red onion, 1 medium white onion, and 1 large sweet onion. The result was lots of onions in a tasty tangy sweet/sour like sauce. I will definitely be keeping this in mind for summer bbq's. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2005

      I accidently forgot the water but it didn't change that much. The saucey onions came out really nice - they were buttery and the sauce/onions, on the whole, didn't taste anything like fried onions mixed with ketchup. None of the spices were very pronounced. The recipes really only covered 6 hot dogs which is fine for two people, in my opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Dog Onion Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (427 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 397.6
     
    Calories from Fat 256
    64%
    Total Fat 28.4 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 849.5 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 23.0 g
    92%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes