13 Reviews

Made a full batch of this recipe to keep some for my cold winter nights and give some in Gift Baskets. This is a very sweet and delicious Cocoa Mix, perfect for a kids palette, but will cut the sugar in half next time as an adult might find it a bit too sweet. Thank you for a lovely treat.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 October 10, 2009

Once before I made a recipe similar to this one & really liked it, so, why not another one! Very easy to put together, & I'll take Chabear's tips (adding it to holiday gift baskets as well as cutting back on the sugar)! Thanks for a wonderful treat! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my adopted orphans in the current Pick A Chef]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike October 11, 2009

I just used this recipe to make cocoa for our school's movie night. The full batch added to 5 gallons of hot water made amazing hot cocoa! We did two batches and served about 200 small cups. Our local coffee shop lent us their large Cambro's full of hot water so all we had to do was pour in the mix and stir. I recommend using a large whisk to eliminate clumps. Everyone loved it. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glipaz June 06, 2009

I made half the amount as that was a better amount for us. I used a bit less sugar as we don't like to sweet. I was amazed that you can make this when you think how much it costs to buy in wee sachets in the shop, I will never buy it again. I think putting it in little jars for gifts is a great idea, my grandsons are chocoholics and love this. Well done. Made for PAC 2009 I just wanted to add that i had some evaporated milk left over so i left enough room for just a little, mixed it in and oh my it was sooo!!! nice, you might like to try. I admit it was Shear indulgence

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Jenny April 09, 2009

Thank you! I had a recipe very close to this and lost it in the move. My kids love cocoa in the morning before school and would wreck my budget if I had to keep buying it at the store.This recipe is excellent and budget friendly. Sometimes, i replace the coffee creamer, with a flavored creamer, my kids really dig it when I use french vanilla.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Carol Kay August 20, 2007

YUM! Loved the convenience of using entire packages. This was really tasty! We use the organic creamer from Whole Foods which is very expensive, so I appreciated a recipe that also used dry milk - it made the creamer go a lot farther.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jkestes November 04, 2011

Great! Couldn't say that "a little powder goes a long way" because you had to use quite a bit for a cup or two, but it was still delicious. I made so much of this for Christmas gifts, and got great reviews! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelsey* January 07, 2008

Absolutely Delicious! I only made 1/2 of the recipe and it made a lot. Had enough gift sized containers for 8 people. Also,of the mix I made, I altered half by mixing in a teaspoon of cinnamon, some expresso powder, and some vanilla sugar I had and whirled it all in the food processor till it was powder. Excellent recipe and the coffee creamer fat content for each serving is negligible if you use non-fat powdered milk. Low fat and protein from the powdered milk - it's yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katsmutti December 22, 2007

Thank you! Just what I was looking for--a mix that included exactly these 4 ingredients. I read on the Hershey's cocoa box to add a dash of salt to their recipe of hot chocolate. I did this with my cup and I think it brings out the chocolate flavor more. One more hint: I use a wire wisk to stir the ingredients as it breaks up the powdered sugar and chocolate. This is a keeper! :.)...Later comment: I experimented with Hershey's baking cocoa vs. Nestle. I like Hershey's better. Nestle has a "nuttier" taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoeyGirl March 01, 2007

This is a great hot cocoa recipe! Makes an extremely large batch. I packaged up 4 jars for gifts and still had a ton left over! Rich without being too sweet. Great made with milk instead of water!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margieboz December 08, 2006
Hot Cocoa Mix - Large Quantity