20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for lunch today for the kiddos! I have made a similar thing but with boxed mac and cheese, and this was much better! I threw some peas into the equation too. The kids really liked it. Thanks for an easy way to please all three of my kids for lunch, Heather!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canarygirl September 26, 2002

Very rich! Took lots of time and care to cook up the flour, milk and onion, but was well worth it. Tastes like potatoes au gratin but with macaroni and hot dogs in it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ccf913 August 07, 2003

AWESOME!!!!!!!! We had this tonight for a family B-day dinner and it was just marvelous!!! Highly recommended...........The kids went back for seconds and thirds, well so did some of the grow ups!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Capncrunch September 21, 2003

I make this dish for my grand children but use potatoes instead of the macaroni

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane schoemaker May 13, 2002

This was a tasty meal with a lot of leftovers. I used too much pasta and added corn and mushrooms to the onion step, next time I'd like to use a sharp cheddar or velveeta like mentioned. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore August 20, 2012

On 11/20/11 I made this recipe for the Universal Dishes/Child's Play Event in the Food Photo Forum and most importantly mine and SO's dinner. I cooked 6 ounces of pasta, used 3 Tablespoons of butter, 1/3 cup of finely chopped onion and 1/4 cup of flour.Then added 1 1/2 cups of milk, 1 1/2 cups of cheese, and a lot of salt and pepper.Instead of putting the pasta and hot dogs into a prepared baking dish then pouring the cheese sauce over it, everything was mixed in the same pan that the sauce was made in. After pouring everything into the prepared dish the remaining cheese was sprinkle over the top and baked for about 30 minutes to get the top really browned and crusty. After a couple of bites,we decided that is was pretty good but it needed a bit more salt and pepper. Thank you for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � November 21, 2011

I wanted some comfort food and had all the ingredients for this. I followed someones advice and added a couple cans of Green Chilis. Even with this it was still fairly bland but they added to it nicely. It is a good start but I think it needs something more. I appreciate the recipe I want to experiment a bit with it. Thanks again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill Butler July 25, 2011

Not what I hoped....but it was good. I think a spice of some sort would be good. Maybe green chiles or something. Next time I'll jazz it up.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glynn April 03, 2009

DH would give this 10 stars if he could...I made it for him cuz he's a hot dog lover! I thought this recipe was really good, even to use it as a basic mac & cheese recipe. I used cheddar cheese in place of american & also added some parm. I didn't add the chese to the ronis as stated, I added it to the milk mixture and then added the ronis & dogs. I also browned the dogs before adding. Yummy for an occasional treat, too high calorie for anything else. Thanks, Heather!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janni402 February 11, 2009

Yum! This is so easy to put together with ingredients I always have on hand and is quick too! I used light hot dogs and sharp cheddar for the cheese. I think this would be very good using ham too, which I want to try next! Will definitely be having this again, thank you for sharing your recipe! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Breezytoo June 13, 2008
Hot Dog Casserole