10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It was just too sweet for my taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BL834 February 01, 2010

This is SO good!!! I'm surprised it tastes very rich with the low-fat powdered milk. Thanks for sharing it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lausanne January 23, 2010

Very good cocoa! We love the dark cocoa best, so this was perfect for us. Also great as it was sugar free. I'm taking a tin to work to have when I need a cocoa pick-me-up :) A keeper cocoa recipe ~ thanks Ratu Moko ~ made for COMFORT CAFE ~SNOWQUEEN'S ROUND, January 2010!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative January 10, 2010

Really enjoyed this. When I was a child mother used to try and disguise powdered milk with chocolate and it never worked. This recipe erase all those memories as I could not tell it was powdered milk and happily drank every last drop. Am now a big fan of Hot Dark Cocoa. Cut recipe in half and got three good size mugs. Thanks so much for the yummy post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl January 01, 2010

This is probably 1 of 3 or 4 hot cocoas I've made, & IT IS DEFINITELY ONE OF THE BEST! I'm a big fan of dark chocolate, so this recipe was a great find! And the idea of keeping it around as a mix is GREAT! Thanks for posting the recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my adopted chefs in the current Pick A Chef]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 05, 2009

DH thanks you for posting this recipe. I made is this as a cocoa mix. I used Dutch Process Cocoa and vanilla powder. The cocoa, Splenda, powdered milk and vanilla powder were whirled around in the blender. To make a cup of steaming hot cocoa, I used 3 heaping teaspoons of the mix along with 8 oz of boiling water. Made for *PAC Spring 2009*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG March 29, 2009

I also made this as a mix to have on hand to make by the cup. I put everything except the water (including the vanilla extract) in the food processor and mixed to a fine powder (put the extract in while processor is running so it won't lump) and stored it in an airtight jar. Great flavor. I love the Special Dark cocoa. I am going to keep this in the motorhome for making hot chocolate while camping. Made for Spring 2009 PAC. UPDATE: I put a couple of spoonfuls in my coffee this morning for a great mocha!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey March 29, 2009

Thanks to the helpful suggestions from previous reviewers, I now have a jar of hot chocolate mix in my cupboard, ready to go at a moment's notice. I too, find that 3 tablespoons makes the perfect cup, even without the tasty, but not absolutely necessary, addition of the splash of vanilla. I greatly feared that the mix would taste of powdered milk, but it doesn't, and it is comforting to know that I can enjoy this drink without all the chemicals of the commercial brands.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo January 29, 2009

There's something special about a steaming mug of hot chocolate on a chilly wet prairie evening - good to know that something that tastes this good has all those redeeming qualities. Like Coffee B I mixed the dry ingredients - filling the mix into a jar. Found three heaping tablespoons to a cup of boiling water was just right for me. Gave it little splash of real vanilla. This mix makes for a great Hot Chocolate, rich tasting without using full milk or the sugar. It's a keeper - thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry November 12, 2008

This is a wonderful and guilt-free hot-chocolate mix. I doubled the recipe and put all the dry ingredients in a gallon zip-lock baggie. In this way, I have it on hand for whenever. To make I use 3 heaping tablespoons to 1 cup boiling water. Thow just a splash of vanilla in the bottom of your mug, although I'd say this is optional. Love the use of dark cocoa as opposed to regular cocoa. Makes it just a touch richer for taste. Thanks for sharing a great keeper recipe Ratu.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB November 09, 2008
Hot Dark Cocoa, Sugar Free