Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Dog Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Dog Casserole

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2002

      I made this for lunch today for the kiddos! I have made a similar thing but with boxed mac and cheese, and this was much better! I threw some peas into the equation too. The kids really liked it. Thanks for an easy way to please all three of my kids for lunch, Heather!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2003

      Very rich! Took lots of time and care to cook up the flour, milk and onion, but was well worth it. Tastes like potatoes au gratin but with macaroni and hot dogs in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2003

      AWESOME!!!!!!!! We had this tonight for a family B-day dinner and it was just marvelous!!! Highly recommended...........The kids went back for seconds and thirds, well so did some of the grow ups!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      I make this dish for my grand children but use potatoes instead of the macaroni

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      This was a tasty meal with a lot of leftovers. I used too much pasta and added corn and mushrooms to the onion step, next time I'd like to use a sharp cheddar or velveeta like mentioned. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      On 11/20/11 I made this recipe for the Universal Dishes/Child's Play Event in the Food Photo Forum and most importantly mine and SO's dinner. I cooked 6 ounces of pasta, used 3 Tablespoons of butter, 1/3 cup of finely chopped onion and 1/4 cup of flour.Then added 1 1/2 cups of milk, 1 1/2 cups of cheese, and a lot of salt and pepper.Instead of putting the pasta and hot dogs into a prepared baking dish then pouring the cheese sauce over it, everything was mixed in the same pan that the sauce was made in. After pouring everything into the prepared dish the remaining cheese was sprinkle over the top and baked for about 30 minutes to get the top really browned and crusty. After a couple of bites,we decided that is was pretty good but it needed a bit more salt and pepper. Thank you for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      I wanted some comfort food and had all the ingredients for this. I followed someones advice and added a couple cans of Green Chilis. Even with this it was still fairly bland but they added to it nicely. It is a good start but I think it needs something more. I appreciate the recipe I want to experiment a bit with it. Thanks again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      Not what I hoped....but it was good. I think a spice of some sort would be good. Maybe green chiles or something. Next time I'll jazz it up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      DH would give this 10 stars if he could...I made it for him cuz he's a hot dog lover! I thought this recipe was really good, even to use it as a basic mac & cheese recipe. I used cheddar cheese in place of american & also added some parm. I didn't add the chese to the ronis as stated, I added it to the milk mixture and then added the ronis & dogs. I also browned the dogs before adding. Yummy for an occasional treat, too high calorie for anything else. Thanks, Heather!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      Yum! This is so easy to put together with ingredients I always have on hand and is quick too! I used light hot dogs and sharp cheddar for the cheese. I think this would be very good using ham too, which I want to try next! Will definitely be having this again, thank you for sharing your recipe! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      Thanks for the post Heather.. Came in handy since I had an abundance of Hot Dogs I had to use up within the week. I made it exactly how it states plus a sprinkle or two of Johnny's and a Tbs. of minced Garlic. I also used your suggestion at the bottom to use chedder (cause that is what I had on hand) Anywhoo.. Thanks Again.. Will make again.. :) All 4 of my guys liked it.. What guy doesn't love cheese and meat??? ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2004

      this was great the children loved it. its quick and easy and great for nights or at lunch time when your tired and dont feel likeing cooking much

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      My husband makes a version of this recipe with boxed macaroni and cheese. In addition to the ingredients you have, he puts sour cream and green onion tops. He tops it with cheddar and sliced tomatoes sprinkled with fresh-grated parmesan. Everyone loves it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2012

      Heather this was delicious,my whole family enjoyed..Thanks for posting..Brenda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      To be honest, I only made this because we really need to go to the store (which I didn't feel like doing tonight) and hotdogs popped out to me when I opened the fridge. I must say, it was surprisingly good. I did change it up a bit (out of necessity) and used No Yolk Noodles rather than macaroni but even with using a different-style noodle it was great. I can't say this is something I'll make "regularly" though because I felt like I was standing in front of the stove for the entire "cook/prep" time and for a weekday, cook-what-ya-got meal I'd rather go for something easier (but that's just me). Overall, I recommend giving it a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      This was very good. We did add some chili powder for a little kick, and it was still a little on the bland side, but overall the kids loved it! Thanks for a simple easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      I gave this recipe 3 stars. This recipe got mixed reviews at my house. My 6 yr old newphew and 7 yr old niece did not like this casserole. My future hubby and I liked it. When I made this I used Velveeta and cheddar topping with the cheddar. Overall I think I'll try this again when it just my future hubby and I. Thanks for posting a good recipe. Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      My wife asked me to make dinner so I used this website that she uses all the time. This recipe was awesome! A delicious and easy to make dinner and it takes no time at all. I will use it again, although I might spice it up a little bit next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      I cooked this the other night for my husband and 6 month old daughter. My husband is very picky and he actually liked this and my little one who is just learning to eat table food enjoyed it as well. it was easy to make and im going to use is as a basic for my bi-weekly menu...I think it would be fun to play with the ingrediants some as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2004

      This is very much a comfort food for a lazy day when you do not want to cook. very good! Margie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Dog Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (141 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 435.3
     
    Calories from Fat 220
    50%
    Total Fat 24.4 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 56.9 mg
    18%
    Sodium 670.1 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    American cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites