Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Cocoa Mix - Large Quantity Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Cocoa Mix - Large Quantity

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2009

      Made a full batch of this recipe to keep some for my cold winter nights and give some in Gift Baskets. This is a very sweet and delicious Cocoa Mix, perfect for a kids palette, but will cut the sugar in half next time as an adult might find it a bit too sweet. Thank you for a lovely treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Once before I made a recipe similar to this one & really liked it, so, why not another one! Very easy to put together, & I'll take Chabear's tips (adding it to holiday gift baskets as well as cutting back on the sugar)! Thanks for a wonderful treat! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my adopted orphans in the current Pick A Chef]

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      I just used this recipe to make cocoa for our school's movie night. The full batch added to 5 gallons of hot water made amazing hot cocoa! We did two batches and served about 200 small cups. Our local coffee shop lent us their large Cambro's full of hot water so all we had to do was pour in the mix and stir. I recommend using a large whisk to eliminate clumps. Everyone loved it. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      I made half the amount as that was a better amount for us. I used a bit less sugar as we don't like to sweet. I was amazed that you can make this when you think how much it costs to buy in wee sachets in the shop, I will never buy it again. I think putting it in little jars for gifts is a great idea, my grandsons are chocoholics and love this. Well done. Made for PAC 2009 I just wanted to add that i had some evaporated milk left over so i left enough room for just a little, mixed it in and oh my it was sooo!!! nice, you might like to try. I admit it was Shear indulgence

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      Thank you! I had a recipe very close to this and lost it in the move. My kids love cocoa in the morning before school and would wreck my budget if I had to keep buying it at the store.This recipe is excellent and budget friendly. Sometimes, i replace the coffee creamer, with a flavored creamer, my kids really dig it when I use french vanilla.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      YUM! Loved the convenience of using entire packages. This was really tasty! We use the organic creamer from Whole Foods which is very expensive, so I appreciated a recipe that also used dry milk - it made the creamer go a lot farther.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      Great! Couldn't say that "a little powder goes a long way" because you had to use quite a bit for a cup or two, but it was still delicious. I made so much of this for Christmas gifts, and got great reviews! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      Absolutely Delicious! I only made 1/2 of the recipe and it made a lot. Had enough gift sized containers for 8 people. Also,of the mix I made, I altered half by mixing in a teaspoon of cinnamon, some expresso powder, and some vanilla sugar I had and whirled it all in the food processor till it was powder. Excellent recipe and the coffee creamer fat content for each serving is negligible if you use non-fat powdered milk. Low fat and protein from the powdered milk - it's yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      Thank you! Just what I was looking for--a mix that included exactly these 4 ingredients. I read on the Hershey's cocoa box to add a dash of salt to their recipe of hot chocolate. I did this with my cup and I think it brings out the chocolate flavor more. One more hint: I use a wire wisk to stir the ingredients as it breaks up the powdered sugar and chocolate. This is a keeper! :.)...Later comment: I experimented with Hershey's baking cocoa vs. Nestle. I like Hershey's better. Nestle has a "nuttier" taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      This is a great hot cocoa recipe! Makes an extremely large batch. I packaged up 4 jars for gifts and still had a ton left over! Rich without being too sweet. Great made with milk instead of water!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2004

      This coco is so good! And way to much fun to make.:)I found that a turky size roasting bag was perfect if you divide the mixing into two batches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2004

      I tried a smaller batch of this to see if it would be worth it to buy enough ingredients to make the full thing...it definitely was! Very smooth and creamy, but not as overly sweet as the commercial brands tend to be, this will definitely be our cocoa for the winter. And I'm estimating I'll be able to do it all for less than 15 cents a serving. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2004

      Excellent recipe! You just saved me a ton of money this winter. I was so excited when I found this recipe and couldnt wait to try it out. I should be good on cocoa for a while :) Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Cocoa Mix - Large Quantity

    Serving Size: 1 (40 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 84

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 154.3
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    25%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 14.0 mg
    4%
    Sodium 43.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 25.3 g
    101%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites