149 Reviews

I cannot praise this recipe enough; I would certainly give it more than 5 stars if I could. I very recently purchased a bread machine, and wanted to make some hot dog buns. This was the first recipe I tried for the machined dough, and I do not need to search further.<br/>These buns came out beautifully! The texture was incredible, the flavor was delicious. I used 1% milk instead of skim (that's what we keep on hand), I used the 1/4 cup of the sugar, and I did add 1 teaspoon of vital wheat gluten per cup of all purpose flour.<br/>I will most definitely be using this recipe again, and can't wait to try it for hamburger buns and cinnamon rolls. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kay D. August 08, 2013

Absolutely as advertised! My first time making homemade cinnamon rolls from scratch, and of a double batch, there's 2 left, and I suspect those won't be there much longer the way my housemate's eyeballing them. Next time, I'll use a scoch more cinnamon and sugar, but otherwise these were easily better than what we get at the local grocery store bakery, and not nearly as greasy! (Edited to add stars - forgot the first time!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThatCaptJim April 24, 2012

I made hot dog buns using 1/2 whole wheat 1/2 all purpose flour and they turned out great! Can't believe how much they look like store bought, only they taste so much better. Can't wait to try the cinnamon bun version:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u January 19, 2012

This is a fabulous recipe with many uses! I used it to make cinnamon rolls last week (1/3 cup sugar) and I used it today to make dinner rolls. It made a LOT of rolls but my boys (including my hubby) had about 5 each!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dine November 27, 2011

I have a question...mine did not turn out fluffy. I used bread flour, and the only oil I had was olive oil. Do you think thats why mine were dense? I was soo excited to try these, and so sad when I didnt do it right??

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
healinghands111 November 01, 2011

I am still a noob at making any type of dough/bread. I decided to use this recipe for my second attempt at cinnamon rolls. I do not have a bread machine so, I did everything by hand. As if this recipe needs anymore praise... they were simply amazing! My friend said they were better than her mothers and my kids had three a piece! They were huge cinnamon rolls; I made a dozen. I used brown sugar and cinnamon for the sugar mix and a light sugar glaze. They were so beautiful and delicious! I wish they had lasted long enough for a picture. I can't wait to try this recipe for everything else it can make. Thanks for making a bread maker out of me Dorel!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissHeather September 21, 2011

I have used this recipe for three different things. For all three batches I went almost completely by the directions given. The one thing I did differently was I added only 3 cups of flour to start and then slowly added until the dough was smooth. I probably only used about 3 1/4 cups per recipe. The first batch I made rolls. I put them in a muffin pan and right before putting them in the oven I brushed them with butter, garlic and a sprinkle of sea salt. AMAZING! Then I tried making some hamburger buns. Not so great but that was my fault. Last, I made cinnamon rolls. They were sooooooooo good. This is a great, versatile recipe. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OhLaDeDa June 14, 2011

I used 2 percent milk & it wasn't missing anything. It smelled so delicious and made excellent sandwich bread, I just baked as directed for the hamburgers. I just wish it would keep its freshness longer because I want to make the full recipe but I don't want to be eating that many sandwiches each week. I guess I'll look into freezing them. I'm certainly going to be using this recipe frequently.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake Em N Take Em March 19, 2011

These turned out great! My mom is on a low sodium diet so I decreased the salt to 1/4 t with no ill effects. I then divided the dough in half, made hamburger buns (8) with half and (12) cinnamon rolls with the rest. The cinnamon rolls were good even though I didn't use the larger amount of sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferK2 January 27, 2011

I made cinnamon rolls, and they were really good. I love those sweet Hawaiian dinner rolls and this dough kind of reminded me of them. Definitely a keeper recipe, thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS November 29, 2010
Hot Dog/Hamburger Buns/Rolls/Cinnamon Buns Dough Cycle A.b.m.