149 Reviews

I don't have much baking experience. To be honest, it's not my kind of thing. I'm more the fire and action guy in the kitchen. Also I don't have a bread machine, but I decided to try this recipe. So here's a description of what I did for those who are in the same shoes than me and would like to try it. I replaced the vegetable oil with 6 Tbsp of butter. I also used only 2 Tbsp of sugar (not a big fan of sweet buns). I used 1 1/2 tsp of salt and used instant yeast since I don't have a bread machine and the recipe calls for bread machine yeast. I also used my standing mixer. The recipe came out good so here's a detailed description, that I hope would help: 1) Put half of the flour, salt, sugar and instant yeast in the bowl of standing mixer with paddle attachement and mix on low. In a small saucepan, melt the butter with milk over low heat. When butter has melted, check the temperature of milk. If around 120F, then pour the liquid to bowl of mixer and mix until you get a batter. Change the paddle to a dough hook and mix over low heat by adding the remaining of flour little by little (you may not use all the flour. I ended up using about 3 1/2 cup of flour). Continue adding flour until the dough pulls away from the side of the bowl. Increase speed to medium (I had mine of speed # 3) and work the dough until smooth and elastic, about 5-8 minutes (this is the kneading process that you normally would do by hand). If dough climbs up the hook, stop the machine, push the dough back, and continue kneading with the mixer. Remove dough from the mixing bowl and transfer to a sprayed bowl (metal bowls should be avoided since they conduct heat). Cover bowl with plastic wrap and let the dough rise until doubled (mine took only about 1 hour, but normally it's about 1-2 hours). I then punched down the dough, transfered it to a floured surface and let it rest for 5 minutes. Then I continues the recipe as directed and I actually cooked by bread for about 15 minutes, rotating the sheet pan after 10 minutes for even browning and cooking of the bread. The bread was soft (not as soft as store bought, but we enjoyed it alot). I will try the recipe making small sliders for hors d'oeuvres for my catering business.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TOAST Catering March 31, 2008

Yum! The first time, I used soy milk and my hubby spit it back out of his mouth. I also didn't do a second rise so it was dense. The second time, milk didn't let me down. Thank you.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wana-B-cook March 24, 2011

Wow! These were terrific. I don't have a bread machine so I had to use a hand held mixer with dough hooks. I ran the beater on 2 level for about 3-5 minutes. THe dough looked silky and smooth. Dough doubled in 45 mins. I made rolls and hoggies they game out terrific. Color was beautiful, texture was perfect and had good flavor as well. I used 1/3 cup sugar and will definately decrease to 1/4 next time. Honestly I realy didn't think I would have success with the 1st batch so I was pleasantly surprised. My husband still insists they were store bought!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rkluch June 10, 2010

What a great recipe!!! I dont have a bread machine but bread turned out perfect. After mixing the ingredients (have to warm the milk), not much kneading is required. I use the dough to wrap frank fruitters, ham & cheese & they turned out like those sold at the shops. Everyone in the family loves the soft bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karenfung3 February 11, 2010

I don't use a bread machine but made this by normal methods. The first time my buns didn't turn out great, but I knew what I did wrong. The 2nd time I was so sure I made a double batch. I increased yeast to a full ounce (on the double batch), mixed my heated liquid w/a portion of the flour and all of the other dry, turned and worked on a flour surface till smooth and did a double rise. I shaped my buns for the 2nd rise being sure to pack them close (if not touching) on my pan to promote a higher 2nd rise. The hamburger buns I made one round and then made another round to set lightly on top of the first so I had pull apart buns at the end. The only problem I had was my wife and son ate most of the bread before they could be used as sandwiches.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bonita_colombia May 19, 2008

This is an excellent recipe, Dorel. I don't have a bread machine so I did pretty much the same as Heather - I warmed the milk then added the sugar and yeast to it. I cut the sugar down to 1 Tablespoon because I didn't want my burger buns too sweet. I made 10 burger buns - 5 we ate that night and I froze the other 5 for next time we have burgers. The buns looked and tasted great. This is definitely a recipe that I will use a lot!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fairy Nuff February 07, 2005

Great recipe. I used only 1 tsp yeast. Most recipes call for way too much yeast. I had a great rise with 1 tsp and no overwhelming yeasty taste. <br/>I also made this vegan by using almond milk. I used all whole wheat flour. I decreased the sugar because I read in other reviews that it was too sweet, but I wish I had added it all in, because I noticed it needed a little more sweetness.<br/>At any rate, this is a really fantastic recipe and I'll make it again. Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adams.wifey December 28, 2014

I am rating this for the cinnamon rolls. My daughter is allergic to eggs and soy, and I was looking for a hamburger bun recipe suitable for her. I saw this recipe and while I am going to make the hamburger buns, I immediately wanted to make the cinnamon rolls. I had previously been unsuccessful in finding a cinnamon roll recipe that didn't have eggs (that I felt compelled to make). I got my bread machine out last night as my husband was cooking dinner. I warmed the milk to about 110 degrees and then proceeded with adding the rest of the ingredients. 90 minute later I was rolling out my rectangle of dough (and very excited). I spread a half a stick of butter (maybe a little less) over the dough and then I spread 1 cup of brown sugar mixed with 2 1/2 tablespoons of cinnamon over the butter. Patted it down and very gently put my rolling pin over the surface. I rolled them tightly and cut them at least 1 3/4 inches (I tried dental floss cutting, but went with my sushi knife instead). I placed them cut side down in two round foil pans. One pan got wrapped and put in the freezer. The other pan I wrapped and put in the refrigerator. Before I went to bad, I turned on the oven light and set the pan of cinnamon rolls in the oven (do NOT turn on oven). This morning, they were ready to bake when I got up. I put together a frosting (2 oz cream cheese, 7 tbls butter, 2 tablespoons milk, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1/4 tsp salt and 1 1/2 cups confectioners sugar). These were AMAZING. My daughter is over the moon happy (which makes me happy) and my husband said they were awesome as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Figueroa February 22, 2014

This was an excellent dough to work with. I made hot dog buns and a peach preserve cream cheese braid with the other half of the dough. Both were equally impressive. I was most surprised by how much this dough raised during the cooking process. I made this by hand letting my stand mixer do the kneading. I began and finished with a dough hook and a mixing shield. I heated my milk in the microwave to a warm temperature, added the yeast, one t. of sugar to allow it to proof. I replaced the sugar in the recipe with 1/4 c. honey in place of sugar, began combining the other ingredients in the mixer and once the yeast had proofed (began to grow and present with foam-this takes about 10 minutes), it was go time. I began on level 1 and graduated up to level 2 of my stand mixer, sprayed a glass bowl, and placed in the oven that I had previously heated to 200 degrees and then immediately shut off (to create a warm environment for the yeast to rise). After one hour, I removed the dough, punched down and shaped into desired rolls, braid. Again, I let rise for one hour inside the oven and then baked each separately at 350 degrees. They turned out a beautiful brown and were the perfect size, texture. Impressive indeed. Thanks for an excellent recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Domestic Diva January 22, 2014

I've made this recipe many times in my A.B.M. and it always works out great for me. I even made it into a loaf. For cinnamon buns it is unmatched by anything else I've tried. Dinner rolls are awesome. Hot dog and hamburger buns I dropped the amount of suger slightly so as not to be so sweet. Very good as well. All in all this is my go to recipe for sweet bread. Very versatile. I'm making it in my KitchenAid mixer today for the first time and I have no doubt that it should work out fine in there to. Great recipe Dorel

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zzzdreamerzzz December 30, 2013
Hot Dog/Hamburger Buns/Rolls/Cinnamon Buns Dough Cycle A.b.m.