9 Reviews

I agree with the other low reviews, so much as to say that indeed it was quite a waste of ingredients (about $20). It was so disappointing. The recipe called for 1/4 too much cream cheese, and frankly, it has no taste other than a spicy-ness. Imitation crab meat also did not fare well, so it might be better with real crab meat--which I'm glad I saved for another recipe I was making. Overall, I would not make this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annarepublic November 23, 2012

I just served this dip to 2 friends and my husband who are accustomed to my repertoire of fabulous recipes and yummy cooking....all 4 of us were very disappointed, and certainly did not come back for more. I was especially disappointed to have made a double batch and wasted all the ingredients. It was not operator error, I have no trouble following recipes, and it was not a tastebud issue, we all like spicy foods, and especially anything cajun. I won't be making this recipe again. sorry for the poor review, i just felt misled by all the wonderful reviews it got, and hope to save someone else any disappointment in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
something.red February 10, 2010

This recipe is super yummy. I made it for Xmas the two years ago. Now anytime my family has a function, they ask me to make this. Think I will make some tonight!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charity.martin July 24, 2009

What a wonderful recipe!! I was scared it would not turn out well..but wow...it was such a HUGE hit at our little gathering. Can't wait to have it again! Thanks sis!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thealvarezfamily August 27, 2008

So sorry to give this a low rating, but we could not taste anything other than the hot spices. If you like spicy hot, you will like this dip; I was looking for something rich and crabby tasting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lacer June 15, 2008

Used 1/2 tbs cajun seasoning. Nuked and used crockpot to keep warm. Super yummy and easy to whip together. Thanks for the neat recipe Anita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef crazycookie May 27, 2007

Woo-hoo! This dip is FABULOUS! Perfect amount of zestiness and green onion in every bite. I used a full pound of fresh crabmeat (about 2 cups...I had to use it up). I garnished with some extra chopped green onion tops. For those who don't like spicy food, just cut the spices in half. I'll be making this for many upcoming get-togethers. Thanx for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* March 11, 2006

This was awesome. My sister-in-law made this for Christmas. She added a little more horseradish to give it some zing and it was excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jim Kerr December 26, 2004

This was excellent. This was another appetizer that we had for our family Christmas gathering. I think next time I will add some sauteed garlic and add more of the grab meat. Served this with assorted crackers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ December 26, 2004
Hot Creole Crab Dip