16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Ilove this recipe ,it is so easy when you have kids. Just mix and serve.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judith Austin January 16, 2001

This is a pretty good cocoa mix, after reading the reviews, I upped the dried Milk to 4 cups, then 1 1/4 cup expensive cocoa powder, 1 1/2 tsp salt and I will next time add 3 cups of powdered sugar two cups did not seem like enough. The cocoa, should be dutch darker, with more taste to it.. We have to remember that these are HOMEMADE recipes not made in a factory, read the ingredients, on a box of hot cocoa mix, 98% of what is in it won't be in a Homemade mixture so that is why most people don't think it's sweet enough. Thanks Amy

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Canning Mom August 21, 2009

this was a staple from childhood that my Grams always had on hand and shipped to me in college. She passed before I could get the recipe. When I tried to make it, there was always something missing. It was the coffee! Thank you so very much I can now share this with my family. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerbare January 10, 2008

This is a GREAT recipe! I did some tweaking, however, to accommodate my taste. Firstly, more cocoa! I don't have any of that super dark chocolate, but I believe that would probably give it a better flavor than regular Hershey's, much as I adore the big 'H'. Also, I used half powdered sugar and half Splenda. Lastly, I'm going to try flavored creamer next time I make it, as suggested by another reviewer. All that bring said, thanks for sharing such a wonderful, flexible recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LittleJo March 24, 2013

I simply have no idea what went wrong here, I followed the recipe to the letter but no one of six visiting friends and family liked this, including me. I'm so terribly sorry since all the other reviewers obviously loved it a lot. It wasn't really sweet (enough for most of us) or very chocolate-y so I did try and rescue it by adding small amounts of additional sugar and cocoa alternately but with no real success. I tried to finish the mix at work just not to waste it but in the end, liked it so little that I threw the rest of the mix out... something I try to do as a very very last resort with any recipe. Clearly it worked wonderfully for all the other reviewers and I am dissapointed that it didn't work for me too, but all my ingredients were fresh and local and I can't find any logical reason at all why it didn't work for us. Please see my Rating system: sadly only 2 stars for a recipe that wasnt a success for us, but that was worth at least trying. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch February 26, 2009

This is good. It is a wonderful treat on a cold, wintry night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucy4174 January 15, 2009

My boys love this hot cocoa after playing outside. We have tried it using french vanilla creamer instead of just plain and it is very good that way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dying2Live January 10, 2009

My son loves this more than any store bought brand and its so easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Drensie January 01, 2009

tastes great! I've made this a couple of times now and it's best with flavored creamer - DH loves it with hazlenut!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riario December 02, 2008

I've made this recipe several times now and *love* it! This time I'm trying adding some mini marshmallows to the mix. :) I have 3 young boys and keep a canister of this stuff on the counter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EMFSullivan September 22, 2007
Hot Cocoa Mix