Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Cross Buns - Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Cross Buns - Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2011

      These buns were the best!! The dough turns out the softest baked buns. I followed the ingredients as written. I changed a few things baking them though after looking on the bbc food website. I baked the buns at 475F for 9 minutes. Before baking I made a flour paste from 2 TBS flour and 2 TBS water. Mixed it in a baggie and piped it in the cut crosses. This turned out more authentic to the buns I ate whilst in England. After baking I brush them with sugar glaze. I think this is some of the best homemade bread I have ever made!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      Easy, easy, easy! Not to mention great tasting, light and fluffy. I cut mine into 16 as that seemed to fit the 13 x 8 dish perfectly. Unglazed they are great toasted too. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Mmmmmm! We *loved* these! I reduced the butter to 1/4 cup, as someone else had suggested, and put in raisins, currants, and cut up dried apricots. I watched the machine as it was mixing, and did add more flour. Not sure how much more. I cut the crosses in quite deeply, and could see them when they came out of the oven. Will definitely be making these again. Thanks, Oster71.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2004

      These were excellent! I did have to add about 1/2 or more cups of flour to the first knead in the machine. I used 1 tsp. lemon peel, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, 1/4 tsp. cloves. I took 1/3 cup of candied peel and mixed it with a little flour and chopped it up into fine pieces and added during signal. I got 16 buns that fit nicely into my 13 x 9 glass baking dish and I baked them at 350 degrees for approx. 20 minutes. The dough was so soft after the second rise, I couldn't cut the crosses on top. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      Great buns! Loved all the flavors in them plus the frosting. Mine did take a long time(2 hours) to raise but finally got big enough to bake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      This recipe works really well for me. Hubbie absolutely loves them, so they don't last long at all. Thanks! :o)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      These were good, but a little heavy. I did add another handful of flour to the breadmaker when I added the fruit because the dough was too wet. I wanted to make authentic hot cross buns for Easter, and I think I'll keep looking for the right recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      As far as I know, I had never had a hot cross bun. I believe I'm converted! I did make some changes: I substituted 1 cup of whole wheat flour for 1 cup of the white. I used orange zest instead of lemon and homemade candied orange peel for the raisins. I also used orange juice in the glaze. The flavor was incredible! Not too sweet, not too spicy and I liked the density of the buns. I did have trouble with the second rise, but I was using expired yeast, so I was thrilled they had risen at all. I didn't make the crosses, just drizzled the glaze over the buns. Too much work to cross! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      These had a nice flavor. The texture seemed too dense, but once they were toasted, it transformed them into a nice, flaky hot cross bun. I will definitely be using this recipe again. Thanks for sharing! Oh, I saw people commenting on how soupy their dough was...if you live in a humid area, it is normal to have to add more flour. You might want to start by using less liquid. I cut back by 1/4 c milk and still had to add a 1/2c flour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      I didn"t ice them but they don"t need it they were excellent. I also used 1/4 cup raisins and 1/4 cup cut mixed peel. I will be making these again. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      Excellent and so easy with the bread machine. The best hot cross bun, the spices were just right! I did use a good bit more powdered sugar in the icing to get it to the consistency it should be for drizzling. Skipped cutting crosses in the dough, brushed with egg white before baking at 375 for about 15 minutes. Delicious and everyone loved them. Thanks, Oster71! UPDATE: I've been making these for four years now, and this year added 1 T vital wheat gluten which I believe improved the texture of the rolls. Excellent! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      These buns, while they taste great (good combination of spices), are a bit dense (too much flour?). It took a couple hours or so for these to rise and then I gave up and put them in the oven. They smell great, though next time I'll try using a little less flour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      Delicious!! I have never tried Hot Cross Buns before but wanted to make them with my boys for Good Friday today. In the past when I've made bread I have not been successful in getting it to rise, so I was nervous these would not turn out. What I ended up doing was boiling a few cups of water and putting the bowl of hot water beneath the pan of rolls, which was covered with a warm damp towel, in the oven (which was OFF). Worked like a charm! They turned out wonderful and delicious! Although the cross was not very evident on the tops.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      This is definitely the recipe I will use, and not just for Easter. I made some changes to adapt for a diabetic diet (ie, Egg Beaters 1/4 cup plus 2 TBSP instead of egg and yolk, no salt Celeb margarine instead of butter, 3 TBSP fructose plus 3 TBSP granular Splenda instead of sugar) and the buns were still wonderful. I also eliminated the glaze for the same reason. Thanks for submitting such a special treat for the holiday and beyond.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Loved it. Actually left out the raisins because one of my kids does not like them. These are great with coffee and tea. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      What a flexible recipe! I used 1/2 cup yellow raisins and 1/8 cup dried cranberries. I used King Arthur Bread Flour as well. I actually forgot to add the yeast when I first put this through the dough cycle. After the first dough cycle was complete I discovered my mistake. I then dissolved the yeast over about 1/4 cup warm water for five minutes. I added that and about another 1/4 cup of flour to machine and ran the dough cycle again. Perfection! The dough is sticky so I kneaded it in a dusting of flour before making the rolls. I made 18 buns - 12 in a 9x12 and 4 in an 8x8. These were the best hot cross buns ever. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      I have never liked the store bought Hot Cross buns , too dry or not enough fruit and all bread. This is an excellent recipe ! I have to do some slight tweaking. I too had to add more flour since the dough looked pretty sticky during kneading. I added a Tablespoon at a time but didn't count how many. I just watched it till it looked ok. I am not a fan of nutmeg and cut the recipe's nutmeg amount in half. When taste testing, I did not like the nutmeg & clove taste so I am going to eliminate them next time and just use the cinnamon. Other than that.....YUM, YUM, delicious !! Will be making these often ! Thank you for posting this recipe !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Great easy recipe! I used orange zest ( was out of lemon) and raisins. I made 12 decent sized rolls because I cut them to large but they are great regardless. They are big, fluffy and full of flavor. Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      Wonderful recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      I made these for our Easter Brunch this year and they were a huge hit! Everyone was in love with them and has requested them at every Brunch from here on... Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Cross Buns - Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (39 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.9
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    25%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 30.1 mg
    10%
    Sodium 138.0 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites