149 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these last night and they were very good with burgers. I increased the salt a bit to give it more taste per reading reviews. I am planning on having these again with our leftover burgers but find them heavier and dense today after sitting out one day. If these buns were a bit more lighter in texture would be better. Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rinshinomori January 27, 2008

Was my family shocked that I made burger buns from scratch! I really don't think I could go back to buying the supermarket version again. Did use bread machine flour instead of all-purpose since that it was my bread machine recommends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat January 11, 2008

WOW! Fabulous recipe! I have tried about 10 different times to make my own burger buns (as I make all our bread). All 10 times I have failed! DH was getting frustrated but 'let' me try just one more time ;) I see your recipe and tell DH well if 79 other people made it and loved it, how bad can I screw it up?! I did not use a bread machine, just mixed the dough in my stand mixer. However, I flattened them out to the thickness of a pancake and they did not rise nearly enough. Maybe I make thinner pancakes?! So i re-kneaded it all and flattened them out to about 3/4 of an inch thick. PERFECT!! I will always use your recipe! Thanks for letting me save face for DH!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thebearswife January 07, 2008

How can you ever eat the junk from the store again! Really easy to make and sooooo good. Even my picky husband said he wants them all the time now. I have started keeping the dry ingredients in plastic bags so all I have to do is add the liquid to my ABM and wait. So easy and the perfect size every time. Thanks, you may have changed a small part of our lives!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fraulineanette January 07, 2008

I've made both dinner rolls and hamburger buns out of this. I checked the dinner rolls at 15 minutes and they were already a bit overdone, so when I made the hamburger buns I checked them at 13 minutes and they were already done. I used 1/4 cup sugar both times and that was just about right for us. We thought the dinner rolls were really good. The flavor was right for the hamburger buns, but the texture seemed a bit off. I'd also make them smaller, if I use this recipe for burger buns again. Dividing it into 9 buns made for very large buns. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleturtle December 19, 2007

My buns came out wonderful, thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PinkPanther December 11, 2007

These were very good and a cinch to bake. In fact, you gave excellent instructions that were easy to follow. We had them for breakfast this morning...I made an egg sandwich out of my omelet. They were so much better tasting than the generic buns you get in the supermarket! I would definitely try them again! The only thing that was a minor problem was that they spread out too much. I think that next time I will make more of them, so they will be smaller in size. The recipe DID say LARGE buns! I think that I would make 12 buns the next time I try them. After cooling them, I split them in half and froze the ones we weren't going to eat right away. Now I will have some in reserve when the need arises. Thank you for posting, Dorel.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie in Florida November 13, 2007

WoW! I can't believe I made my own hamburger buns! They were absolutely delicious and so easy! My husband and daughter were very impressed and thought the buns were great! I will definately be making these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Niki-G October 22, 2007

I've made both Hamburger buns now and hot dog buns. I will NEVER EVER AGAIN use store bought, that's for sure. My hubby & kids love these! Thanks, Dorel, for sharing this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neeney September 20, 2007

WOW WOW WOW! This is the first time I have made bread that was soooo soft! It will be the only bread recipe I use for rolls now! Thank you so much Dorel xx

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Funkydelia September 19, 2007
Hot Dog/Hamburger Buns/Rolls/Cinnamon Buns Dough Cycle A.b.m.