Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hot Cocoa Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hot Cocoa Mix

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2001

      Ilove this recipe ,it is so easy when you have kids. Just mix and serve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      This is a pretty good cocoa mix, after reading the reviews, I upped the dried Milk to 4 cups, then 1 1/4 cup expensive cocoa powder, 1 1/2 tsp salt and I will next time add 3 cups of powdered sugar two cups did not seem like enough. The cocoa, should be dutch darker, with more taste to it.. We have to remember that these are HOMEMADE recipes not made in a factory, read the ingredients, on a box of hot cocoa mix, 98% of what is in it won't be in a Homemade mixture so that is why most people don't think it's sweet enough. Thanks Amy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      this was a staple from childhood that my Grams always had on hand and shipped to me in college. She passed before I could get the recipe. When I tried to make it, there was always something missing. It was the coffee! Thank you so very much I can now share this with my family. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      This is a GREAT recipe! I did some tweaking, however, to accommodate my taste. Firstly, more cocoa! I don't have any of that super dark chocolate, but I believe that would probably give it a better flavor than regular Hershey's, much as I adore the big 'H'. Also, I used half powdered sugar and half Splenda. Lastly, I'm going to try flavored creamer next time I make it, as suggested by another reviewer. All that bring said, thanks for sharing such a wonderful, flexible recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      I simply have no idea what went wrong here, I followed the recipe to the letter but no one of six visiting friends and family liked this, including me. I'm so terribly sorry since all the other reviewers obviously loved it a lot. It wasn't really sweet (enough for most of us) or very chocolate-y so I did try and rescue it by adding small amounts of additional sugar and cocoa alternately but with no real success. I tried to finish the mix at work just not to waste it but in the end, liked it so little that I threw the rest of the mix out... something I try to do as a very very last resort with any recipe. Clearly it worked wonderfully for all the other reviewers and I am dissapointed that it didn't work for me too, but all my ingredients were fresh and local and I can't find any logical reason at all why it didn't work for us. Please see my Rating system: sadly only 2 stars for a recipe that wasnt a success for us, but that was worth at least trying. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      This is good. It is a wonderful treat on a cold, wintry night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      My boys love this hot cocoa after playing outside. We have tried it using french vanilla creamer instead of just plain and it is very good that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      My son loves this more than any store bought brand and its so easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      tastes great! I've made this a couple of times now and it's best with flavored creamer - DH loves it with hazlenut!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      I've made this recipe several times now and *love* it! This time I'm trying adding some mini marshmallows to the mix. :) I have 3 young boys and keep a canister of this stuff on the counter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      This was the best cocoa I've ever had. It was very creamy with the perfect amount of chocolate flavor. I tried it with peppermint flavored whipped cream and it just added to the perfection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      So easy and so good. I just whipped a batch and tasted tested it. 5***** for sure. I am going to make some more up and put in canning jars for x-mas presents. Taking some into work in the morning to share with friends, is much, much better than what we get out of the vending machine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      Simple basic ingredients and recipe. No more boxes of prefab instant hot cocoa mix for us. I doubled the recipe when making up, large family here. When making individual cups some wanted a pinch of cinnamon, some instant coffee or made with coffee instead of hot water, and some cayenne pepper. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      My 4 year old granddaughter and I made this together. She loves hot cocoa and seemed to enjoy this recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2001

      I didn't really like this mix. It seemed too watery and used too much mix (1/3 cup) per serving. The "Spiced Cocoa" on this website is much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2001

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hot Cocoa Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 235.4
     
    Calories from Fat 89
    38%
    Total Fat 9.9 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 27.1 mg
    9%
    Sodium 115.2 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 28.7 g
    114%
    Protein 8.1 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites